We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“prices change by the hour!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nassau Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nassau Inn to your Saves list
Nassau Inn
10 Palmer Square, Princeton, NJ 08542   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
new jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“prices change by the hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Much like the stock market the prices fluctuate by the time of day! Had I known this I would have saved $20 and checked in a few hours later.I walked into the Inn to inquires about a room friday am at 10 - they had one for $179 plus... but it would not be ready until 1pm. I came back at 1pm to hear other guests being quoted $159. I checked on the computer and this was indeed the new price. However when I later asked I was told the prices change depending on the time of day! It isn't much but just left a bad feel. Had I not waited perhaps it would have been easier to accept.
As for the rooms, the toilet was not working but was promptly fixed, the drain on the tub leaked but didn't bother me, lack of hot water did. Lighting is poor, one lamp for 2 beds however we had a beautiful view for such a small room and the location can't be beat. Also bring your own hair conditioner, it is one of those combined bottles which we all know never really works!
Would I stay here again? Yes but I would watch those rates!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing Palmer square, otherwise you can be facing a lot of construction also bring y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nassaugm, Guest Relations Manager at Nassau Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear stdominic,
We appreciate that you took time out to provide us with your feedback. We are glad to hear that you would visit us again but we are a bit troubled to hear of this situation as you’ve described it. I am not sure exactly what occurred during your time of booking the room and then what had changed at the time of your check in. I would be very happy to discuss this with you so as to better understand where we may have fallen short in giving you a consistent rate as our rates do not typically change within any such time frame. At your convenience, please call me at 609.921.7500. I will look forward to hearing from you.
Yours in hospitality,
Nick Ballas
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    88
    78
    53
    49
See reviews for
72
61
44
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic clean room with a stellar crew. The room was beaitiful and clean. Warm and ready for guests with the heat. It was a wonderful welcome to a full day of travel and delays. Fantastic location to princeston university and shopping as well as restaurants. Would definitly stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nassaugm, Guest Relations Manager at Nassau Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear HoodedChiWarrior, We greatly appreciate your wonderful review. We could not be happier that you so thoroughly enjoyed the warmth of you room and that the comfort it provided was exactly what you were looking for! We will look forward to your return and we hope that you will once again enjoy all things offered by our wonderful location here in Princeton.
Yours in hospitality,
Nick Ballas
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This late 1930's hotel offered pleasant enough accommodation for a one night business trip, albeit in a room that was a little worn around the edges. For example, the bathroom sink wouldn't hold water, because the drain leaked, and a couple of suspicious stains haunted the shower curtain. However, the more important aspects of hotel accommodation were well taken care of: the bed was comfortable, WiFi was reliable, and there were generous supplies of bathroom products. Also supplied was a pack of sewing needles and cotton to service any emergency garment repairs. I didn't take advantage of the breakfast, so I can't comment on that, but the lobby's complimentary coffee was OK.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nassaugm, Guest Relations Manager at Nassau Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear PhantomTourist,
Thank you for providing us with your insightful feedback. We are very pleased to read of your overall satisfaction with our Inn. The bed you enjoyed is brand new as were the plentiful amenities within your room. We hope that during your next visit with us that you will take advantage of the breakfast in the Yankee Doodle Tap Room. At your convenience I would like to hear from you regarding the aspects of your stay that do not meet our standards so we can immediately take action to rectify these shortcomings. I can be reached at (609) 921-7500. I look forward to speaking with you and we all look forward to seeing you here with us again! Yours in hospitality,
Nick Ballas
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The first room we were assigned had windows so dirty you counld not see out, and the toilet ran continually. The second room was better and lighter (top floor)- until after sundown the lighting was inadequate (the most comfortable chair was near a lamp of wattage so low that it was impossible to read in the chair.) The bathtub stopper did not work properly- so it was not possible to fill the tub. The ceiling light near the shower was over the floor, not the tub/shower, so when the dark shower curtain was closed the shower resembled a cave. Guest rooms are old fashioned as is the dining room (disappointingly so)- with the only feature they seem to be proud of in the dining room is the initials carved in table tops by past students. The location is perfect, but, other than that, whay stay there?

Room Tip: rooms in the newer wing and on a high floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nassaugm, Guest Relations Manager at Nassau Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear steve r,
We would like to thank you for providing us with your feedback in regard to your recent stay at the Nassau Inn. We are very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction during your time at the Nassau Inn. Our maintenance and housekeeping staffs have both addressed the respective issues you brought to our attention. Our standard is 100% guest satisfaction and it is truly disappointing that we have fallen short of this for you. We would like nothing more than to be given another chance to leave you feeling completely satisfied. At your convenience, please call me to further discuss your previous issues and allow us pursue a better impression. Yours in hospitality,
Nick Ballas
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nice hideaway in a great historic location. Room size was satisfactory and the noise level was minimum. My room was on the main traffic side and I was quite surprised to hear very little noise. Close to lots of neat small businesses, which offer all sorts of great tasting soups, sandwiches, breads and yes cupcakes.

Will definitely return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nassaugm, Guest Relations Manager at Nassau Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear sap811,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent Nassau Inn experience. We are happy to hear of your satisfaction with our newly rejuvenated rooms and their much improved sound proofing. Our location in the heart of Palmer Square is always a favorite of our guests, (and staff!) with its great variety of offerings for people of all ages and interests. We are thrilled that you will be returning and we look forward seeing you again. Please feel free to call me prior to your arrival for any arrangements of preference. (609) 921-7500.
Yours in hospitality,
Nick Ballas
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We lost power at the Jersey Shore and needed shelter. The Nassau Inn staff went beyond the call of duty to watch out for my 84 year old mother with a heart monitor that needed to be charged regularly. We only had a reservation for a 2 night stay but they did whatever they could do to let us stay.......we ended up staying for close to a week! I really felt that the staff treated us like family instead of hotel guests.....I was blown away by their concern and resourcefulness. I have stayed at the Nassau Inn several times and have always been happy with the location of the hotel, the food at the restaurant downstairs and the staff. If you want a cozy hotel in the middle of town whose staff treats you like family please stay at the nassau inn!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the newer side of the hotel....the rooms/bathrooms are upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nassaugm, Guest Relations Manager at Nassau Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear beaner66,
We can not thank you enough for your glowing comments about your time with us at the Nassau Inn. I know I speak on behalf of all of our staff when I say it was our pleasure to be of assistance and spending the time with you and your mother. We are sorry it was under such circumstances but we look forward greatly to your return in better times! We hope that when you returned home, all was in good standing.
Yours in hospitality,
The Nassau Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The location is fantastic but our room in the old part of the hotel was small and had a very noisy air conditioner. The bathrom was also small and not very attractive. There is no free wifi in the room and the free wifi in the lobby is very erratic. The lobby itself is not very comfortable and certainly is not what you would expect given the price of the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for the new part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nassaugm, Guest Relations Manager at Nassau Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Lynne087,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on Trip Advisor. We are grateful for our wonderful location and so happy our guests are often able to take full advantage of it. While our ongoing renovations are nearing completion, we still have a small portion of rooms that have yet to be rejuvenated. We are very excited with the overwhelming positive feedback we have received from our guests in regards to our rejuvenated rooms and we would like you to call us prior to your next visit to arrange for you to enjoy one of them. The bathrooms are much larger and we trust that you will be satisfied with the brand new room temperature control units, they are practically silent. Please feel free to reach out to me at (609) 921-7500 for your next reservation and we’ll be sure to get you into one of our many new rooms.
Yours in hospitality,
Nick Ballas
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nassau Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nassau Inn

Address: 10 Palmer Square, Princeton, NJ 08542
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nassau Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nassau Hotel Princeton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nassau Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.