We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible food! terrible service!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Via45

Via45
45 Broad Street, Red Bank, NJ 07701
732-450-9945
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Via45 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 116 restaurants in Red Bank
Price range: $21 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: white street
Transit: red bank train station north jersey coastline 5 Central Ave Red Bank, NJ 07701‎ Edit details (732) 530-3727 www/njtransit.com
Description: via45 is a rustic italian eatery. We offer vegetarian, vegan and Gluten-Free choices. each plate is offered to guests according to their preference and dietary restrictions. all foods are prepared "in the moment".the hand written menu changes every day...desserts are all "house-made". Seasonal outdoor seating, pets welcome on sidewalk,, sit and relax....share your stories. Let La Via Dolce Caterers host your special moments...at our table or yours.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“terrible food! terrible service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went here for a celebration dinner and had a reservation. It was our first time here, and went on the recommendations from reviews on this website and other websites. We waited for the waitress to come over to the table for quite some time. We brought our own wine, and ordered, starting with a salad. We had to ask for bread and water twice. The salad wasn't all that bad. Our main courses consisted of pasta dishes. Mine was suppose to come in a cream sauce, and there was not a drop of cream anywhere! It was saturated in oil!!!!!! It was disgusting!!!! My husband had the same complaint. There was absolutely no resemblance to a cream sauce!!! The waitress never came over to ask how everything was until we were done eating. This place is highly over-rated. There are other BYOB Italian restaurants that are far better and more consistent with what Italian food should be!!!! We will not go back, needless to say.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    62
    11
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Rustic Italian your way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Excellent Italian cuisine. And what makes it even more special is that the menu changes each evening plus should you fancy variations on the themes ( with creamy white wine sauce instead of Arrabiatta) the lovely Chef is always ready to accommodate. Delicious starters and mains followed by in season fruity or nutella deserts. Book early to avoid disappointment and experience the best Rustic Italian menus in the area. Great experience!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincroft
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love, love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Love, love this restaurant! My husband and I went with two other couples just recently for dinner. We made reservations two weeks out. This restaurant has become a favorite! Everything from apps to dessert was amazing! Everything nice and fresh. We all enjoyed our food! Great atmosphere...was very warm, rustic feel and relaxing. Our server was excellent and well attentive, great recommendations and great personality. It was nice not to be rushed. We actually were the last ones to leave. Claudette and Lauren, owners, came out to see how we enjoyed everything. How nice was that! I have told my friends what a great experience it was and they have to go to VIA 45! We will be back!! Can't wait!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Red Bank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went to Via45 last night for my 70th birthday party celebration. The chefs Claudette and Lauren find what's fresh each day in the market and produce a different daily menu from what they find, very unique. All meals are made from scratch as the orders come in from the dining room and all their desserts are hand made. We have been there many times before when they are still writing the menu items down and crossing other items off for the evening. Last night we decided to all share two salads and also have little neck clams to start our evening. The salads had romaine and fennel in one and mixed greens in the other that had crumbled feta, and shaved carrots and zucchini strands running through them. My son had whole Dorado with carrots, fennel, potatoes and zucchini for his main course and the rest of us had their delicious fresh salmon which also included artichoke hearts, steamed mustard greens, fava beans, brown olives, peas and sauteed onions, very tasty. Desserts where hard to describe and I have included pictures of each so you can see them. Best I can tell you is we shared three different ones that consisted of one that had espresso coffee mouse, whipped cream and raspberry compote, the next was shortbread cake covered with a very thick and stick to your teeth caramel sauce with chocolate ice cream and lastly a marvelous poached pear with chocolate poured over it, a very nice touch. All in all we all enjoyed our meals and the unusual preparations from beginning to end. Make a reservation in advance a few days ahead and check on it just before you go to be sure that it is still in place before you arrive. It's a BYO so bring your favorite drinks to make sure your meals are that much more enjoyable. One of our party has an aversion to wheat and eats gluten free and another is a vegetarian. Both of those needs were accommodated to where they even brought out regular and gluten free bread for the table. I highly recommend that you do try to get into this very busy place for a meal you will long remember after the tastes fade into wonderful memories of your time there.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Everything Comes Together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Last night I returned to Via45 to have dinner with a childhood friend. It was important for us to be in a restaurant that would offer us not only excellent food and service, but an environment that we could "drop into" so that we could sit back and share the experiences of our lives. At Via45, everything came together last night. The energy in the restaurant conveyed a sense of confidence and community. The chefs, Claudette and Lauren made their frequent rounds to the tables to personally greet their guests. The service was impeccable. And the food was beyond excellent. This warm, rustic, charming and delightful restaurant is at the top of my list of favorites.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via45 also viewed

 

Been to Via45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Via45, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.