We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Princeton

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Princeton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Princeton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3819 US Rt 1 S, Princeton, NJ 08540   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Princeton
Wayland, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My family stayed here when we toured Princeton University. It lived up to what we expect from a Homewood Suites. The pool was comfortably warm, and the room was clean and comfortable. I was also pleased that we were allowed to have a late checkout when I asked. The hotel is an easy five-minute drive to the university.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    79
    19
    9
    10
See reviews for
110
29
21
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walla Walla, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I just returned from a two-night stay at this hotel. I stayed in a 1 king bed, 1 bedroom suite, which was good sized. The bedroom (complete with a comfy bed) closes off completely from the living room/kitchen area via a door, a nice plus. I found the small sofa in the living room uncomfortable to sit on, and the small dining table was somewhat awkwardly placed; it would have been difficult for two people to eat at that table simultaneously. The room was very clean and had all the amenities described on the Homewood website. The bathroom is a separate area (again, with its own door) with a toilet and tub/shower, but it's very poorly lit, especially when the shower curtain is in use. I found the general layout of this hotel to be a bit peculiar; things can be hard to find, despite good signage. The breakfast had a large variety of items, but the quality was not as good as I've had elsewhere. Most employees were polite, smiling, and quick to greet you with a "hello" or "good afternoon". The exception was the check-in staff, some of whom seemed hassled and a bit curt with guests.

The hotel is very popular with families, and blocks of rooms are often reserved for people attending celebrations. Be aware that there is a "no party" policy for the individual guestrooms, and they have mandatory quiet hours, currently from 9 pm to 8 am. Both are great ideas! The hotel makes a good base for exploring Princeton and the surrounding area.

I arrived on a Friday at about 2:15 pm (check-in officially begins at 3 pm). I had requested a very quiet room on a high floor, away from elevators, vending areas, etc. I understand that management cannot guarantee requests, but I was placed in a room on the second floor (there are four floors), directly next to the guest laundry, which is open 24/7. That didn't work for me. When I returned to the front desk at about 2:45, I was told that the only room available on a high floor faced the highway, which is busy Route 1, as "we're pretty well sold out this weekend". The only other king one bedroom suites available that didn't face the highway were either occupied or part of a block of reservations? Really? At 2:45 on a Friday afternoon? I didn't believe that, but who knows? Fortunately, I had my trusty ear plugs with me. The lesson here? If you are a light sleeper like me, insist on a room facing away from Route 1, or bring something to muffle traffic noise, because it will be an issue.

I'll be back in this area next month. I'm staying elsewhere at that time, but I will try this hotel again at some point.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed two days last week of July and was pleasantly surprised. Very large, clean hotel with a good, hot breakfast and a nice dinner in the evening. Rooms were large and clean and the pool area/hot tub was fun for the kids. Easy to get to once you figure out the NJ "U turns"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel did not meet my expectations. When you first pull up you proceed to drive completely around the hotel before realizing where the entrance is located. While checking in I wasn't sure if my HH# was listed and told the employee. His response was, 'I know'. Wow! Welcome to Princeton.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The morning breakfast is good. Seating is limited if you get there at the wrong time. Somewhat awkward to find the hotel. The room was nice sized and was very clean upon arrival. The main floor was freezing, a bit much on the A/C.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Homewood Suites. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, the suite was spacious and clean, the breakfast was tasty, and the Internet access was good. We liked having a fully-equipped, clean kitchen area in the suite. The location of the hotel was very convenient to Princeton and Hamilton. It was also close to attractions like Grounds for Sculpture (a highlight of our visit to the area), and not far from New Hope, Lambertville, and Washington Crossing. There is a lovely park within easy walking distance of the hotel as well. We would recommend this hotel for anyone planning to visit the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

As I have come to expect of all Hilton properties, I got good value during my stay. Friendly staff, nice room, free internet access as a HHonors member. Like most hotels, using the tv is a bit of a pain - slow to scan channels, not a great selection of channels. But, I would say it is no worse than any other hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeton
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
0.0 mi away
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
#4 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Free Parking, M...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Princeton

Address: 3819 US Rt 1 S, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Princeton
#2 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Princeton 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Princeton is conveniently located just 4 miles from Historic Princeton University and the Princeton Battlefield in Princeton, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks and complimentary high-speed internet access. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center, indoor pool & basketball court. Explore many Princeton area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Princeton Hotel Princeton
Homewood Princeton
Princeton Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Princeton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.