We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mehek Fine Indian Dining

Mehek Fine Indian Dining
164 Nassau Street, Princeton, NJ 08540
609-279-9191
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mehek Fine Indian Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #79 of 173 Restaurants in Princeton
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

After reading the last review, I was not expecting anything. Went to a show at Princeton and purchased a gift certificate for Mehek through Restaurant.com. To my surprise,the food was excellent. Started with Samosa Chatt which could have been a meal in itself and very tasty. Chicken Saagwala was also good. Waiter was very attentive and asked us if we wanted our entrees mild, medium or very spicy. Waiter even kept up with filling our glasses with water even though he left a pitcher on our table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    18
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What has happened to our favorite restaurant?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were very excited to return to Mehek last Sunday night. Even though the restaurant is not at all attractive, we have always enjoyed the excellent cuisine, being a fan of Indian food around the world. What a disappointment. The food was bland and untasty and the service was miserable. The waiter said three words to us, if that, and at the end of the meal actually threw the bill at us. He was very rude and it was obvious that he did not enjoy his work. But we were mainly upset that the standards which we enjoyed for so many years are absent now. We won't be back, which is shame.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
872 reviews 872 reviews
750 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 331 cities Reviews in 331 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“Very good meal (prices a bit high, but reasonable for Princeton)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Three starters: 1) veg pakora, though not greasy, was bland - not recommended, 2) aloo tikki chaat was excellent - highly recommended, 3) papri chaat is very interesting, tasty, unique - try it. Chicken vindaloo was good. Lamb rogan josh was also good. Special menu lamb curry with touch of coconut was excellent. Service was quite acceptable. It is a somewhat small place, with a cozy atmosphere that you often do not get in Indian places. Make a reservation - was very busy even on a Tuesday.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vada, Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food and interesting décor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have been to Mehek a few days ago with some friends of mine, and I find it an interesting place to have an informal dinner with friends. The food was good (we shared a fried chicken appetizer, some lamb with coconut spinach, and chicken korma, with some bread, including the Kashmiri naan, which is a kind of sweet bread... interesting). The waiters were very nice, the décor of the room is nice (intense blue curtains, red walls), and the price is quite reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My partner and I ate here recently and were pleasantly surprised by how good the food is. We started with a cream cheese dumpling appetizer (the name of it escapes me), which was delicious. We then shared the Mehek Rogan Josh and the Shrimp Saagwala. Both were fantastic. We also had the Garlic Naan, which was delicious. I love the fact that this place is BYOB. The only thing I would caution a prospective customer about is to be sure to tell them the level of spice heat you like in your food. I told them mild and it was still pretty spunky.

I will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mehek Fine Indian Dining also viewed

 

Been to Mehek Fine Indian Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mehek Fine Indian Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.