We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian BYOB!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Giovanni

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bon Giovanni
61 East Main Street, Ramsey, NJ
(201) 825-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 78 Restaurants in Ramsey
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Midland Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Italian BYOB!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our dining experience here. The service was great, our server even mentioned that he helped create the recipe for the sweet and sour calamari appetizer we ordered (really tasty!). I had the gnocchi with pesto, my husband ordered veal parmigiana, and we were really pleased. The cannoli cake for dessert is not to be missed! Prices were reasonable for the area. The atmosphere was quiet and relaxed, and we'll definitely be returning to this great restaurant!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Just the BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great food. Ample parking. GREAT waitstaff. It's a BYOB, but regardless, I would show up just for the food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Bon Giovanni - A Ramsey Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We ate at Bon Giovanni last week with our family and had a great time.
The service was good, owner Sam makes you feel special from the moment you walk in! (make sure you say hello to him, he will certainly remember you next time)

Appetizers were niced portions, dinners well made and reasonably priced. Specials are always welcome with us and certainly interesting daily additions to diverse menu.

BYOB, which is great.

Try it, enjoy it and return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went to Bon Giovanni last night and it was great There were 4 of us and we were all happy. We ordered the potato crusted scallops and eggplant rolotini as appetizers and there were perfect. Our entrees, the seafood resotto, filet mignon, lasagna, and pork brachiolle we all cooked with the freshest tasting ingredients. The prices were fair with most dishes around $20, specials around $25 and steak around $30. Great value for the quality. Service was very attentive. We will certainly return soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very good Italian food!! Service staff was very attentive and friendly!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Giovanni also viewed

 

Been to Bon Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.