We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cheese Cave

The Cheese Cave
14 Monmouth Street, Red Bank, NJ 07701
+1 732-842-0796
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 124 Restaurants in Red Bank
Cuisines: Sandwiches, International, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: The Cheese Cave is a boutique specialty shop featuring the worlds finest artisan and specialty cheeses.The Cheese Cave knows their cheeses! We have a wide selection ranging from sheep, goat, cow and mixed milk cheeses from all over the world. Stop in to see what our cheese mongers are cutting today and don't miss out on our other gourmet groceries including a wide selection of Artisan Cured Meats, small batch preserves and chutneys, unique crackers and flatbreads and dried fruits and nuts. Come in and check out our sandwiCHEESE specials, featuring brick oven breads and a combination of a superlative artisan cheeses and meats. We specialize in customized party platters. Let us help you become a Cheese Rock Star!
ny, ny
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place goes with me like peas and carrots! I love the $5 fridays.. great way to start the night! It has a wonderful cheese selection and the staff is great. I have ordered many antipasta plates! High quality and awesome atmosphere!!! LOVE IT!!! Its a MUST try!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent cheese shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went to our first Friday night wine a cheese night a couple of weeks ago - and it was delightful. The staff was warm and inviting, the cheese selections were absolutely delicious. At first we could not get a table, so we were using the shelving to hold our bottle of wine and wine glasses, but after a few minutes we were able to get a table. We then ordered the cured meat platter - it was a wonderful combination of salamis, dried sausage, and some olives. We cannot wait to bring our friends next Friday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cheese is loved by the rich & poor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Please note this is not a restaurant, but lunch is available.
My husband and I attend a French cheese and wine pairing event last night and were thrilled with the presentation and selections of cheese, tasty preserves and treats that Stephen provided for us. Our plates were a work of art! This was an intimate setting of 9 people who were into wine, cheese and casual conversation. By the end of the evening we all took home a few treasures that excited our palates. We will be going back to have lunch there real soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinton falls, nj
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“wine and cheese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Friday night is wine and cheese night..great place to start your evening in Red Bank

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, NJ
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Excellent cheese shop with food served”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Not really a "restaurant", but an oustanding cheese shop with food to go.

Visited this shop in December for some last minute shopping. I've been looking for a good cheese shop, and this is the place! An outstanding variety of fine cheeses from all over, and a friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff to help with selections. Really good selection. The cheeses are listed on a large board, by cow's, goat, or sheep's milk varieties. And of course, a small taste is provided to help you make up your mind. You can't go wrong with this place.

Although we didn't indulge, they also offer sandwiches, which appear to be specials of the day each day. There aren't seats inside, so it is probably mostly takeout for visitors to downtown Red Bank or for the offices and shops nearby. Given the very high quality of the cheese, bread, and other items at the Cheese Cave, I can only imagine the sandwiches are fabulous. I'll try one next time! During my visit, it appeared that a lot of locals were buying various things, which is a good sign. The shop seems very friendly and inviting.

Also a really good assortment of condiments, crackers, cheese-related products. I believe they also have Friday night cheese tasting, which sounds great.

A pretty good website too!

This shop is located right in the heart of downtown Red Bank on Monmouth Street. There is a lot around the shop, including a lot of shopping and restaurants. Parking is nearby. A real nice place to visit.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cheese Cave also viewed

 

Been to The Cheese Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cheese Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.