We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dish knows how to dish it out!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dish

Dish
13 White Street, Red Bank, NJ 07701
732-345-7070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 124 Restaurants in Red Bank
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Captiva, FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dish knows how to dish it out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Our party of six had an excellent meal on a busy Friday night. Our server was excellent, knowledgeable about all the specials, and very understanding when part got our group was late because they could not find parking (evidently a big issue in Red Bank on the weekend). The Tuscan Seafood Stew was delicious, as was the arugula salad with buratta which was shared. The kale salad was so- so. Every entree was great. The homemade desserts were wonderful and we left some on the plates even though we got 3 for the 6 of us to share. Good size portions of everything. The cappuccino arrived tepid but that was about the only down side. Oh, the noise level is a bit high, sort of hard to talk, but it's a rather small, popular restaurant. Looks like they put some noise absorbers on the wall. Overall great food and great service.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    8
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great little gem in Redbank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was visiting friends in Highlands, NJ and they suggested we go to Dish for dinner. I have to disagree with CJMess since they actually do take reservations. We arrived a little early and had no problem being seated for dinner. The menu is small but very elaborate and unique. The atmosphere is eclectic and homey at the same time. I had the short ribs for dinner and my dining companions had the Veal special and Lamb chops. All 3 were excellent. We chose 2 different desserts; their croissant bread pudding with chocolate and a chocolate layer cake. The bread pudding was to die for ... the layer cake not so much. Everything is made on the premises and made to order so it does take a little longer for the meal to arrive. My only complaint about this "gem" it that it is extremely noisy. I would recommend that they put some noise proofing foam on the ceiling, which can be rather decorative and appealing. It make cancel out some of the resounding conversational noise. Prices are spot on with what they are serving!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good BYOB Date Night Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We've eaten at Dish twice in the last few months on a Friday or Saturday night. Unfortunately, Dish does not take reservations, so we've had to give our cell number to be called once our table became available (usually about 30 minutes). It ended up being nice to have a little time to walk around town - be aware that there is really no room to waiting inside the restaurant itself. Yes, Dish is small (not much room for walking between tables) and yes, Dish is relatively loud (though I noticed they've put a few noise reduction panels under the sconces on the walls around the restaurant). BUT - despite those two considerations, this BYOB gem has very good food and friendly service. I had a whole, grilled branzino (evening special) that was so delicious I was literally picking through the bones to find the last morsel. I also indulged in their "bread pudding" dessert - TOTALLY worth it!! So, in summary ... this is a good BYOB "date night" option in Red Bank w/ a vibrant, "local" atmosphere and very good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Food was good but experience Ok. Servers are not attentive. Like to sit back and enjoy but service made this difficult.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Small and loud, but worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Not on the main road and not well identified. Small inside, without sound absorbing walls which makes the conversations extremely loud. Customers are forced to raise their voices to talk with others. Food is very good however and we enjoy going to Dish. We usually go on a Tuesday or Wednesday when they have a $25 pre-fixe dinner which includes app/salad, entree, dessert. You should go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dish also viewed

 
Red Bank, NJ
Red Bank, NJ
 

Been to Dish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.