We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome ice cream” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halo Pub

Halo Pub
34 Hulfish Street, Princeton, NJ
609-921-1710
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Dessert in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Ice cream that I would drive miles to get. Try any flavor and you will agree. Over sized scoops with crisp cones make this a great place to get ice cream. I just wish they would spruce up the old building and try to clean up the inside a touch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drknish732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local Institution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Halo Pub is a Princeton classic. The building is old, with some features of an old ice cream parlour, especially on the 'bakery' side (all ice cream, of course). There's something special about sitting in a booth with a granite table.

Alas, I'm allergic to eggs and their ice cream is almost always made with egg. I stick to the soft serve or their chocolate covered strawberries.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoogleAGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
192 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This gem has been serving ice cream and coffee for years at great prices and generous portions. We try to stop each time that we are in town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mimickinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“very busy and good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A nice little place that is a great ice cream parlor and coffee place. The line can be far out the door during peak times and well into early evening. The place is open kinda late to allow for the lines to calm down and everyone to get a scoop. The price is nice and the selection is vast and the service is friendly and top notch. I loved being able to stop at this little place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoodedChiWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashua nh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“In a town of fancy ice cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

In a world of unusual flavors, they could do better. When it gets busy, which it is most of the time, it gets filthy, and the young staff gets a bit snarky. The tables and counters a coated with the light sticky grime of many big and little ice cream hands. Management seems absent, especially in the evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hardworkingmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halo Pub also viewed

 

Been to Halo Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing