We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not be back, over rated!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 Route 17 South, Ramsey, NJ 07446   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ramsey
Ste-Marguerite-du-lac-Masson
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Would not be back, over rated!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Let me get this clear, it is not the worst hotel I've stayed in, but for a 3 star hotel, I was definitely not pleased with my stay. I booked through priceline, and I was very unsatisfied. The rooms are old, small, cheap beds, the halls smell like people have been smoking there a lot, the floor of our room was very very crooked, even gave me a bad headache. The bed sheets were really cheap and smelled industrial soap (wayyy too much), and to top it off, we asked to change rooms but the hotel was full...Can't understand why. The breakfast was included, but quite frankly the worst I'd had in a long time and except at the front desk, I couldn't be answered in English. Definitely over priced for the "quality" of your stay. BUT, the lady at the front desk was very friendly. By the way, no pool, no gym in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
dexibelk,
I am sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. Please call me so I can address your complaints and arrange a future stay that you will be fully satisfied with. We are a very busy hotel and we are often sold out as we offer a good value and very affordable rates compared to our local competition. As you mentioned the gym and pool are off-site. We offer free passes to the New York Sports Club (a $25.00 value) they are the premier full service fitness center in our area, they have a lap pool which is also available free to our hotel guests. The New York
Sport Club is within walking distance of our hotel 1/8 of a mile.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Greg Wolf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    67
    55
    17
    10
See reviews for
73
78
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

good value, convenient location. Our room was of an adequate size, very clean. Bed was comfortable, pillows were standard. Microwave and a refrigerator in the room. Bathroom was very clean, no complains.
The only problem we had - very thin wall between us and a "finally got a room" couple. They were not too loud, it's just the walls of the hotel are too thin. We had to make our TV much louder to give them some privacy. Beware of thin walls, guests of Best Western, Ramsey. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

this hotel is terrible!! The rooms smelled really bad, the floors were uneven, Found hair in our shower and on the floor, ripped sheets, burn hole in the decorative blanket...the list could go on! There was very little seating for breakfast! The manager of the hotel was extremely rude!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwolf1315, General Manager at BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Behap1,

I apologize if you were insulted when you were advised that we do not permit guests to bring there breakfast from our breakfast room and eat it in our lobby. As you know we do have a separate breakfast room that seats 30 people. You angrily stated that there was no seats available in our breakfast room. I replied to you okay, in that case, and I went to verify what you had stated. When I went in there I found 4 tables were available. When I returned that I was informed you had left the lobby making angry comments. I was not my intentions to insult you. Our guests generally eat in the breakfast room , take food to their rooms to eat or take it to go and leave the hotel. I can not recall a previous incident where a guest advised me there was no seating available in the breakfast room. Again my apologies if you felt I was being rude.

Concerning your many complaints about our guest room(s) It is unfortunate you did not bring any of your complaints to our attention so we could verify them and immediately correct the problems. Please be assured that the complaints you described in no way represents our guest rooms. Our guest rooms are inspected thoroughly on a daily basis. Among the many areas we inspect includes making certain our rooms do not have an odor, we use an ionize machine in any room with a noticeable odor to remove the odor. In most cases the ionize machine will completely remove the odor. If the odor is not removed we will take other measures, such as shampooing the carpet and dry clean the drapes. In some extreme cases we will replace the carpet if necessary or any other item that is causing an odor.

We also check the all areas of the guestroom and bathrooms to make sure they are properly cleaned and that there is no damaged room items. When we find a damaged item we immediately repair it or replace it. As a result of thorough attention to guest rooms we have consistently received top scores on our semi-annual Best Western Quality assurance guest room inspections over the last 7 years.

Again I apologize for your dissatisfaction and I can assure you that should you decide to return to our hotel your stay will be a pleasant one. Please contact me directly to make your next reservation.

Greg Wolf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My hubby & I stayed the Best Western Hotel in Ramsey,NJ during a storm that caused a blackout. The place & room was clean we had a jacuzzi tub. The bed was very comfortable &the room was warm they also provide free WIFI There was a coupon in our room for a pizza delivery.
The breakfast was good.
We would go back if we had another blackout.

Room Tip: Ask for a jacuzzi room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This Best Western is on Route 17 and is near several other chain motels. I picked it because it was the least expensive and had mostly good reviews. I agree. The room was well equipped, and, although the carpeting was old and needed replacing, it was clean. The bed was comfortable. There was free wifi in the rooms, a delicious cookie upon arrival and an excellent hot buffet breakfast included. The staff were very accommodating. The room keys sometimes didn't work and the security doors which were supposed to be locked at night, were left open. There is a good AAA and AARP discount.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. Rooms in the 200s require you to carry your bags up one flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just an average motel. The front-desk staff were very nice, and handed out warm cookies when we arrived. The room was a bit beat up--most noticeably, the floor wasn't level, and it felt a bit like being on a sinking ship. I was told that the foundation is sinking. Doesn't seem to affect all the rooms, however, though you can see it if you walk down the hallway. Our room was behind Rt 17 and the gas station, not too noisy but you can certainly hear the highway (as well as the noisy air conditioner). Breakfast is decent. It wasn't expensive but there are a lot of newer options in this area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey

Address: 1315 Route 17 South, Ramsey, NJ 07446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Ramsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ramsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Entrance exterior ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Inn At Ramsey Hotel Ramsey
Best Western Ramsey
Ramsey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.