We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Bartenders for saving our night!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buona Sera Ristorante & Bar

Buona Sera Ristorante & Bar
50 Maple Ave, Red Bank, NJ 07701-1618
732-530-5858
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 124 Restaurants in Red Bank
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Thank you Bartenders for saving our night!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

we had reservations for 7:30. whoever makes the reservations by phone was very rude. we arrived around six and found a seat early at the bar. we had fried calamari and baked clams and a few drinks before dinner. The bartender (lisa) i think her names was made perfect martinis and was funny and entertaining which was a great start for the night. at 7:30 we went to get our seat, e made reservations for early in the afternoon. To our disgust we were seated across from the waiters station with some sort of traffic control device found at airports..uh no way. this sat should not exist unless maybe a last minute nothing else available seat. after the host (nice glasses by the way couldnt get your name you know who you are) dropped the menus n the table an ran off we retreated back to lisa sat at the bar for dinner. shortly after got very ny friendly loud and crowded, but we ordered and were having fun and sitting close which was nice. we changed up the zuppa de pesce because she didnt like some of the seafood, and i had the stuffed rigatoni. hers came out wrong no fault of the bar tender and went back. mine stayed, and about ten minutes later hers came back. everything tasted well, and we took rest home. they gave us two deserts for the trouble. we had a couple of more drinks and left. we had a nice time thanks to the bartender, and all of their excellent service. The host, management, and kitchen need to get their acts together otherwise this place will turn out to be what the bar is on the weekend, a haven of divorced 50 years an older hook up joint. will have to think about this one again but will sit in a quieter section of the bar because they saved the night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    53
    42
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lavallette, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Surprised and Disapponted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have eaten at Buena Sera many, many times and have always thought the food was excellent. Ate there recently, was shocked when I ordered the filet mignon special for lunch and got the tail end of the filet, full of gristle. Truly disgusting. They replaced my meal with another dish, don't know if I'll give them another chance. The owner needs to be aware and bring it back to what it was.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Meh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The reviewer who said "Olive Garden Masquerading as a fine restaurant" has it exactly right. Certainly more pleasant than Olive Garden and with better service, but large portions of food are disappointingly mediocre, ranging from bland to way over-salted. If you go, order from the low end of the menu; it would be a waste to spend a lot for this kind of food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fine choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food and service in Buona Sera are supeb, but the noise level, only when crownded, is a bit too high. We've eaten there many times and the food and service are consistently good. In fact, the portions of food are enough for the two of us to share amidst a few wonderful wines. I can't think of a comparable restaurant in Red Bank or NYC which offers an equal fare for the price and service. You will be very satisfied and hopefully will return soon again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Best Italian restaurant in Red Bank NJ including surounding areas. Good wine selection great variety of food in menu. My wife and I had the pasta with sea food. It was excusited and loaded with large scallops, large shrimp, mussels, clams, calamary and fresh fish in a light tomato sauce with the seafood broth. The quality was exceptional, the quantyty was overwhelming, we took leftovers and had a second dinner at home. The restaurant is popular and the main dining area is a bit loud. Seating upstairs is much more quiet and romantic. The prices are reasonable for an upscale restaurant and for what they offer. We have dined there in the past an certainly will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buona Sera Ristorante & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Buona Sera Ristorante & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buona Sera Ristorante & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.