We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to par for a Westin...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village to your Saves list
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Village Boulevard, Princeton, NJ 08540   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not up to par for a Westin...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed recently for a business conference. It was OK, but not up to the standards I am used to for a Westin. Room was spacious but run-down (peeling paint, stains on walls, stains on carpet). Showerhead leaked so water pressure was poor. Service in the lounge was atrocious. Aloof and inattentive waiter/bartender who couldn't be bothered to even come check on us. We had a $200 bill and each time we needed a new round of drinks or to order food we had to go chase him down, and he acted inconvenienced.

I will say the food was great! I had room service for dinner the first night and the soup and salad were delicious. Nice to have Starbucks on site.

Apparently there is no shopping in Forrestal Village which is disappointing as I had hoped to pick up a few things to take back home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Sibi B,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Your feedback as a business traveler is very important to us. We would like to begin by saying that we are truly sorry that this was the experience we had created for you. As you can imagine this is way below our standards as a brand but also as a individual hotel. We can assure you corrective measures will be taken to ensure this kind of service or lack thereof is rectified.

In addition we request that you contact the hotel directly and speak with our Rooms Division Manager so that we can obtain the room number you were in to repair all items mentioned with great haste.

It is our mission to regain your confidence in our hotel and create a true Westin experience.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    138
    94
    38
    22
See reviews for
103
93
34
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here one night with my parents last December when visiting Princeton. The hotel is around 10 minutes driving from Princeton campus. There is self free parking lot.

The room is good, clean and large. Only drawback might be there is no free wifi for normal members.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Chi G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review of your experience. It was a pleasure exceeding your expectations and we all look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had exactly what I needed for my three night stay, a little coffee bar to pick up coffee a nice comfortable bed, a gym, nice breakfast.
The location is not fun as it is in the middle of nowhere so I recommend having a car while at the hotel.
I found the air-condition to be noisy but this is often the case at this type of hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for filling out a review of our hotel. It was a pleasure to read your feedback as a business traveler such as yourself has a wide range of experience with hotel amenities. We encourage you upon your return to speak with one of our lobby ambassadors so that they may provide you with wonderful options to create that fun environment you seek. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
540 reviews 540 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I had a comfortable stay at the Westin. The location was convenient to Princeton and there were many restaurants within walking distance. There was also ample free parking, which I appreciated. Checkin was efficient. The room was a decent size and clean. Bedding was comfortable and the AC worked well. The fitness center had a good selection of cardio equipment. I also appreciated the Starbucks in the lobby. Housekeeping was very good and service from the front desk was great. Wifi was not included with the room, even with the SPG program, which was disappointing but not a huge negative. The only reason I was hesitate to stay here again was the noise level. I am not sure if all the rooms had this issue, but I was able to hear everything from the adjacent room. This included TV, personal conversations and even a work related conference call. There were many good things about this hotel, but what I remember the most is the difficulty sleeping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your writing a review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you were able to experience the exceptional service that our associates can deliver. Also it is nice that you took notice of our newly renovated fitness center which has all brand new equipment. However we are truly sorry that the one main expectation of a good nights rest was undelivered. We make every effort to ensure our guest rooms are quiet. We will suggest that when you do return please reach out to our rooms division manager so that he can ensure you receive a non connecting room. This will greatly reduce the adjacent noise level. We hope that you return as our valued guest so please contact our rooms division manager so that he may handle your future accommodations.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights, I made an excellent choice by staying at the Westin. I would definitely stay again. Every staff member was pleasant and clearly wanted us to be pleased. The rooms were immaculate and everything working and brand new. It was quiet and very comfortable. Seating areas in lobby and outdoor patio comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
64mariek, General Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Just a brief note of tanks for your gracious review of the Westin. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to the Princeton area

Warm Regards,

Marie J. Kupfer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed at the Westing. It was averaage. The food was OK. They seemed very accomodating to the meeting planners/our business. The shopping center seemed nice to be able to walk aroun in although i did not get the chance. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
kittykat8831,

Thank you for filling out a review of our hotel on tripadvisor.com. Your feedback is just as important as your patronage. We are glad to hear that overall we had met your expectations. However, we strive to exceed them so please contact our Rooms Division Manager so that he can learn what we can do to exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Bluff ma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a nice hotel. We stayed here overnight when we brought our daughter to college. The hotel is beautiful. It is on the edge of a small upscale shopping center with a couple of great restaurants within walking distance! There was an indoor outdoor pool that was a great place to relax. The outdoor pool has nice landscaping and the water was great! It was great to take a refreshing swim after a long car ride. Unfortunately my husband had to do a bit of work when we arrived. He was given free internet so that he could work in our room which was spacious and had ample space for the three of us. The room was sparkling clean and very nicely decorated. Love the fact that it had two comfortable arm chairs and a table near the window which overlooked the fountain in the front of the hotel. We are definitely booking rooms for Princeton Family weekend which occurs in October. The hotel is within five of the university-which is great! the hotel is easy to access from busy route 1 and with several restaurants on or near the property a great place to stay when visiting your college student or the area!

Room Tip: book a deluxe room it's worth the extra money for the extra space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T, General Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us! We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back with us in October.

Be well,

Mike Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village

Address: 201 Village Boulevard, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Princeton
#8 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful suburban setting, The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village is situated in the picturesque Princeton Forrestal Village shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Princeton At Forrestal Village Hotel Princeton
Westin Forrestal Village
Westin Princeton
Princeton Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.