We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Glencairn

Save Saved
You added Inn at Glencairn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Glencairn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3301 Lawrenceville Road, Princeton, NJ 08540   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Princeton B&B and Inns
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An average inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

While the innkeepers were extremely nice and eager to please, the inn itself is just OK. Our bed creaked whenever someone moved, the room appointments were old and very plain. Also, if you're visiting Princeton, it's about a 3 mile ride to the Center of town. I don't think I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet P, Owner at Inn at Glencairn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thanks so much for your review of the Inn at Glencairn. I am so glad you found our new Innkeepers, Jon and Susy extremely nice and eager to please and I hope you found their breakfasts as delightful too! I do apologize that your bed creaked and I will make sure to have this addressed. I am also disappointed that you found the room appointments old and very plain. All rooms have a mix of antiques and reproductions and the overall style of the Inn is colonial in keeping with the 18th century architecture. Hopefully you will stay again with us so that we can point out some of the more decorative antiques in the common areas such as the Jacobean breakfront and wine server or the Pennsylvania Dutch bench and the 19th century drum tables found in the Parlor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    15
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
47
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Recent travels have landed me in some big city hotels (Pittsburgh, Indianapolis, et al.), some more isolated but comfortable spots (Harrisburg, Wheeling and even Bloomsburg, Pa.) Good hotels all. But hotels aren't all there is to the sleeping mix.

We stayed recently at the Inn at Glencairn, near Princeton, N.J., and are reminded at how vital and welcoming a part the inns and beds and breakfasts play in the travel picture. They're not everyone's cup of tea but I have always liked the comfort and general friendliness that such places offer in a landscape cluttered with in & out places lacking any charm whatever.

The Inn at Glencairn is reasonably priced for the region -- and a bargain when the terrific breakfast and free parking is factored in. We picked it out of the web because it broke up a trip nicely, but the beautiful old place offers so much more than that. The rooms were large and comfortable. The hearty food was perfect to start off the day. The location was ideal and the friendliness of the operators, Jon and Susana Onkka, made the stopover something of a destination in itself.

The inn itself dates back to the early 1700's with additions and changes, of course, over the three ensuing centuries. You could easily spend your time just studying the architecture, the construction and the beauty of farmland around. The original house sort of slid into bed and breakfast status in the late 1970's and has eased uphill from there to full inn status today. The place has all the character you could ask for, but all the most modern requirements the traveler needs, too.

With lovely and lofty Princeton just up the Lawrenceville Road, the elegance of very high education is nearby but quietly distant enough. near enough to Philadelphia to the south or new York to the north, the inn exists as an oasis of comfort from which to sail out and explore the historical region -- or just get a very good night's rest.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

My wife and I were warmly welcomed into this beautiful house, by the warm and friendly innkeepers, Jon and Suzie. The Inn is clean, neat, warm and homely. The innkeepers went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. They even helped us to get to an appointment in town when the taxi did not arrive on time by driving us into town. We would return to the Inn if we were in Princeton again. DD from South Africa

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

My wife and I arrived at the Inn on October 29th in the middle of a Nor'Easter. The Innkeepers, Jon and Susana were incredible! They saved some cheese and goodies for us, the bed was most comfortable and the ambience just right. Breakfast the next day was perfect, very different and very tasty. As for the restoration of the Inn, nothing short of gorgeous. We are intending to return soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I can't agree more with the reviews we read before choosing to stay here. I guess that's why we love tripadvisor. The house is beautiful and meticulously maintained. The furnishings and artwork are ecletic in a good way. First-rate breakfast and caring help. Awesome night's sleep on comfy bed. Not far from home, but our visit took us light years from reality. We'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Wow was this a huge disappointment. First the good. The house was really beautiful and seeing so much of it restored to its original was really a treat. I especially liked the sitting room in the oldest part of the house.

Now the rest. My husband and I just wanted an overnight getaway. The kids were staying at their grandparents' and we just wanted a night without a baby monitor waking us up. Our requirements were pretty basic. We discovered the Inn at Glencairn through all the fabulous reviews on this site. What we found when we got there was a bed (promised to be a queen but was a full) that was, no exaggeration, no softer than sleeping on the 200+ year old floor and a shower that had 2.5 minutes of hot water before going luke warm at best.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet P, Owner at Inn at Glencairn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review of the Inn at Glencairn. I am glad that you found the Inn "really beautiful" and appreciated the restoration of our unique 17th century property. The room you stayed in was the Hunt Room, which has a queen-sized four poster bed with a featherbed topper, so perhaps the height of the bed frame made the mattress appear smaller; however, the Inn has never had full sized beds. Regarding the water temperature, I do apologize if you had a luke warm shower. We did experience utility outages during Hurricane Irene and this could have been a residual issue that we are going to investigate further. Again, thanks for your comments, we value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is a very old house that has been made into a B & B. Some of it is quite historic. Our room was spacious, but furnished with just old furniture. The bathroom was new and excellent. The host was personable and showed us a cabinet in the hall that included extra toothbrushes, toothpaste and other personal items for our use, if necessary. The living room was nice, but the lower room with the fireplace (from the original 1600's house) was rather gloomy and we did not use it. The breakfast guests were convivial. But breakfast was not good and not what I expected. This is not a lux place, but it is satisfactory.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Glencairn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Glencairn

Address: 3301 Lawrenceville Road, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Glencairn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Glencairn is a bed and breakfast in a fully renovated 1736 Georgian manor on nearly three acres of park-like setting. Guests will enjoy the unique historic setting while being pampered with many modern amenities including updated en-suite baths, comfortable new mattresses, individual heat controls, flat screen televisions, and wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the manor. Many guest rooms feature four poster beds, antique dressers and armoires, and 18th century woodwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Inn at Glencairn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Glencairn Hotel Princeton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Glencairn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.