We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service - Don't try using a Living Social deal” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pasta E Pollo

Pasta E Pollo
13 Godwin Ave, Ridgewood, NJ 07450-3705
201-445-8410
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 100 Restaurants in Ridgewood
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Paramus, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service - Don't try using a Living Social deal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Expect the waiter to treat you poorly when he finds out you're using a Living Social deal / Groupon. If you got the deal as a gift or you don't have a smart phone, don't even try using it because he won't accept it if he can't validate it on your phone BEFORE you order. He is extremely rude and will ask if you're trying to "cause problems" or "be tough" if you try to argue about using your LS deal. He will also tell you you're standing in the wrong place while waiting for your table and chastise you for asking for bread. Don't waste your money or your Friday night by going here!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    6
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My wife bought a groupon for 2 people and we went with my daughter making 3.

We arrived on a Thursday and were shown to a table in the window. Fine, although plastic tablecloths are a bit tacky.

We sat and the waiter (owner) came over. My wife gave him the groupon and he said, "you have to make a reservation to use this." The place were not full so I said if he gave me his number I could call it and make a reservation. He was ok and friendly after that, although the initial contact didn't exactly make us welcome.

The food. Good quantities but the quality was lacking. The chicken dishes we had were ok but swamped with a thick gravy of dubious beginnings.

Won't be going back!,

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Used Living Social deal. Was not a good deal.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I recently visited this restaurant with the living social deal we purchased. It was SUPPOSED to be $35 for $70 worth of food, it was not worth it. It was suppose to come with 1 appetizer at $10, two salads at $18 and to entrees up to $42. What ticked me off was on the regular menu salads come with the meals...they weren't extra to begin with so you're not getting $18 worth of salads. Then on top of it the waiter acted as if it was an extra (even though the menu stated otherwise) plus they were extremely small salads, not worth $9 each by any means. Where was the $70 worth of food? Service was terrible. There was one waiter and even though it's a very small place we waited about 20 minutes just to put in our order. We had calamari as an appetizer and it was extremely bland and taste less. Entrees were just ok, nothing great. My husband ordered a chicken dish which had no sides at all, just two pieces of chicken on a plate..Worst deal ever, turned me off from buying groupon and living social deals for restaurants.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ugh ......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Although this USED to be a neighborhood place that I loved to visit, a recent dinner experience totally turned me off.
A friend and I went to dinner on a December Monday with a Groupon that her daughter had given her. The Groupon menu was a set one, and one that if we had come in off the street probably would have cost us about $50 for dinner. So the Groupon was no deal. Do not understand why he always runs Groupons.
Also, the owner, who tends to be VERY "handsy" with the ladies, was even more so that night. We were so uncomfortable with his attentions, that we have decided never to return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Food was awful and service was even worse. I live in the area and figured I would give it shot. The waiter had an attitude as soon as he realized I was using a groupon. If you don't like groupon, don't take them. We will never go back and will def not recommend to any our friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasta E Pollo also viewed

 

Been to Pasta E Pollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasta E Pollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.