We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome ice cream” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halo Pub

Halo Pub
34 Hulfish Street, Princeton, NJ
609-921-1710
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 170 Restaurants in Princeton
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert
Restaurant details
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Ice cream that I would drive miles to get. Try any flavor and you will agree. Over sized scoops with crisp cones make this a great place to get ice cream. I just wish they would spruce up the old building and try to clean up the inside a touch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    71
    24
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local Institution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Halo Pub is a Princeton classic. The building is old, with some features of an old ice cream parlour, especially on the 'bakery' side (all ice cream, of course). There's something special about sitting in a booth with a granite table.

Alas, I'm allergic to eggs and their ice cream is almost always made with egg. I stick to the soft serve or their chocolate covered strawberries.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This gem has been serving ice cream and coffee for years at great prices and generous portions. We try to stop each time that we are in town.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“very busy and good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A nice little place that is a great ice cream parlor and coffee place. The line can be far out the door during peak times and well into early evening. The place is open kinda late to allow for the lines to calm down and everyone to get a scoop. The price is nice and the selection is vast and the service is friendly and top notch. I loved being able to stop at this little place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashua nh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“In a town of fancy ice cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

In a world of unusual flavors, they could do better. When it gets busy, which it is most of the time, it gets filthy, and the young staff gets a bit snarky. The tables and counters a coated with the light sticky grime of many big and little ice cream hands. Management seems absent, especially in the evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halo Pub also viewed

 

Been to Halo Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halo Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.