We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor example of a Westin” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village to your Saves list
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Village Boulevard, Princeton, NJ 08540   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Poor example of a Westin”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Westin is a hotel we often use for business travel. In this case, we wouldn't return. After pre-paying for a Deluxe Room, we were told upon check in were told initially there was no distinction between Traditional King and Deluxe King. After we pulled up our reservation, a supervisor confirmed that there was indeed a difference - well at least for some Deluxe Rooms. The pitch is the Deluxe room, but in reality "some just have a better view, but no more space". After all that we were then informed that despite our pre-paying, our Deluxe Room had in fact been sold to someone else. Nice. Despite the refund of the difference, it was simply unacceptable.

And the Traditional King room to which we were then assigned, has a terrible poky bathroom, mirror area. One cannot get out of the bathroom door if the other person is in front of the mirror. Super.

Oh but wait, we could at least open the slider on to the false balcony to get some fresh air. Nope. It clearly used to open, but is not screwed shut.

The restaurant was an option for us on a Sunday evening. No, wait. Closed. So we ate out and brought a nice bottle of wine back for the evening. But it seems that one only gets a single set of glasses for the whole stay, because post room service for the day the now used glasses remained.

So . . . we wouldn't stay here again - despite the as always comfortable Westin bed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
64mariek, General Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
My apologies we fell short of your expectations. We train tirelessly to insure every aspect of your stay is perfect. I am not quite clear on why there was confusion regarding your deluxe room. There are a number of these rooms that provide additional space and have a great view. We do serve dinner every night of the week in either Parelel 40 or our Latitudes Lounge.

Again my apologies things didn't turn out quite as you or I planned. I'd like an opportunity to be your host in the near future and am committed to winning you back as a guest. If you do happen to visit Princeton again please contact me directly so I may personally oversee your stay.

Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    131
    93
    36
    22
See reviews for
101
92
34
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Again my wife and I ate at your hotel and again Neven the bartender was great. He is really a very nice man who takes pride in his job. Whenever we're in Princeton we will stop for dinner. We will be back within the next month we may make reservations at the Westin.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
64mariek, General Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
We are very fortunate to have Neven on our team. He takes great care of our guests each and every day whether you are staying at the Westin and or just passing through for a meal.

Thanks for the great review and continued supported of the Westin. We look forward to seeing you soon

Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Clean modern lobby is welcoming after a long day of business travel. The hotel check in staff was extremely courteous and professional. The price seems standard for a Westin, but a bit high for the area. Nice option for future visits.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
64mariek, General Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thanks so much for the great review. We train our team regularly to insure every guest is made to feel welcome. That along with our world renowned heavenly bed and heavenly bath helps guest relax, refresh and renew whether they are staying for business or leisure purposes .

We look forward to being your host for future stays

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here on a visit to Princeton. The price was relatively cheap for a Westin. The location is terrific - it's right next to a shopping mall called Forrestal Village, and it's a really short drive into the town of Princeton. The room is standard Westin - luxurious, specious, and clean, and the interior design is both elegant and modern but unfortunately I did not try the on-site restaurants because I had to leave early the next morning for the tour and information session.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you so much for the perfect review. It sounds like you were visiting the university which is less than ten minutes away so I trust you will be a frequent guest. Perhaps the next time you will be able to stay and join us for dinner or breakfast in Parallel 40

Be sure to sign up to be an SPG member which is our loyalty program. You are able to accrue points each time you stay which can than be used for complimentary stays at any Starwood property throughout the world.

Thanks again for the review and I look forward to being your host in the near future

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

One does not expect good views or excellent service at a hotel on the expressway interchange in a place like Princeton NJ. I checked into this hotel very early, due to train schedules, and had a room filled with sunlight, a lovely view, comfortable bed and assisted by very gracious and welcoming staff. I will definitely return to this hotel in my next visit to Princeton. I am not familiar with trains along the east coast, but the ease of taking the train from NYC to Princeton Junction, and then getting to the hotel was amazing. As a weary road warrior, I deeply appreciated this. Also, due to the need to conserve my own energy and that of my staff, i had two meals at this Westin, including a very important business meeting. The food was excellent, and again, graciously provided. The dining area was quiet, allowing us to linger and accomplish a great deal at both meals. And the location was very convenient for my work needs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
64mariek, General Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Comfortable and welcoming is really what hospitality is all about and the reason why most of us went into this business. We train our staff pretty extensively in this regard, so its very rewarding to hear compliments of this nature.

I thank you for your compliments and as always will share with our team. We look forward to a return visit.

Warm Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I actually just popped in to get some information on how to get to Princeton Campus. At the reception, Nancy, one of the receptionists there helped me out super friendly and competent. Great service, I love America!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
64mariek, General Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Wow...wow again.

So the way I am reading this, you didn't even stay with us but were impressed with how Nancy handled your request. The moment I received this email, I called Nancy to thank her for her ability to make all feel at home.

Be sure to come back and visit when you can spend the night in one of our Heavenly Beds and or dine in either our restaurant or lounge.

be well...be safe

Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The "heavenly bed" they have is so comfortable you will not want to get out of it. The staff is friendly and the room was clean. I would stay here again any time. The Westin brand has always been a pleasure to stay with.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
64mariek, General Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Those world renowned Heavenly Beds are mentioned over and over again. I'm so glad you recognized and enjoyed them. Thank you for your positive comments regarding the property and the staff..

Be well

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village

Address: 201 Village Boulevard, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Princeton
#7 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful suburban setting, The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village is situated in the picturesque Princeton Forrestal Village shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Princeton At Forrestal Village Hotel Princeton
Westin Forrestal Village
Westin Princeton
Princeton Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.