We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the worst” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Princeton

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Princeton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Princeton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3819 US Rt 1 S, Princeton, NJ 08540   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Princeton
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Among the worst”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stay in the Princeton area a couple of times a month and have tried most of the hotels up and down Rt 1. The good reviews were promising. But I reserved a non smoking room, which the clerk repeated when I checked in, but the first room completely reeked of smoke. They gave me a second room on the opposite side of the hotel, and this room also reeked of smoke, not quite as bad ad the first. I called down again, but was informed they had no more rooms. I was awoke by the alarm too early - the alarm of the people in the next room, that sounded like it was going off on my own night table. Followed by me listening to their conversation about breakfast through the wall as they lay in bed. The Hampton next door is so much better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann K, General Manager at Homewood Suites Princeton, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear frackit,
Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear of the bad experience that had while staying with us. We strive to make everyone’s stay exceptional. We make an effort to ensure that our guest are comfortable and that includes making sure that the room has a fresh, clean smell during the stay. In your review you also commented that you could hear the room next store and I do apologize for that as well; as that affected your experience. We would love to have you try the Homewood Suites Princeton again so we can show you our true Homewood spirit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    79
    18
    9
    10
See reviews for
109
29
21
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The good- clean room, good location

The bad- coffee creamers in the room were opened
Pull out bed was extremely uncomfortable. My daughter wound up sleeping on the cushions of the couch on the floor.
Room was too far away to enjoy convenience of on-site dining.

Asked for someone to bring up more pillows and to help us make up the sofabed when we arrived and no one ever showed up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann K, General Manager at Homewood Suites Princeton, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear jenngreco,

Thank you for staying at the Homewood Suites Princeton. I happy to see you were happy with the locality of our property. We will continue to improve our service and I thank you for bringing your experiences to our attention. We strive to make sure that every guest is comfortable and has a sense of Home. I apologize if your room was far away from our Lodge and we do try to make sure that we can place every guest into a location that will make them happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Once again I stayed at the Homewood Suites Princeton and as always I can't say enough to praise the staff and service. I rely on the free hotel shuttle each day and it makes my stay so much easier. Equally wonderful is the free dinner Monday through Thursday and the always tasty breakfasts.
As long as I have to travel to Princeton I will stay at Homewood Suites!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have to go to Princeton once a month and I think I've found the best place for me. Comfortable beds. The facility is large so you didn't feel on top of other people. Easy check in and out. The rooms were nice sized with very workable, well equipped kitchens. For example we bought dinner at Whole Foods just down the way and brought it home and heated it up on the stove. A nice choice rather than a restaurant. The staff was helpful and low key. The breakfast area was very large, very well maintained, and offered a good selection. Also the attendant's name is on a chalkboard and both mornings he was very attentive. I would book here again anytime.

Room Tip: I asked for a room on the back off a route 1 and was taken care of nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a night so we could go see the Princeton University football game.

We liked the fact that this hotel was clean, had a kitchen, and had a comfortable seating area. We also liked that it was within walking distance to a Ruby Tuesday. We came in late and didn't want to drive around and look for a place to eat.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Made reservations before New Jersey was hit by Hurricane Sandy....and called ahead to make sure they had power. Lucky for us, they are up and running.....and the staff is all-hands-on-deck with a completely FULL hotel, as many locals are calling this place home until power is established in the community. Saw the manager again....she is always out on the floor working. The kitchen gal is really a gem....she was producing dinner for a crazy big group and was not rattled at all. Lucky to be back again....

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here for a week while on business in NYC. I picked this location for the good rate (less than 1/2 of Manhattan prices), decent tripadvisor reviews, and primarily its proximity and FREE SHUTTLE to and from the Princeton Junction rail station. Made all the difference to be able to stay here in this quite nice area and take the train to/from NY Penn Station. That was a huge bonus - being able to get the hotel shuttle van to/from the train station AND to have it be able to take you pretty much anywhere within a 3 - 5 mile radius (check with the front desk). One evening, had the shuttle take me to Princeton U so I could check out the campus. It's very close and the shuttle drops you off and picks you up right in the heart of the University area. That was great.

The hotel staff - from the front desk to the breakfast/dinner area to the shuttle van drivers - were all very courteous, friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and professional. Very nice since at a hotel like this you typically spend a lot of time at the property. The hotel grounds, common areas, and my room were all very clean and well-kept for the duration of my stay, and the breakfast/dinner area was kept in nice order (although the table cleaning during meal times is pretty much self-policing). Very nice and AMPLE selection of food both in the morning and evening; although choices are limited at dinner, it was always very tasty, well presented and very well stocked. That was really a nice feature, and a huge cost savings as well. I did try the Ruby Tuesday across the parking lot one evening, and was completely underwhelmed - dirty, smelled bad, and food was pricey and not very good. Sorry HS - should have stayed for the pasta night!

There are different sized rooms, mine was plenty big for 1 person, and I liked the separate room area with the couch, chairs, and TV. The couch looked like it was a pull out bed as well although I didn't confirm. It was nice having the sink, refrigerator, and dishwasher as well. My only very small complaint about the room was lack of working space - the desk/table they provided was good for one person eating, but with the lamp, phone, and small table size, it was very difficult to work and be able to have more than just the computer on the table. There was sort of a coffee table/ottoman piece of furniture in front of the couch, but it was low, leather covered, and far enough away from plugs to make it a good working space. Small nit however, didn't really detract too much from my overall stay experience.

Again, I can't stress enough the great logistical quality of this hotel - you are a few miles from the Princeton Junction train station, but if you don't go to/from there during rush hours, it only takes about 7 minutes. Princeton University is about the same - 2 or 3 miles and 7 - 10 minutes ride away. Strongly recommend going here for dinner and walking around one evening if you have the time - great area.

Used the fitness center multiple times - it's nice but very small - 2 treadmills, a stair-stepper, and some of those yoga weights; that was it. Only had to wait once however. It's in the same area as the pool and hot tub, so that's convenient - didn't try either of those however.

I would definitely stay here if in the area (NYC, Philly, or Princeton) again - if the rates are as competitive as they were this time. Adding the train fare (about $15 each way to NY Penn Station) is still worth it from a cost and transportation hassle standpoint.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Princeton

Address: 3819 US Rt 1 S, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Princeton
#2 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Princeton 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Princeton is conveniently located just 4 miles from Historic Princeton University and the Princeton Battlefield in Princeton, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks and complimentary high-speed internet access. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center, indoor pool & basketball court. Explore many Princeton area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Princeton Hotel Princeton
Homewood Princeton
Princeton Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Princeton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.