We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Terrific Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gennaro's Restaurant

Gennaro's Restaurant
47B State Rd, Princeton, NJ 08540-1318
609-497-2774
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gennaro's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 175 Restaurants in Princeton
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cherry Hill Rd.
Kendall Park, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Terrific Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have been coming to Gennaro's for many years and the place never disappoints. The food is consistently wonderful. There's not a bad dish on the menu and the service is terrific. If you're in Princeton, NJ this is the place to go. We have introduced many friends to Gennaro's and will continue to do that.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    15
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanuet, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wish we knew about it sooner!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We celebrated our son's college graduation at Gennaro's yesterday.

Since we are not from the area, we were not sure about where to go to celebrate such a wonderful occasion with our family members who came to share this special day with us! Thanks to TripAdvisor, we chose Gennaro's in Princeton.

When you first drive up, it doesn't look like anything special, but when you walk in you are greeted by an extremely friendly staff and are immediately made to feel comfortable and welcome.

We loved the atmosphere. The service was impeccable and the food was great! Our waiter was very helpful with his suggestions and he was very entertaining. The prices were reasonable, and they were very kind to younger children! I only wish we knew about Gennaro's sooner!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Gennaro's is by far the best Italian restaurant around. Gennaro personally greets every guest. One feels as if they were being invited to sit at his dining room table. The atmosphere is warm and romantic; the food excellent; and the staff--friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. During the warmer months, one can sit outdoors in the courtyard, an added treat!! Don't miss the chocolate/hazelnut Gelato. We have never been disappointed in a meal at Gennaro's!! Note: It is a BYO.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I was disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We heard good things about this restaurant and I took my husband there for his birthday. The food was good, but not wonderful. Prices were very high. It was terribly noisy. No tablecloths. Nothing to absorb sound. The staff was friendly and raved about the cooking, but I was not impressed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The service is great. The food is fine, well cooked and well presented, it's just that it is so expensive for routine Italian faire. You could achieve the same results by a quick trip to Lucy's Kitchen and Wholefoods.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gennaro's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gennaro's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gennaro's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.