We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pearl Restaurant
17 South Broad Street, Ridgewood, NJ
201-857-5100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 100 Restaurants in Ridgewood
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Denville, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unpleasant experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Food was very good, wait staff friendly, but unfortunately the management were almost hostile and turned what would have been a pleasant and happy evening into a very unpleasant experience.
We had a Groupon (with no excluded dates listed) and were informed that they had arbitrarily decided that morning not to accept them that day... I had presented it after being seated and the owner was almost condescending in his approach to us. In speaking with other couples I found that they had equally unexpected and unhappy expereinces with the owners.
Our food also did take a while to arrive....
We certainly will never return to this place and I would recommend others to be careful and/or avoid.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    27
    16
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Based on recent past reviews we were not expecting much and only dined there to use an about to expire Groupon certificate. The service was quite satisfactory (prompt, but not personable), but this was a Monday night and the restaurant was only about 1/4 full (we avoid when we can dining out in this area on Friday and Saturday evenings). The food was quite good and we would recommend it. However, on the ala carte menu it is quite pricey, right up there with 2 more upscale restaurants, one down the street and the other just around the corner. The one item that really impressed me is that their starch was well roasted potatoes. I just cannot understand why so many fine (and not so fine) restaurants in the area offer mashed potatoes. Spooning a glob of mashed potatoes in my opinion is the sign of a restaurant who just cannot be bothered (sorry MP lovers!). The Prix Fixe menu appeared very cost-effective but the choices were limiting. I was also VERY impressed that they did not automatically tack on an automatic 18-20% tip but did show on the check what the full price of the dinner would have been if I did not use the Group cert - so I could base my tip on that.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
“overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

we had a 7:00 reservation and they were a good 20 minutes behind schedule. At least 2 or 3 reservations left before seated. The front of the house is not managed well. We finally sat down and it took at least 30 minutes to order. We only saw our waiter twice throughout the night. My salad was very good but the John Dory was overcooked and had no taste. I actually left the plate with half the fish left. My wife had the filet which was well done when she asked for medium rare. I would say for the price, service and tight quarters it was disappointing. EE

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had been to Pearl one other time before they expanded. Apparently they have bitten off more than they can chew. First, the service was horrible. This did not make sense as we had a 6PM reservation and the place was more than half empty. The waiter opened our wine, took our order, and disappeared for the rest of the night. He only came over one time when the meal was in front of us, not brought out by him, at which time he said enjoy your entree. Oh, I forgot to mention that it took 50 minutes to get the entree after our Caesar salad. The entrees were snapper and linguini with clams, both underwhelming. As for the time between salad and entree, that definitely seemed to be the norm. We watch several tables that were seated before and after us and no table was getting their meals in a reasonable period of time. I blame this on a very small kitchen that support a one store front operation. With the expansion to two, it has deteriorated. Then again, the place was not crowded. I would hate to be there if the place was close to capacity. At approx $27 per entree there are a lot better places to eat in Ridgewood. I also need to add that the tables are on top of each other. No privacy whatsoever. We will not be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I arrived 10 minutes early for our reservation and were told that because people with earlier reservations had arrived over 30 minutes late, we would not be seated for at least that amount of time. Now for the multi car pile-up: many patrons, with the same reservation time as us showed up and, as there is no place for anyone to wait, we are all standing uncomfortably close to tables where people were trying to eat their meals. Some people left (one group of four was seated at at a table in the midst of the standees, but left after five minutes of the chaos that was created by the establishment). But, my wife and I decided, perhaps mainly because it was a cold night and we did not want to try finding another restaurant unless we had to, to wait to see if something opened up sooner than expected. We were seated after twenty minutes.

Considering how busy the restaurant was, the fact that we waited another ten minutes for anyone to open our wine, and bring us menus, was acceptable. However, what is not acceptable is our waiter taking our order then not to be seen again until he brought the check. Had he done his job, we would have told him that the arugula salad with Granny Smith apples was one of the best salads we had ever had. I would have further told him that our entrees came out almost warm. The food, brought out by a busboy, was tasty, but left in the kitchen, waiting for our waiter too long.

Considering how expensive this restaurant is, the portions were quite small, and the service left a lot to be desired.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pearl Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.