We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Princeton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Princeton to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Princeton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4385 US Highway 1, 4385 Brunswick Pike (for GPS), Princeton, NJ 08540   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Netanya, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Exactly as outside of town hotel should be - new, clean, spacious, friendly. Free wired and wireless Internet in room, free (and good) breakfast, good rooms, great service. Great choice (thanks, TripAdvisor reviewers!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Hampton Inn Princeton, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Greeting Isreal and Hello from Princeton, NJ!
We are so happy to provide our all guests even from far away the best in hospitality Thank you so much for taking time to state we are "Excellent". We are happy you enjoyed your visit to Hampton Inn Princeton. We are happy that our genuine service levels exceeded your needs and expectations. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    107
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
127
62
23
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Delaware
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I was very happy with this hotel. The outside, interior, and rooms we all maintained. Our room was clean and we had plenty of towels. The room was also a very good size. The breakfast had several options, was well staffed and maintained. Good solid choice. Not disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Hampton Inn Princeton, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Laura,

Hello from Princeton, NJ!
Thank you so much for taking time to write great comments about us. We are happy you enjoyed your visit to Hampton Inn Princeton. We are happy that our genuine service levels exceeded your needs and expectations. You have a new friend in Princeton. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you need a clean, affordable and comfortable place to stay, the Hampton Inn is a good option.The front desk was efficient. Our room was very nice, nice bedding, nice amenities. Good touch to have outlets on the bedstands. We did find a muffin rapper on the floor near the bed, so maybe not the best cleaning person that day. It is off of one of the busiest roads, RT 1, so you might want a room in the rear. I would give it a better rating except that the free breakfast was pretty lame. Basic sugary cereal, very little fresh fruit, and my sister, who is not fussy or wasteful, threw away a plate of eggs from the chafing dish because they were not very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Hampton Inn Princeton, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Warm Greetings From Princeton!
Thank you for selecting the Hampton Inn Princeton for your recent visit. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and we apologize you were not 100% happy with our brand standard breakfast. We are constantly working on new exciting procedures to make certain each and every guest is comfortable and I will note your comments to our entire team. We hope to be your choice when visiting Princeton and thank you for taking the time to tell Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferns, Wexford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn, Princeton for 3 nights while attending an event at Princeton University and I can't say emphatically enough how delighted I was that I had chosen to stay here. The staff are friendly and professional, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and well equipped (mine had a fridge (normal) and a microwave - something one very rarely gets in Europe), and the service was top notch

Some particularly good things include:
As I was travelling on business, the free wired AND wireless wifi available in the room was particularly appreciated
The way that meals are done, with an excellent selection of breakfast items and a buffet dinner provided Monday-Thursday, which was tasty and satisfying after a long drive, with guests being able to just find themselves a table in the comfortable lounge area and eat in a relaxed setting.
The free shuttle van to Princeton University was excellent.
The staff - I've already mentioned them, but it bears mentioning again - any hotel is only as good as its staff and the staff at the Hampton Inn are excellent in all areas.

The only real con, and it's not something the hotel can do anything about, is that US 1 can be a bit confusing for international visitors. If you go out for a meal in the evening for example, you need to remember that GPS might not necessarily tell you that you can't turn left at quite a few of the local junctions, or indeed straight out of the hotel! Check Google maps etc. and work out where you can make turns before you leave! Alternatively the hotel brochure includes several places which deliver to the hotel. Local calls are free so it's a handy option!

All in all, this hotel is somewhere I'd be delighted to recommend to anyone and would stay at again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I would imagine the rooms which face onto Highway 1 are probably noisier than those that don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Hampton Inn Princeton, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Cheers from the States!
The staff and management thank you for selecting Hampton Inn Princeton and we especially thank you for going out of your way to share these great experiences with Trip Advisor. It makes all of us proud that we can make our guests satisfied. You traveled a long way from Ireland and knowing you were satisfied makes us proud of what we do. I will share your comments with the entire staff and next time you are in the neighborhood, please consider our genuine hospitality once again. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel was great! I had a very nice time here. The staff were really nice and hospitable. The rooms were cozy and comfortable. The breakfast was good, there was a good variety. There is also a BBQ area where you can grill by the heated pool. There are tons of restaurants in the area within 6 miles from the hotel. There is a shuttle bus at this hotel but I didn't use it. Overall nice comfortable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok, no spectacular room area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Princeton, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello From Princeton!
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences and a special thank you for selecting Hampton Inn Princeton for your recent visit. I will share all your feedback with our entire team as they love hearing from our guests. You have a new home away from home in Princeton and we look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were originally planning to stay 1 night but we had such a nice room and the hotel staff was extremely helpful so we changed our reservation from the Hampton Inn at La Guardia and spent a second night in Princeton. The first night we noticed that one of the people traveling with us had forgot to bring a toothbrush so we went into the lobby to purchase one. The desk person said that he had complimentary toothbrushes and other products that he could give us. We had a frig and microwave in the room and there were items to purchase in the lobby since there was no restaurant close by. Also had a wonderful continental breakfast set up that was available from 6AM to 10AM. They also have complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate available 24 hours per day. The room was quite cozy and comfortable, the beds were great, and it was very quiet. The only thing I did not like was that the air conditioner was a bit noisy, but as tired as we were it did not pose any problem for us. Am planning on making another trip to this area and will be staying at this same hotel. Thanks to all the Princeton Hampton Inn employees for making us feel very welcome, at home, and comfortable. You guys are great.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 3rd floor one night and the first floor right in the pool area the second night and bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Princeton, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Greetings from Princeton!

Thanks for staying with us here at The Hampton Inn Princeton and thanks for changing your plans to add another night. We appreciate your comments and I will share all of your great experiences with the entire team in which I am very proud of. Next time you are in Princeton, you have a new home away from home. Enjoy the Fall Season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here for one night on business. Staff was very polite and accommodating. I had trouble connecting to WIFI and had to call the troubleshooting website. The staffer solved my issue in minutes, but when I left with my laptop for a meeting outside the area and returned to the inn that night, I had the same issue. I was too tired to call tech support again so I had to let it go for the night. Appreciated the complimentary breakfast in the a.m., despite the fact that I was so late that I had to take a bagel and coffee to go. The bed was super comfy, the room was clean and the shower was hot. Can't ask for better on a business trip.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Princeton

Address: 4385 US Highway 1, 4385 Brunswick Pike (for GPS), Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Princeton
#1 Business Hotel in Princeton
#2 Green Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Princeton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Princeton features 110 of the largest guest rooms in the area. By far one of the best value priced hotels in the Central NJ/Princeton area. Stay and enjoy daily "On The House" complimentary full breakfast daily, Complimentary "On The Light Side" full dinner including soup, salads, beer, wine, soda and dessert (Monday-Thursday from 5PM-7PM). Besides that, we have complimentary local transportation, over 120 new channels, the fastest internet in Princeton, outdoor pool, fire place & bar and our brand new "Jump Start Fitness" room. See for yourself and you too will become a part of our genuine family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Princeton Hotel Princeton
Princeton Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Princeton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.