We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable & Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village to your Saves list
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Village Boulevard, Princeton, NJ 08540   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Princeton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“comfortable & Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Great experience. People at this hotel go above and beyond, everyone was great. It is close to Princeton, and walking distance to a great restaurant. The gym was fine. Pool area needed a bit of a clean up. Beds are comfortable. We would definetely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the end of halls as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hi EricG1954,

Thank you for your posting on Tripadvisor and delighted to read you enjoyed your stay here at the Westin Princeton and will definitely stay here again. Your comment, "the staff went above and beyond- everyone was great" was noted and shared with staff at a recent meeting. It is always a pleasure, privilege and honor to serve our guests in the highest and warmest fashion. On behalf of all of us here at the Westin, we wish to extend to you the very best wishes for a happy holiday season and prosperous New Year.

Be Well,
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    125
    87
    35
    20
See reviews for
95
88
33
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here multiple times on business. Always had a great stay and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The gym and pool are also a nice bonus. The pool has an indoor and outdoor component (outdoor part closed in winter). Rooms are a good size and location is central to Princeton.

Plenty of food options nearby. Everything from a casual food court to upscale steakhouse are in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hi dput,

As always, it's a pleasure hearing from our guests and learning of their respective experiences at our Westin Princeton. Thank you for your positive overview of our property, staff and amenities. I'm delighted that "you have always had a great stay," with us during your multiple visits and we look forward to your many stays in the New Year. From all of us here at the Westin Princeton, we wish you and the family a very happy and healthy holiday season.

Be Well,
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have a family party in NJ every Dec, and have stayed over in Princeton because we love the holiday decorations near the college. Honestly, most all of the Princeton hotels have been nice, but this one is exceptional. The hotel is lovely, immaculate, rooms simple and elegant, and the staff is incredibly accomodating. We arrived late, requested an adjoining room for us and our daughters family, with cribs for the babies. This is the first time, in many travels, that everything was done exactly right! We had a good rate for the room (did not choose to include breakfast altho there was a free grab and go offer given to us, when we checked in), but chose to have breakfast in the lounge instead. The food was excellant and the service excellant as well. There is a beautful indoor pool, also outdoor pool in the summer. This is about 4 miles from the downtown college area, but if I were looking for a spot while visiting for a parents activity, there should be no choice other than this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hi skordzek,

Thank you for all those wonderful accolades you gave in your posting regarding the service, rooms, Parallel 40 restaurant and other amenities we have here at the Westin Princeton. The management and staff wish to thank you for staying with us while you attended your annual holiday party with the family. It was an honor and privilege to have served you and we look forward to seeing you back with the family soon.

Be Well,
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My sister who lives near Princeton was hosting Thanksgiving for 22 family members. Three groups of us decided to spend the night nearby and got a great deal at the Westin Princeton in Forrestal Village. The hotel was very nice-comfortable beds, great showers, nice on site cafe for breakfast, and a coffee bar serving Starbucks lattes and capuccinos available in the lobby. The staff was helpful and pleasant and overall I was very pleased. I just wish I had read about all of the amenities ahead of time because I would have loved to have enjoyed the very nice indoor pool (they have an outdoor one too!) I'd recommend a trip to the Main Street Cafe in nearby Kingston for great sandwiches, soups, salads and baked goods and a stop at Dabblers Boutiqe, a great gift store with handmande gifts, just a few doors down the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi NancyinMD,

Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving with the family and your sister survived preparing, serving and entertaining such a large group. Did she ever think of becoming part of hotel hospitality here at the Westin or elsewhere in Princeton? We are always looking for wonderful people like you to serve our family guests. Your gracious remarks regarding the hotel, its accommodations, amenities and staff were all noted and very much appreciated, thank you! It was an honor and privilege to be of service to you and your family here at the Westin and look forward to your return real soon.

Be Well & Happy Holidays,
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have stayed at the Princeton Westin twice with our two young children (1 year-old and 3 years-old) and could not have had a better experience. The hotel's location off of Route 1 makes it an ideal pit stop for those traveling along the Turnpike, visiting Sesame Place, or checking out Princeton. The Lobby is modern and welcoming, and the staff are genuinely dedicated to making your stay comfortable.
For our most recent stay we were able to reserve a two-room suite on the 6th floor (large continental breakfast is available on this floor). This made it very easy to put our kids to bed and still watch television and enjoy the Westin experience.
The lobby bar is clean and modern, and the food is actually outstanding. The bartender was even able to find ice cream for our toddler, which wasn't on the menu. The pool is great for kids, and was empty every time we used it (which was frequently).
We most recently used this hotel as a halfway stop for a road-trip to Boston from Virginia, and could not have been more pleased. Lynn Wood, the front desk manager, is outstanding should you have any special requests or questions about the area. We already have plans to stay at this hotel again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor have access to a sizeable continental breakfast, worth the extra if they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi Seth K,

And so are you and the family! Your overall commentary regarding the Westin, it's pit stop location near major NJ roadways; it's many amenities and staff friendliness was delightful reading and we hope you and the family return back real soon. It was an honor and privilege to meet and serve you all! Our bartender is already preparing to serve your children more ice cream during their next stay and something stronger for you and your wife. Thanks again for your "Truly Wonderful," posting. Wishing you and the family a very happy holiday season filled with lots of love and laughter.

Be Well & Happy Holidays!
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Decades ago, the genteel town of Princeton and its timeless university were surrounded by farmlands. Today, the area is home to office parks, academic institutes and countless hotels bearing every known brand (and a few you may never have heard of). It seems that every business wants to have a "Princeton" address. But how many of them live up to the expectations of their patrons in this still upscale locale?

The Westin does. There are unique features here that will make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. First, the hotel is the anchor of an attractive shopping area with upscale stores and restaurants. The lobby is spacious, warm and inviting. The lobby bar, located down a couple of steps from the main level, reminds me of the recessed living rooms that were popular years ago, and has that same cozy feel. The indoor-outdoor pool is also very inviting for a facility so far from the tropics.

The rooms have the characteristic amenities of the Westin chain, including of course that heavenly bed. Westin's decor, while contemporary, seems warm rather than sterile. An unexpected touch was the complimentary breakfast bar on the sixth floor--no place to sit down there, but guests were welcome to take their selections back to their rooms. The coffee service in the room (Starbucks) was surprisingly good, from a machine that truly was easy to operate.

This visit was not flawless. The hotel was crowded with two wedding parties and a convention of pre-teen cheerleaders (who, by the time my wife and I located the breakfast room, had already devoured many of the offerings). Burdened by these crowds, the elevators were slow, there was a lot of commotion in the hallways, and guest services seemed a bit overwhelmed (for example, after two tries we gave up asking the front desk to turn off the message light on our room phone).

Still, I would choose the Westin over other hotels in the area (and we've tried many of them). The hotel surpasses the others in its setting, decor and room comfort. This is one Princeton hotel that lives up to its address.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hi John S,

We here at the Westin never think of our guests as customers but as highly valued family members who are entitled to the very best in service, friendship and overall caring. I would like to thank you for your kind words expressed in your posting, they were tasteful, eloquent and very much appreciated. As you so rightfully noted, the Westin Chain has high standards and we here at Princeton do everything in our power to live up to those standards and expectations in this most upscale locale. We were honored to have you and your family stay with us recently and are overjoyed that you found many of our amenities to be to your satisfaction. Sorry that the premises couldn't have been a little more quiet but as you acknowledged we had multiple wedding receptions in progress, a convention during your visit along with other groups that sold the hotel out.- When we have sell out occupancy for various reasons at the hotel, we have increased staffing available but the elevator service does slow down due to constant use by the increased occupancy level. Sorry for the inconvenience. All of us here at the Westin Princeton look forward to your next visit and again, thank you John S, for being part of our "Family."

Be Well,
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times because of the convenient location. The hotel has usually been OK for short business trips. On my latest stay however, two aspects have caused me great disappointment. Number one, none of the 3 elevators was working when I checked in but noone deemed appropriate to notify the guests, so we were several people waiting for about 10 minutes in front of the elevator doors, until we decided to ask the reception what happened. The response was that we could use the emergency exit stairs, which we were forced to climb with our luggage, with no offer for help from the staff... On the following day only one of the elevators seemed to be working so there was again a long waiting time to go up or down... This has apparently been a recurring issue at this place and they should really get it fixed.

Next disappointment was the state of the bathroom: peeling paint on the ceiling, stained marks on the walls, corroded plumbing... Not at all what I would expect from the Westin standards. See the pictures, which speak for themselves...

Also be careful - the hotel originally charged me twice for internet connection; I fortunately got this fixed but it's another of those things which just shouldn't happen - I already find it irritating enough to pay once for such a basic service.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated bathroom, assuming there are any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear flup,

First, let me apologize for the inconveniences you suffered during your last stay with us. The Guest Services staff were not aware that all elevators were out of service due to a power failure when you checked-in. Accordingly, this was the reason you and the other guests were not notified. When it was brought to their attention and verified, available but limited hotel personnel were summoned. Upon their arrival, they assisted waiting guests to their rooms via staircase. Some of our guests made their own way to their respective rooms using the staircases and carrying their luggage. Elevator power/ service was restored during the early morning hours, but two of the three elevators again experienced trouble and were shut down pending repair later on that date. Brand new elevators were on order and scheduled to be installed next month (December). The new elevators will provide more dependable elevator service heretofore for our valued guests. Bathroom ceilings/ walls in rooms are painted as needed during slow business periods along with plumbing changes when required. All rooms are updated and painted during yearly maintenance periods on an ongoing basis. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience and hope to see you at the Westin Princeton in the future.

Be Well,
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village

Address: 201 Village Boulevard, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
#3 Green Hotel in Princeton
#7 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful suburban setting, The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village is situated in the picturesque Princeton Forrestal Village shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Princeton At Forrestal Village Hotel Princeton
Westin Forrestal Village
Westin Princeton
Princeton Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.