We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A great B&B!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Glencairn

Save Saved
You added Inn at Glencairn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Glencairn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3301 Lawrenceville Road, Princeton, NJ 08540   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Princeton B&B and Inns
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"A great B&B!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

My wife and I were warmly welcomed into this beautiful house, by the warm and friendly innkeepers, Jon and Suzie. The Inn is clean, neat, warm and homely. The innkeepers went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. They even helped us to get to an appointment in town when the taxi did not arrive on time by driving us into town. We would return to the Inn if we were in Princeton again. DD from South Africa

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    15
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
48
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

My wife and I arrived at the Inn on October 29th in the middle of a Nor'Easter. The Innkeepers, Jon and Susana were incredible! They saved some cheese and goodies for us, the bed was most comfortable and the ambience just right. Breakfast the next day was perfect, very different and very tasty. As for the restoration of the Inn, nothing short of gorgeous. We are intending to return soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I can't agree more with the reviews we read before choosing to stay here. I guess that's why we love tripadvisor. The house is beautiful and meticulously maintained. The furnishings and artwork are ecletic in a good way. First-rate breakfast and caring help. Awesome night's sleep on comfy bed. Not far from home, but our visit took us light years from reality. We'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Wow was this a huge disappointment. First the good. The house was really beautiful and seeing so much of it restored to its original was really a treat. I especially liked the sitting room in the oldest part of the house.

Now the rest. My husband and I just wanted an overnight getaway. The kids were staying at their grandparents' and we just wanted a night without a baby monitor waking us up. Our requirements were pretty basic. We discovered the Inn at Glencairn through all the fabulous reviews on this site. What we found when we got there was a bed (promised to be a queen but was a full) that was, no exaggeration, no softer than sleeping on the 200+ year old floor and a shower that had 2.5 minutes of hot water before going luke warm at best.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet P, Owner at Inn at Glencairn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review of the Inn at Glencairn. I am glad that you found the Inn "really beautiful" and appreciated the restoration of our unique 17th century property. The room you stayed in was the Hunt Room, which has a queen-sized four poster bed with a featherbed topper, so perhaps the height of the bed frame made the mattress appear smaller; however, the Inn has never had full sized beds. Regarding the water temperature, I do apologize if you had a luke warm shower. We did experience utility outages during Hurricane Irene and this could have been a residual issue that we are going to investigate further. Again, thanks for your comments, we value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is a very old house that has been made into a B & B. Some of it is quite historic. Our room was spacious, but furnished with just old furniture. The bathroom was new and excellent. The host was personable and showed us a cabinet in the hall that included extra toothbrushes, toothpaste and other personal items for our use, if necessary. The living room was nice, but the lower room with the fireplace (from the original 1600's house) was rather gloomy and we did not use it. The breakfast guests were convivial. But breakfast was not good and not what I expected. This is not a lux place, but it is satisfactory.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This was a last-minute trip -- I just missed the online booking window from another site, but thought the reviews good enough that it might be worth phoning for a room directly. I swung down to pick up the key late-ish, en route to another appointment, and when told about breakfast, I made a gentle passing comment about a dietary restriction. We got back late, had a super sleep on a nice bed in a bright and airy room and went down to breakfast. There'd been a bunch of cancellations due to a storm coming up the coast, but we we given a super breakfast which suited the dietary restrictions nicely (and that was mere hours after they'd been informed! We were really impressed. (It's hard to complain about a nicely presented and super tasting cheese soufflé as part of the breakfast :) ... and the host was charming without being intrusive.)

Certainly a place to consider again for any return trips to the Princeton area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at this inn several times during the three years my son went to graduate school. We tried a couple of other properties, initially, but there isn't really a great selection of quality places here. Once we stayed at the Inn, we never went anywhere else. In fact, on our final visit for my son's wedding, we rented the whole house for our family for the wedding. You can see some of the pictures in this review. Bob made us feel at home from the beginning. We really can't say enough good things about all our experiences here. Breakfast is always great and its nice to meet the other people staying at the Inn. Bob makes everyone feel welcome and facilitates introductions. I love the daily chocolate chip cookies and wine along with being able to read the NYT in the beautiful sitting room *see picture". I don't usually do reviews, but I felt compelled to do this one because we used Bob's recipes for stuffed french toast and smoothies at a bridal shower we hosted today and it was a big hit. It reminded me that I needed to say thanks to Bob and the owner of the Inn at Glencairn. The history and beauty of the home, the people we met while staying there along with Bob's great hosting skills have truly given us a set of experiences that enriched our lives over time. You don't often get to say that about a hotel!

Room Tip: Ask the Innkeeper to tell you about the rooms and choose the one that fits you best. All are very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Glencairn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Glencairn

Address: 3301 Lawrenceville Road, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Glencairn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Glencairn is a bed and breakfast in a fully renovated 1736 Georgian manor on nearly three acres of park-like setting. Guests will enjoy the unique historic setting while being pampered with many modern amenities including updated en-suite baths, comfortable new mattresses, individual heat controls, flat screen televisions, and wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the manor. Many guest rooms feature four poster beds, antique dressers and armoires, and 18th century woodwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Inn at Glencairn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Glencairn Hotel Princeton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Glencairn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.