We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way off the beaten path, but a nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chauncey Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chauncey Conference Center to your Saves list
Chauncey Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Chauncey Road, Princeton, NJ 08541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
245 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Way off the beaten path, but a nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I would never have picked this hotel, but with Priceline you get what you get for $59. The hotel is really caters to corporate clients and, I'm sure, uses Priceline to fill in the gaps on the weekends. The room was very pleasant with a high ceiling. Everything was clean and new. My only complaint is the big flat screen had terrible reception, which was unexpected. Had the breakfast buffet (about $15) the next morning. You would never find this place without a GPS.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormanPrincetonNJ, Manager at Chauncey Conference Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We are currently upgrading our satellite system during our renovation which starts July 1st. When we reopen in October we will have a majority HD channels. We will also expand our channel line up. We have also been granted a mailstop (Our own address) of 1 Chauncey Rd. It will take time for all of the GPS systems to catch up to the change so we are offering both addresses for our incoming guest. If you would like to keep up on our status during renovations please like us on Facebook. We will be posting updates and specials from time to time on our home page.

Thank you,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    38
    20
    7
    12
See reviews for
20
21
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Chauncey hotel is one of my favorite places! I have stayed at the Chauncey on several occasions and it keeps getting better each time. I have stayed at other places in the area and clearly recommend it over any other place. It is a top quality hotel with lots of extras that they don't advertise. The service continues to exceed all expectations, from check-in, to cleaning, to the food. Outstanding!

A special treat is to take the free hotel shuttle with Tulio into downtown Princeton. He will help you find a great restaurant or tell you about a special landmark in Princeton. He is friendly and offers a personalized touch to your stay! I have eaten at some of the best restaurants based on his recommendations!

If you like the outdoors, you will enjoy the grounds with the beautiful flowers and the bikes that you can borrow. The walking trails are also great for a break after a long work day. You will enjoy the breakfast that usually comes with the room. It is fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My first impression of this hotel was scary- i had the shuttle pick us up at the princeton junction and a dissheveled man appeared in the shuttle to pick us up- he introduced himself as the General Manager of the hotel and talked the whole way about his education and why he likes to drive the van for extra customer service. The van was filthy, there was garbage and an odor to it, I was very concerned that this was how the hotel was going to be after an hour long trip which we thought was never going to end,we arrived at the conference center. We were greeted by the front desk and checked into our room. The room was clean and quite lovely. The food was delicious and the staff was just as friendly as the food was delicious. We almost didn't stay because we were frightened off by the manager but the rest of our experience was quiet lovely and our return trip back to the train station was also a better experience with a different driver a lovely young housekeeper who brought us on a shorter route to the Train station.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The Chauncey Hotel and Conference Center is beautifully situated on the grounds of the Educational Testing Service in Princeton. Though we were not there as part of a conference, the hotel offered us a quiet break from the busyness of downtown, while being just minutes away from both the University and the downtown shopping area. The dining options at the hotel are excellent and are the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Interesting location, out in the middle of nowhere. Asked for a King bed room and got a double queen. The furniture is dated and over-sized for the room. Old Tube TV. 10+min drive to downtown Princeton. Breakfast doesn't start until 7am.

Room Tip: Go to a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Here on business, for the most part the staff is pleasant except for the guy running the resturant on the second floor. He seemed put out that we were there. We were standing around like dummies not knowing if we should just sit down, my husband saw the host, said hello and he ignored us. Then my husband said OK .....should we just sit anywhere that's when he decided to talk to tell us "No No No, you may like the bar downstairs. We were both offended and left. Although we did enjoy the bar, Bartender Ron was pleasant and attentive. The rooms are small, double beds....no tv remote and our blow dryer was missing. I did alert the front desk and supplied us with new ones. Because this place was chosen by my husbands employment it was ok but I wouldn't stay here by choice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The rooms are very dated and have a strange odor. The staff is indifferent if not rude. The grounds while pretty if you enjoy being on a corporate campus, are remote. This really isn't a hotel per se. It is what it's name states..."conference center". Not only is it a conference center rather than a hotel, it is primarily for the benefit of the Educational Testing Service as it is located on the ETS campus. The food is really bad as many other reviewers have stated. On several other travel sites, this "hotel" has a 3.5 star rating. That is completely over rating this place. I stayed her 3 times in the last 6 months so I feel like I've given it every chance. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
5.4 mi away
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#13 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#9 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chauncey Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chauncey Conference Center

Address: 1 Chauncey Road, Princeton, NJ 08541
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Princeton
#8 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chauncey Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Princeton, just three miles from Downtown, on the campus of ETS, Chauncey sits on 370 wooded acres midway between Philadelphia and New York City. Chauncey’s 100 newly renovated guest rooms feature flat screen HD TVs, iPod/iPad docking stations, down comforters, Keurig coffee makers, laptop safe, weekday delivery of USA Today, iron/ironing board and complimentary high-speed Internet. The majority of our guest rooms offer a patio or balcony. Additional services at Chauncey include a 24-hour fitness center and nature trails, van service to and from downtown Princeton and ample on-site complimentary parking. Tantalize your taste buds by dining in the Solomon Room, offering classic American continental cuisine. Relax or gather in the new C Bar and enjoy light culinary fare or a cocktail (seasonal outdoor seating available). By advanced reservation, enjoy tea, savory tea sandwiches, assorted sweets, and fresh baked scones at our popular Afternoon Tea. Meeting rooms and event space are available to host your next social event or meeting. Off-site golf can be arranged.Note: Currently our Pool, Tennis and Volleyball courts are out of service.Companies and attractions close byEducational Testing Service (ETS)........On Campus Princeton- Educational Testing Service (ETS)........10 mi S (Ewing Campus)- Bristol Myers Squibb...............................3 mi E- Jasna Polana Country Club (TPC Course)...................1 mi E- Ground for Sculpture.............................10 mi SE- Johnson and Johnson..........................10 mi NW- Princeton University.................................3 mi N- Princeton Country Club...........................6.5 mi E- New Hope...............................................20 mi NW- Lawrenceville Academy........................2 mi S- McCarter Theater.....................................3 mi N- Rider University........................................2 mi S- Rutgers University.................................25 mi N- Trenton Thunder Baseball.................. 12 mi S- Washington Crossing Park.................10 mi SW**Currently we are in the final stages of our new pool and fitness center design and will be breaking ground to build this facility. We are projected to be completed by spring of 2014 with our Indoor/Outdoor facilty.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Venere, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Chauncey Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chauncey Hotel Princeton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chauncey Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.