We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of simple elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ferry House - CLOSED

The Ferry House
32 Witherspoon St, Princeton, NJ 08542-3202
609-924-2488
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, International
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Princeton
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A touch of simple elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Have eaten here several times.
The food is excellent -- the atmosphere one of unpretentious elegance. Good selection of foods. Good service.
Easy to miss this place. Although it is a block from Palmer Square shopping and the University--it is nestled in among
the stores offering average (less than elegant) shopping.
Worth the price.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    15
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Closed by tax authorities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I haven't been to Ferry House in several years, because it was overpriced, repetitive and lacked creativity. But the state and federal tax authorities were there this week and closed the restaurant because the owner apparently hasn't paid taxes in forever. He, of course, blamed the taxman for not providing warning and throwing people out of work - too bad Trigg didn't just pay what he owed (and what he was withholding) and avoid getting into hot water.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great food,good atmosphere, pricey, and limited menu. A place to get engaged at. I'm told it's a good place to have lunch, not as costly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Ferry House is a fine dining restaurant. My husband and I have dined frequently over the years and have not been disappointed with any dish. The menu is frequently adds seasonal items and specials. A special place to dine with friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

A friend and I have been best friends for close to 40 years and one of our traditions is to take each other out for dinner for our birthdays every year. I took her to the Ferry House for her birthday. The service was friendly and helpful. The food was well-prepared, interestingly served and delicious. I don't usually eat pork but had the pork medallions and was raving about them for days.
The ambiance was tasteful and comfortable. My only complaint was that it was too warm and I was a bit uncomfortable. Drinking wine didn't help so I can't complain.
If you want a special dinner in a well-run restaurant in the heart of Princeton, NJ go to The Ferry House. You'll love it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ferry House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ferry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.