We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 Route 17 South, Ramsey, NJ 07446   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ramsey
East Brunswick
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

It's almost impossible to find a reasonable, nice hotel in this area of N. Jersey/NY state. This hotel is not only very reasonably priced, but it offers very nice rooms with micro/fridge and it is in a very convenient location to major highways in the area. I will always use them when travelling in this area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    65
    50
    15
    10
See reviews for
64
75
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed in the BW Inn for a night as a break in a long drive. Check in and check out was smooth, the room and bathroom were spacious and clean, the service was very prompt and the hotel had free internet, parking and complimentary hot breakfast including a waffle maker. The only negative incident was that the thermostat for the AC in my room didn't seem to be working and I woke up in the middle of the night in a sweat. After 10 minutes of trying everything to get it to work, I simply turned the fan setting to High and slept soundly for the rest of the night. This could be an isolated occurrence in 1 room, everything else about the hotel and our stay was great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I loved the jacuzzi room, just what I needed to relax! I was surprised at the selection offered at the buffet breakfast. It offered things like freshly made waffles, 2 types of eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, and more. You usually don't get hot items at all when a hotel offers free breakfast. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Nice motel on RT 17 in Northern New Jersey. Excellent staff, clean rooms, well maintained facility. Only downside, no on site restaraunt. Room was spacious, clean, and well appointed. Even had 46" flat screen HDTV!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!

This was the worst trip ever. Every year my family and I take a trip to Philadelphia, Washington DC, and New York (and we stay in New Jersey). We typically stay at 3 star hotels. We stayed at a Double Tree in Philadelphia and Washington DC but stayed at this Best Western in New Jersey. When we stayed there, there was an incredible smell which was a combination of cigarette smoke, kitty litter, and mold. If you care for your health, do not stay here.

Furthermore, the manager, Greg --, is unprofessional, rude, and will do anything to not tell you the truth and take your money. The rest of the staff is, believe it or not, is quite nice.

I would suggest you stay down the street at the Crown Plaza Englewood. It is the same rate and much better service (if you are planning to go to New York). Actually, any other hotel would be preferable that the Best Western Inn at Ramsey.

Do yourself a favor, go on to the next hotel. Whatever happens, I promise you will not be disappointed by NOT staying at this hotel.

THIS IS NOT A 3 STAR HOTEL. THIS IS A 1 STAR OR LESS.

STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwolf1315, General Manager at BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
My only contact with this guest while he stayed at our hotel was on the day of departure when he requested I contact him to waive the late checkout fee ( they wanted to stay past our checkout time of 12 noon). They had stayed 4 days. I waived the late fee as he requested. At the time he mentioned that he smelled a strong odor in the guest room hallway on the day of arrival August 20, 2011. He seamed satisfied and at checkout he and the other guest were
pleasant and made no further complaints.

More than 2 weeks later, on September 9, I received a call from Orbitz on behalf of this guest requesting a full refund for their entire stay. At this time we were informed that this person was now claiming a "life threatening odor" was in the guest room. We advised Orbitz this was not the case and if it was why in the world would this person stay in the room for 4 days and stay late to boot. We declined their request and we were informed by Orbitz this guest was very abusive and made several threats. This guest also contacted Best Western Customer Care and was even more abusive and made threats against them as well.
It is Best Western policy to try resolve complaints to a guest's satisfaction. This is the case of course as long as the complaint is not fabricated and the guest is looking for a reasonable compensation. I contacted this guest directly to try to resolve the complaint and I offered a 50% refund for the first night. The guest angrily refused the offer and made more threats.
I also asked this guest why would he stay in a room for 4 days if the conditions were "life threatening" in his opinion. He could leave at any time and then make his dispute. He claimed Orbitz told him not to move until they advised him.
These are the facts of what transpired with this guest to my knowledge.
Greg Wolf, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

we arrived at the hotel late around 9pm, we were a party of 5 people consdequently we need a rollaway bed. The matress was very thin we could feel the springs when we lay down.
the room was dark and rather small, the AC was noisy and not efficient.
the hallway smell a bit funny.
Breakfast was good.
Easy to find.
let's say it is a 6 on 10.

Room Tip: we were on the 2nd floor, easy to access thru the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flourtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Good, clean spacious room. Front desk staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. If you forget your toothbrush they'll give you one for free! Decent-size fridge and microwave in the room.

Breakfast buffet includes cook-your-own waffles, eggs, toast, fresh fruit, great tea assortment. We'd stay there again when we're in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey

Address: 1315 Route 17 South, Ramsey, NJ 07446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Ramsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ramsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Entrance exterior ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Inn At Ramsey Hotel Ramsey
Best Western Ramsey
Ramsey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.