We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent quality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Espo's

Espo's
10 2nd St, Raritan, NJ 08869
908-685-9552
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Raritan
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Raritan, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistent quality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Great place for a drink and pasta. Love the down home atmosphere. Drinks aren't watered down. No menus, everything on a blackboard. My sons both love the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I don't understand all of the raving, unless we went on an off night. The food was only ok. The restaurant is dark and crowded and the tables are cramped. That would have been fine if it truly was the awesome food I was expecting, given the reviews. The food was only ok, with the exception of my daughter's penne vodka, which was pretty good. I also ordered the braciole, lasagna and ravioli, and they were just ok.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned red sauce Italian...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Order the pasta and you'll eat supper (well) for two or three days! Nothing fancy, but a good bar, no menus (dishes are listed on the chalkboards), WONDERFUL meat sauce, rigatoni, meat balls, with salads and GREAT Italian bread and butter - perhaps five choices for dessert (we shared a tartufo - enough for two). Wonderful looking steak parmigiana, old fashioned stuffed peppers, chicken dishes, etc. Everything looked great (and big!) coming from the kitchen.

Jovial crowd, everyone seemed to be having a ball (and eating well). There aren't too many of these places left in America, enjoy them while you can!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Southern Italian Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Delicious food and generous portions at a fair price! I have been there with friends and family and no one has ever been disappointed. Their menu includes all of the standard Italian classics, such as baked pasta dishes, stuffed peppers, shrimp scampi and steak. The wait staff has always been friendly and attentive. This casual restaurant and bar is located in a residential neighborhood and is popular with the locals. The dining room is small and can get noisy so it is advisable to get there early, especially on weekends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Been going to Espo's since I was 5yrs old.....recommend this restaurant to everyone I know...you have to look for it in Raritan....say hello to Sweeny!!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Espo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Espo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.