We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait , but well worth it !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo

Mediterraneo
23 N Broad St, Ridgewood, NJ 07450
201 447 0022
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Ridgewood
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Allendale
1 review
“Long wait , but well worth it !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We waited a while but it was a Saturday and the restaurant and outdoor eating area were crowded all night . The Roquefort salad was outstanding . I ordered the Skirt steak ....it was delicious, tender and I loved the tomato, pepper and shaved parmesan garnish. The owner and chef (Michael) took the time to come over and make sure all was good since he knew we had been waiting. He was a gentleman and spoke to us for at least 10 minutes. Everyone in our party of four raved about their dinners . The service was attentive and made us feel comfortable . We live a couple towns away but will be sure to go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    22
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New City, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We won't be back!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a reservation for 2, yet were seated right by the entrance where we were bombarded with people arriving for dinner. We were told this was the only table unless we wanted to sit where the air conditionng was not circulatng. Yet people without reservations came in and were seated in more desirable locations. First off, it was a hot day outside, but the air conditionng offered little relief. No excuses for such a small restaurant. A waitress was beng trained, and the owner adminished her right in front of our table...and followed up with a quick glance in our direction with "sorry.". We ordered the falafel appetizer for 8.00 which was 4 small patties...we have had MUCH better. I ordered the branzino and asked if I could substitute the Moroccan couscous for the sides of asparagus and roasted potato. I was told no, but that I could order the couscous as a side dish for 6.00. I did. The Branzino was only fair, the roasted potatoes were gluey. The couscous was lackluster....and definately not worth the effort or the money. My husband ordered the Moroccan lamb stew and was hugely disappointed with the 4 pieces of lamb over the lackluster couscous. The waitress nor the owner came over to ask how we were enjoying our meals. We couldn't wait to ask for our check to get out of this stuffy and mediocre restaurant. Ridgewood is known for its restaurants, so we will be trying others and we won't be back...hugely disappointng.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always delivers on food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We always enjoy the food and the vibe ... it's often crowded so you have a natural buzz. The staff is always super into helping you select your dishes.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, NJ
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very avarage...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

For someone who loves Mediterranean food and have been eating it for years, including many, many times in the Mediterranean, this restaurant just doesn't cut it...
The place looks nice and the service is good, but the food, is just not it... I guess that the great reviews they got, are from people who do not really know this type of food (I always believed that if the guests are not demanding, the chef doesn't need to try hard...).
There are better Mediterranean restaurants, even in Ridgewood (try Lisa's Turkish Kitchen).

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Interesting and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My wife and I went and shared about 7 tapas, instead of ordering appetizers and main courses. All the dishes were good, especially the octopus. The service was a little slow at first, even though it was a Monday evening and the restaurant was not crowded. We would definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo also viewed

 

Been to Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.