We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convinient Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3499 Route 1 South, Princeton, NJ 08540   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Atlanta,GA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Convinient Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great location for business in Princeton/Lawrenceville area. Best part of the hotel is that you can walk (literally next door) to the Marshalls and Whole Foods! One thing to note about the hotel is that it was very clean but be aware that the rooms facing the pool are all courtyard facing (anyone walking by can see inside your room if windows open) and there was easy access for non-guests to enter into this courtyard area. Felt safe overall - but as a solo female traveler this gave me a little pause.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    21
    19
    23
See reviews for
25
17
13
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
woodstock
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The over all experience here was average. Comfortable bed, great pillows, quiet night. We had a bit of a challenge finding the hotel - then, we had trouble finding our room~. the breakfast features Lipton tea along with the usual fruit, hardboiled eggs. cold cereal and waffles. The restaurant next door- PURE - has a very lively bar/ lounge- and there is an average style Greek diner within walking distance. In the mall next door, is a WHOLE FOOD Market.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife attends a conference in Princeton every year and this hotel is on the list with a special rate for the conference; while my wife is at the conference I stay in the room to do some work, relax, whatever. The rooms aren't too bad however the wifi coverage is poor and the room cleaning schedule is all over the map; the first morning the cleaners were at our room by 9 AM while the second morning they hadn't shown up by noon. I don't like having my work interrupted so I usually leave the room until the cleaning staff have been through before I start working; having such a random cleaning schedule is a problem (this happened last year too).

I went to the "Business Center" to see if it would allow me to work uninterrupted for a while and I found that to be a bit of a joke. The room has boxes stored around/under the desks, the network jack at the work desk isn't active and the electrical outlets are blocked by the desk. I would have expected a powerbar and plug in network access and a more professional looking area.

The only real shining star to this hotel is their handyman Alex; he is extremely friendly, attentive to detail, quick and efficient.

Last year we had one of the suites; the stove didn't work and the balcony furniture was very dirty. We may try a different hotel next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarmeont, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I will keep this short so people will read this.

1. I booked a nonsmoking room and was given a smoking room. "that is all we have" was their reply. At the time I booked my room, the rate offered was similar to several other hotels in the area. A quick look at other hotels had me paying almost twice as much due to it being done at the last minute.

2. This place sponsors a swingers club (I'm not talking about dancing). My stay coincided with their monthly meeting. When the hotel bar closed at 1 am, the party moved to the hotel. Not all of the activity was confined to the rooms. It was way after 3 am when I was finally able to get some sleep - due to the noise. Calls to the front desk went unanswered. I feel the hotel should have warned us "normal" guests. Also, the rates to the members of the club are about half the normal rate.

To show I'm not making this up, the link below takes you to their advertisement. Beware of the 3rd Sunday of the month.

http://www.swinger.net/swingers/parties/new_jersey/princeton/

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very nice property, great amenities and clean. However, unlike the cheapest Roadway Inn in the Choice chain where there is 24 hour coffee (though horrible tasting) in the lobby, you are locked out of the breakfast room until 6:30am. Not great if your a business traveler and need an early start! I told the desk clerk I was disappointed, and she told me, "there's a coffee maker in your room". How disappointing for Choices signature brand.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If it wasn't for the friendly staff and its location, I would rate this as below average or poor. Normally when I think of "Clarion" I think of a higher standard than what we experienced at this location. Overall, we much prefer the Holiday Inn Express a few miles away: hands down a far better value and a much nicer stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last summer. We were in the process of moving from out of state and needed a place to stay while we looked for a place to live. We chose this hotel specifically because it allows pets and we were able to bring our dog.

The hotel itself is in a convenient location (right next to a plaza with a Whole Foods and down the street from a mall). The interior is definitely dated and our particular room had a pretty horrible odor. The hotel does have a pool (which we didn't use) and an outdoor area with tables and chairs.

It suited our needs at the time but I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Address: 3499 Route 1 South, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn is conveniently located just two miles from Princeton Unversity. This Princeton, NJ hotel is near popular attractions like Six Flags Great Adventure theme park, Sun Bank Arena, Rider University and The College Of New Jersey. The hotel is next to Whole Foods Market, and across the street from Carnegie Center office complex. The award winning PURE RESTAURANT and LOUNGE is located through the hotel's lobby and features casual to fine dining, with celebrity chef-prepared sushi, along with steak and unique menu items. Our signature cocktails are a great way to enjoy a relaxing evening in the lounge. Over 12 domestic and imported beers are available on tap and served ICE COLD. Our breakfast buffet is by far the finest in the area, and it's INCLUDED at no additional charge! You'll enjoy high-speeed wireless internet access, and we have refrigerators and microwave ovens in EVERY ROOM. All amenities are included in your room rate. Why stay at other hotels that charge fees for every item you touch? HBO, ESPN, and over 40 other channels are available on flat screen Televisions. Shuttle service to Princeton University is available at no additional charge (call us for details on the shuttle availability). Call us today to make reservations with one of our friendly representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Palmer Princeton
Clarion Princeton
Princeton Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.