We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mildew Smell To most of the rooms” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village

Save Saved
You added The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Village Boulevard, Princeton, NJ 08540   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Princeton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mildew Smell To most of the rooms”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We checked in to this hotel and the check-in attendee was very nice the first room we got was on the 4th floor and the toilet was running and my wife said she wont be able to sleep, i went back down to get a different room and i told him i want complimentary breakfast so he said if you go onto the 6th floor you will get a breakfast for FREE so i said why not the first room i went to on the 6th floor had a very bad mildew smell so i went back down and got another room on the 6th floor and that room had a mildew smell to it too. so i aid switch my floor and was put on the second floor and that room smelt much worse than the others at that point i was ready to check out and the attendee was very accommodating and didn't offer us any kind of upgrade or anything we finally got a room on the 3rd floor that didn't smell but i had enough at that point and just checked out and went back home i thought i was going to have a good weekend getaway with my family but that didn't happen.

Room Tip: i was told to get anything but deluxe room which i got but i wont go back to try it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Albert,

Thank you for filling out a review of our hotel. We sincerely apologize that our hotel was unable to make your experience a memorable one. With the excessive humidity and rain it at times can cause the problems that you had mentioned. However, through detailed inspections we are able to overcome such issues in a quick manor. We are sorry that you had left as we feel you might not had the opportunity to experience what our hotel has to offer. It would be a pleasure to have you back and we hope that when visiting the area you give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in our fabulous hotel.

Thank you again for your contribution

Warm regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    111
    83
    34
    20
See reviews for
87
82
33
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were looking for a place close to Mapleton Rd. and the American Boyschoir School while we dropped him off from camp. Never have been to Princeton, and we tried looking on here. We chose the DoubleTree on the first weekend stop, and then the Westin on our return. Westin hands down was cleaner, better service, and a nicer place then the other. We arrived late and our room we booked and paid for was two double beds, they had overbooked them. So we were left with a King, but you know without me asking or anything the front desk remedy the situation, and admitted fault, and hanled the problem. The rest of the trip went flawless, and as we visit him several times during the year, this will be our only spot we stay at. Should be rated so much higher!

Room Tip: All are good. Get the rewards program and plenty of perks that go along.
See more room tips
Green Features: Great location, eat at Salt Creeke Grill within walking distance, great wine list!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
KV,

The Westin staff thanks you for your kind words and wonderful review. You have clearly shown what a true representation of a Westin Getaway should be. Although there may have been some issues the hospitality team at our hotel quickly remedy it. We look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Fairly decent property, although trying to get through the entrance was a bit of a challenge seeing as there were many sections roped off.

We had a very late evening check in. But when we booked our room for this property we called to specifically have a rollaway ready for our young daughter (checking in at 12:00am). When we arrived I specifically asked about the rollaway. The front desk attendant said we would have one ready when we got to our room. Well....this wasn't the case! Over an hour later 1:18am to be exact the rollaway arrived.

Also the bathroom door wouldn't close properly, but opening it took a grown man shoving him self into it to actually open.

The pool area was a bit dirty, and needed some tlc (ceiling tiles missing, rotted, and moldy).
I will say the lobby was nice, and the decor of the room was decent. But the bed was not like a heavenly bed I am so use to having at the Westin. I will not be returning to this property.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Heather,

Thank you for filling out and providing such great feedback from your stay on Tripadvisor.com. Besides your continuing patronage your feedback helps create opportunities for improvement. We have reevaluated and strengthened our cleaning schedule for the pool area. As it is a very populated area at times we want to ensure that all of our public areas are spotless besides our guest rooms. We sincerely apologize for the breakdown in response to your rollaway bed request. It’s unacceptable and way below our standards of service. We hope that this has not casted a negative image of our hotel as we strive to be the best hotel in the Princeton area.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to continuing patronage.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel room was exceptionally clean and the hotel itself was very nice. I've always heard that Westins have really comfortable beds, but the bed in my hotel room was very hard and did not live up to my expectations. In addition, I was surprised to find that the paint over the shower in the bathroom was cracked and was peeling. I would definitely try one of the higher-ranked hotels in the future, if I visit this area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
abs628,

Thank you for filling out a wonderful review of our hotel. We are glad that we had exceeded your expectations. However, we are truly sorry that our Heavenly bed was not suitable for your sleep needs. Our beds are the Westin standard and when they are used for a period of time are replaced. Please contact our Front Office Manager to speak with him regarding the room that you were in so that we can look to replace that mattress immediately. Thank you again for your important feedback and we look forward to your future return.

Warm regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I definitely enjoyed my stay here, everything was extremely comfortable, but I also just wanted to single out Rebecca Rios, one of the staff members working out here, who was patient to a fault and exceptionally professional in helping me deal with getting a last minute flight booking. Thank you for going above and beyond what is normally expected

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Jeremyhlee,

We would like to thank you for filling out a review of our hotel on tripadvisor.com. Your recognition of our staff member is appreciated we will probably recognize her on our end. Your continuing patronage is very important to us and we are happy to hear that we had exceeded your expectations during your most recent visit.

Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the road again
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

An OK Westin except for the Club Floor which is a tiny self serve room with zero seating. Princeton guests deserve better than this for a club. I am Platinum and this club is appalling in quality. Breakfast in the restaurant was fairly good but that is full price ala carte so expensive,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
DoctorVonCueBall,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel on tripadvisor.com. Your feedback is very important us as we continue to seek out opportunities for improvement. We thank you for providing feedback about our club lounge as we are in the process upgrading our club lounge to include additional hot items for our club lounge guests. We hope that you return in the future to experience the fruits of the changes we are making.

Thank you again and we look forward to your continuing patronage.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradiso, Calabria, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The rooms are nice, the linens are clean and the atmosphere is quiet. There are amenities such as ice machine, pool, work out facility etc. What detracts greatly from this hotel is service. The service is awful, and it's made all the more terrible by the unreasonably high prices.

This is one of those places that price gouges when demand is high, more than doubling their rates for the busy season but not doubling their staff etc, which means not only do they not up their service for twice the price, they actually downgrade it. We requested a crib before we arrived for our infant son and they confirmed over the phone it would not be an issue. When we arrived they had no cribs available. We called down the next day and asked about the crib and they said they had some and would bring them to the room. After no crib appeared I went to the front desk and asked about it and they said all cribs were booked through the weekend. When you charge 380 dollars a night, you go out and buy a new crib for your customer after they are assured of a crib. The Westin did not have the class to do this. Other hotels would do this.

When our child fell out of the bed and injured his nose a crib magically appeared in our room within hours. What was really frustrating (aside from my injured and bleeding baby) is they assured us of a crib twice, and then failed to deliver. Had we not been assured a crib we would have brought our pack-n-play.

This is one of those places that pretends to be high scale but does not have high scale service, only facilities, and then they nickel-and-dime you every time you turn around. There's a charge for internet, even though room prices were already doubled for the time we stayed there. The hotel restaurant is uninspired and over priced. The pool area was littered with wet towels and trash (yes, actual trash like a South Philly street at 2am on a Sunday morning with cups, wrappers, styrofoam food containers and chicken wings).

My advice, stay at the Courtyard Marriot. Better service, just as clean rooms and a decent breakfast for half the price. I don't mind paying more for better service, the the Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village does not deliver on their price.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Bjoin N,

Thank you for filling out a review of our hotel on tripadvisor.com. It is disheartening to read that we were unable to deliver the incredible experience our guests receive. I can understand that the lack of baby crib availability can be quite frustrating especially when traveling. Rests assure we are looking into to purchasing additional baby cribs so this kind of event does not take place again. It would be a pleasure to have you as our honorary guest as I feel you were unable to truly enjoy what the Westin Princeton has to offer. Please feel free to contact our Rooms Division Manager so that he can handle your future accommodations. Your feedback is very important to us as it creates opportunity for improvement and recognition.

Warm regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village

Address: 201 Village Boulevard, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Princeton
#6 Family Hotel in Princeton
#9 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful suburban setting, The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village is situated in the picturesque Princeton Forrestal Village shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Princeton At Forrestal Village Hotel Princeton
Westin Forrestal Village
Westin Princeton
Princeton Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.