We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different in Red Bank” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Danish Cafe

Danish Cafe
2 Bridge Avenue, The Galleria, Red Bank, NJ 07701
732 268 7365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 124 Restaurants in Red Bank
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Dim Sum, Danish
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Something different in Red Bank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Danish Cafe serves deliciously different sandwiches. My favorite is the "Frikadelle" which is a danish meatball with red cabbage. So good! They also serve something called the "Great Dane" which is a very large hot dog/sausage smothered in crispy onions, pickles, mustard, among other tasty things. It is a rare treat ; )
They also offer soups and salads to go with their wonderful sandwiches. Obviously they are known for their danish which happen to be out of this world!
The Danish Cafe is owned by a super nice family from Denmark, so I try to stop in as often as possible.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely and Different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

A Saturday lunch here with a friend. A lovely, friendly, reasonably priced cafe in the Galleria run by a Danish couple. They have regular offerings like wraps and salads but also Danish sandwiches and desserts. I had a lovely Roast beef open face sandwich on Danish dark rye with pickle mayonnaise that was really tasty and reasonable portion. Then we shared an appelskiver. I never had this before and the owner let us know it is not a cake or pie. What it is, is, a lovely bowl of not over-sweet applesauce with little chunks of brown sugar mixed in. Topped with lightly whipped cream and raspberry sauce. It was delicious. Then we had coffee. Nice, big cups of coffee. Also, they actually have a shelf of newspapers to read, and free Wi-Fi. This place is a gem. I'll definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This little cafe is tucked inside the Galleria. Owned and operated by a Danish family, the desserts are really special. I love coming here for the homemade Danish pancakes. They are absolutely scrumptious. And the fresh made strawberry jam is perfect. Along with the coffee which is always hot and delicious. Its a great cozy spot to meet up with a friend for a quick bite....They serve lunch as well, which is healthy and really good...and the staff is always friendly and accommodating. Try this place for something different.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Happy Danish Christmas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I "discovered" this lovely cafe when I went to the a farmers market in red bank. Yes, they really have the worlds greatest Danish! But my family and I went for the Danish Christmas party. What a great time! Awesome and traditional good that I had never tried, fabulous service and I feel like I made a bunch of new friends. There was signing, raffles and yummy Danish and rice pudding for dessert.
Totally looking forward to going on Sunday for breakfast!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Are you SURE you are in New Jersey??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This charming, comfortable, low-key coffee shop/restaurant is located in a renovated old brick factory building where several shops & offices have become residents. The Danish Cafe is a most welcome refuge for breakfast, lunch - and informal meetings with friends. Great open-faced sandwiches, excellent coffee, and the pastries (yes, real Danish - from Denmark!) are melt-in-the-mouth. If it is snowing outside and they are streaming Danish radio... you can truly fantasize that you are in Copenhagen (except the prides here are a lot more reasonable!)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danish Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Danish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danish Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.