We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above the Rest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village to your Saves list
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Village Boulevard, Princeton, NJ 08540   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Above the Rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Decades ago, the genteel town of Princeton and its timeless university were surrounded by farmlands. Today, the area is home to office parks, academic institutes and countless hotels bearing every known brand (and a few you may never have heard of). It seems that every business wants to have a "Princeton" address. But how many of them live up to the expectations of their patrons in this still upscale locale?

The Westin does. There are unique features here that will make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. First, the hotel is the anchor of an attractive shopping area with upscale stores and restaurants. The lobby is spacious, warm and inviting. The lobby bar, located down a couple of steps from the main level, reminds me of the recessed living rooms that were popular years ago, and has that same cozy feel. The indoor-outdoor pool is also very inviting for a facility so far from the tropics.

The rooms have the characteristic amenities of the Westin chain, including of course that heavenly bed. Westin's decor, while contemporary, seems warm rather than sterile. An unexpected touch was the complimentary breakfast bar on the sixth floor--no place to sit down there, but guests were welcome to take their selections back to their rooms. The coffee service in the room (Starbucks) was surprisingly good, from a machine that truly was easy to operate.

This visit was not flawless. The hotel was crowded with two wedding parties and a convention of pre-teen cheerleaders (who, by the time my wife and I located the breakfast room, had already devoured many of the offerings). Burdened by these crowds, the elevators were slow, there was a lot of commotion in the hallways, and guest services seemed a bit overwhelmed (for example, after two tries we gave up asking the front desk to turn off the message light on our room phone).

Still, I would choose the Westin over other hotels in the area (and we've tried many of them). The hotel surpasses the others in its setting, decor and room comfort. This is one Princeton hotel that lives up to its address.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hi John S,

We here at the Westin never think of our guests as customers but as highly valued family members who are entitled to the very best in service, friendship and overall caring. I would like to thank you for your kind words expressed in your posting, they were tasteful, eloquent and very much appreciated. As you so rightfully noted, the Westin Chain has high standards and we here at Princeton do everything in our power to live up to those standards and expectations in this most upscale locale. We were honored to have you and your family stay with us recently and are overjoyed that you found many of our amenities to be to your satisfaction. Sorry that the premises couldn't have been a little more quiet but as you acknowledged we had multiple wedding receptions in progress, a convention during your visit along with other groups that sold the hotel out.- When we have sell out occupancy for various reasons at the hotel, we have increased staffing available but the elevator service does slow down due to constant use by the increased occupancy level. Sorry for the inconvenience. All of us here at the Westin Princeton look forward to your next visit and again, thank you John S, for being part of our "Family."

Be Well,
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    127
    93
    36
    21
See reviews for
100
90
33
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times because of the convenient location. The hotel has usually been OK for short business trips. On my latest stay however, two aspects have caused me great disappointment. Number one, none of the 3 elevators was working when I checked in but noone deemed appropriate to notify the guests, so we were several people waiting for about 10 minutes in front of the elevator doors, until we decided to ask the reception what happened. The response was that we could use the emergency exit stairs, which we were forced to climb with our luggage, with no offer for help from the staff... On the following day only one of the elevators seemed to be working so there was again a long waiting time to go up or down... This has apparently been a recurring issue at this place and they should really get it fixed.

Next disappointment was the state of the bathroom: peeling paint on the ceiling, stained marks on the walls, corroded plumbing... Not at all what I would expect from the Westin standards. See the pictures, which speak for themselves...

Also be careful - the hotel originally charged me twice for internet connection; I fortunately got this fixed but it's another of those things which just shouldn't happen - I already find it irritating enough to pay once for such a basic service.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated bathroom, assuming there are any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear flup,

First, let me apologize for the inconveniences you suffered during your last stay with us. The Guest Services staff were not aware that all elevators were out of service due to a power failure when you checked-in. Accordingly, this was the reason you and the other guests were not notified. When it was brought to their attention and verified, available but limited hotel personnel were summoned. Upon their arrival, they assisted waiting guests to their rooms via staircase. Some of our guests made their own way to their respective rooms using the staircases and carrying their luggage. Elevator power/ service was restored during the early morning hours, but two of the three elevators again experienced trouble and were shut down pending repair later on that date. Brand new elevators were on order and scheduled to be installed next month (December). The new elevators will provide more dependable elevator service heretofore for our valued guests. Bathroom ceilings/ walls in rooms are painted as needed during slow business periods along with plumbing changes when required. All rooms are updated and painted during yearly maintenance periods on an ongoing basis. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience and hope to see you at the Westin Princeton in the future.

Be Well,
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were fortunate enough to get a room during Sandy and despite being a crazy chaotic week with all rooms booked, the staff handled it all with professionalism and a smile. I want to especially note the manager, Lynn, who seemed to be everywhere at once. She was extremely helpful to us on a number of occasions during the week. No complaints - while much of the Jersey shore was battered and we lost power for some 4-5 days, at the Westin, we were warm, well fed and comfortable. The hotel was clearly understaffed but they made accommodations like having a buffet in the dining room instead of a full menu. I did not see anyone complaining. Bottom line: if they can do it with all rooms occupied and limited resources, imagine what they can do under normal conditions. Kudos all around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hi TeamMan,

It was an honor and our pleasure having you aboard the "Westin Princeton," during Sandy's visit to the Jersey Shore.-Your presence was appreciated TeamMan and we here at the Westin look forward to your next sail with us. Thank you for your positive and delightful posting about services and staff during your voyage and until our next meeting, bon voyage.

Be Well,
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Staff made all the difference. Front desk was excellent. Breakfast was made to order when buffet wouldn't suffice. Room was excellent. Truly felt like a guest at this hotel which I find rare these days. Would recommend to everyone coming to the area and definitely hope to be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hi ijf1010,

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Westin. It was an honor to have you here and our pleasure to provide you with the very best in hospitality. Thank you for your kind words, positive endorsement to others and we look forward to seeing you again at the Princeton Westin.

Be Well,

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We went to parallel 40 in the Westin for a nice date night and were pleasantly surprised by both the restaurant and the service. The calamari was excellent even though the tuna tartare was a little disappointing. The server, Zeest according to our check, was very accommodating and even helped when the entree was salty. Both she and the food made it a successful date night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

There are two items that make or break a hotel for me...
1. A clean room.
2. The Staff.

Both get A+ from me at the Westin! The building seemed like it was a little older, but the guest room and lobby were very well maintained and nicely decorated. The room was clean and crisp and had plenty of space.

The staff was genuinely nice and helpful. The entire front desk staff was wonderful and efficient. The gentleman in the bar that served us dinner provided excellent service. The food was unique and delicious. The bellmen were helpful. The overnight engineer that came up and fixed a broken toilet arrived to repair it before I was even off the phone with the front desk. The banquets staff worked so hard and didn't miss a beat.

EVERYONE and everything was great!

I wouldn't recommend the location for vacationers. Forrestal village was a little strange most of the shops and restaurants looked like they were struggling.

Room Tip: Highly recommend a room with a fountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear noahandlaura,

All of us at the Westin take great pride in having guests like you. Why? Your crisp and direct appraisal of our service and facilities are a telling commentary on both your honesty and your powers of discernment. For this reason, we are deeply thankful for your complimentary remarks about our rooms and the quality of service rendered by our staff. Obviously,the high standards you possess are the goal we strive to achieve. Thank you again and please come back soon.

Be Well,
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

When Hurricane Sandy hit we had no place to go. The Westin was wonderful finding a room for our family and help us cope through the storm. The room was wonderful, and the people were very gracious. The hotel was packed with other families looking for a place to stay, the Westin made it like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Pet friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Newstead123,

Though Sandy posed for all of us a great challenge, our staff found it to be an honor and a privilege to provide you a home away from home during this trying time. It is our goal to make the Westin your home away from home whenever you have the opportunity to stay with us at any time and for whatever reason. We, therefore, want you to know how much we value your stay here and the opportunity to make the Westin a truly satisfying and pleasurable experience. You are always welcome here so please let us know when we can serve you again.

Be Well,
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village

Address: 201 Village Boulevard, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Princeton
#7 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful suburban setting, The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village is situated in the picturesque Princeton Forrestal Village shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Princeton At Forrestal Village Hotel Princeton
Westin Forrestal Village
Westin Princeton
Princeton Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.