We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Ice Cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halo Pub

Halo Pub
34 Hulfish Street, Princeton, NJ
609-921-1710
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 173 Restaurants in Princeton
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Menlo Park, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Exquisite Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

It was below freezing outside but Halo ice cream was what we needed to warm us up. Homemade, sourced from local farms, there are an assortment of flavors and none too sweet to spoil your appetite for more. We had peach, coffee, black cherry, strawberry, lemon, strawberry chocolate chip and other flavors. Peach is unique. The selection of cakes offered at the connected cake shop is average though.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    26
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Ice cream.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great Prices, Great ice cream, quick service, easy location. What more can you ask for. a wide assortment of ice cream - both soft and hard. They serve coffee if you need one. There is limited seating inside and some benches outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Ice cream that I would drive miles to get. Try any flavor and you will agree. Over sized scoops with crisp cones make this a great place to get ice cream. I just wish they would spruce up the old building and try to clean up the inside a touch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local Institution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Halo Pub is a Princeton classic. The building is old, with some features of an old ice cream parlour, especially on the 'bakery' side (all ice cream, of course). There's something special about sitting in a booth with a granite table.

Alas, I'm allergic to eggs and their ice cream is almost always made with egg. I stick to the soft serve or their chocolate covered strawberries.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This gem has been serving ice cream and coffee for years at great prices and generous portions. We try to stop each time that we are in town.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halo Pub also viewed

 

Been to Halo Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halo Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.