We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food; good service but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Seafood - CLOSED

Blue Water Seafood
9 Broad St, Red Bank, NJ 07701-1901
732-530-1906
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food; good service but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lovely restaurant with delicious food, which has just adequate portions for the main and lots of "fluff" for the surrounding parts of the plate. Our food was fresh, tasty and indeed, worthwhile enjoying. The service was very good.

We thought that the prices of all the meals was much higher than what we thought they should be. In comparison to an equal restaurant in NYC, we found that the prices here were about 22% higher, and for what reason, we don't know.

However, at the end of the meal, we went to the bathroom and found that there was no soap in both the ladies room and men's room. This was unacceptable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellefonte, PA USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Give this place a try.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had dinner here a few weeks back with 4 other couples. Had a nice upstairs table on a Friday night with wonderful service. Prices seemed a little high at first but when the food was brought to the table, the portion size was huge. My wife had a special calamari with a soy honey sauce that she said was the best non traditional calamari she ever had, this from a former manager of a large Italian place in North Jersey. Several people ha oysters which were fresh and crisp, I had the tuna duo which was superb. The entree's specials were also outstanding and such large portions with a another meal leftover. It is also a BYOB place so the bill doesn't really get out of hand. Do yourself a favor, go there split an app and have 2 entrees, you will have a nice lunch the following day,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Place if you don't want to hear your guests”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I was in a party if 12. Our table was ready immeditaely, the Service was very attentive. The plus was it was BYOB. The food was good, lot's of choice and quality was good. It just was so so noisy I couldn't hear more than the person sitting directly next to me. My voice felt strained from trying to talk over all the noise. Wy doesn't this place invest in some baffles to drown the sound? I would not go back here again because I want my dining out to be a pleasureable experience both with food and atsmosphere. That is regrettable because the food was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Obscenely Expensive Mediocre Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My first experience at this restaurant was so bad that it will be my last experience at Blue Water. I made a reservation for a business lunch. Upon arriving the hostess/waitress came in a tizzy from the back of the almost empty restaurant and never asked if we had a reservation but told us to, “just sit anywhere”. My two guests and I ordered the $18 lobster club sandwich. After waiting 45 minutes out came three BLT looking sandwiches, two of which were missing the accompanying French fries. No lobster was visible and upon lifting the bread I found lots of avocado, bacon, lettuce and a trace of lobster. Eighteen bucks for a BLLA (bacon, lobster, lettuce, avocado) sandwich with awful fries, is too much even for this pretentious Red Bank eatery.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatontown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I met friends here and were pleased with the fish and service. The place is a bit noisy and pricey. If you want great seafood, I guess you pay the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Seafood also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.