We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Big rooms, Friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Princeton at Carnegie Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Residence Inn Princeton at Carnegie Center to your Saves list
Residence Inn Princeton at Carnegie Center
3563 US Route 1, Princeton, NJ 08540   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean, Big rooms, Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

I stayed here two nights during a business trip, and everything was fine. I booked a "studio" and I was impressed by the size of the room. It came with a living room area, a full kitchen, a little dining table, and an office desk. The bed and linens were comfortable, and everything was clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel runs a shuttle on weekdays during the day to take you anywhere within a 5 miles radius. It was very close to the Princeton Junction train station. There is also a little swimming pool, a workout room, and a nice spacious lounge. The wireless in the room works, but not fast. My only complaint is that it is not very close to the center of the town (Princeton) unless you have a car.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
2
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

Stayed here the week between Christmas and New years while we visited family. Stayed in a one bedroom suite with our two kids. I would stay here again. Its located across the parking lot from the Market place Shopping center. So you can walk to about 6 restaurants, movies, a large book shop with cafe and shopping. The hotel was clean, had a good selection of breakfast foods both hot and cold, and a friendly staff. I wish there was more whole grain bread/roll options. One employee almost dropped the ball when I asked that my children's bed be made up (pull out couch). He responded with, "Housekeeping has left for the day, your sheets should be in the closet of the room." His manager quickly jumped in and said, " That's not a problem, I'll take care of it myself. When you get back from dinner it wil be made up." Having just done a transatlantic flight that was the answer I wanted to hear.
There was a small pool, gym, selection of board games, videos, and evening snacks. The staff made an effort to ask how your stay was going.

A deisgn flaw in this style unit that I dislike is the heating unit is in a closet in the bedroom. I find it to be very LOUD. When the bedroom door is closed, even though there is a vent in the family room the heat(or A/c) tends to get trapped in the bedroom area, so sleep with the door cracked between the 2 rooms or its stuffy.

I would stay here again!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — heating system
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

We went away for a long weekend, and booked our vacation to Sesame Place through the Sesame Place website. We chose this hotel bc I knew my 3 yr old wouldn't sleep if we were all in the same room. Getting a 2 bedroom suite offered us more room for all of us, and a kitchen in case she was exhausted and we needed to eat in.

The first night there (Thursday), my daughter came down w/ a 24 hour virus. She woke up at 10pm throwing up everywhere, and this continued through the morning. The hotel was so accomodating, providing us w/ new linens immediately, and asking if there was anything at all they could do.

The next morning they were doing fire alarm testing JUST as she was finally getting some sleep. When I went down to the front desk to ask what (if anything) they could do about it (and explained my situation), they were very understanding, and while they couldnt stop the testing d/t fire code, they went through hoops to make sure we were satisfied. Definitely above and beyond. They made sure they sent up housekeeping in the afternoon (vs the morning when they usually come) b/c they knew my daughter was sick and resting all morning.

Thank God it only lasted 24 hours, but this hotel consistently went aove and beyond to make sure we were all as comfortable and happy as possible. I appreciated that more than I could put into words.

Also, having restaurants like PF Changs, On the Border, Macaroni Grille all w/in walking distance (yes, even my 3 yr old walked, its that close) was so nice. Sesame Place was about 20 minutes away, not a bad drive at all. And the free breakfast at this hotel is awesome - waffles, pancakes, eggs, bagels, etc.. All included.

Its the little things that seperate the "okay" hotels from the great ones, and this hotel had all of them. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — Convenience, cleanliness, service was top notch!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

Have stayed at this hotel several times during my trips to the US. Overall a nice hotel with clean rooms and good location right on Route 1 next to malls and restaurants. It is possible to walk to several restaurants from this hotel, which is often not the case in the US. Malls and departmental stores are less than a 5-minute drive away.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

Stayed there for business for 4 nights. Overall, it was very good. Staff was nice, the morning complimentary breakfast was excellent, rooms clean, the kitchen was well equiped. Very impressed. And the staff were nice.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

I have stayed in many Residence Inn's, and they usually have a small fridge, and maybe a microwave. My suite at this hotel had an entire kitchen including full size fridge/freezer, full size microwave, stove, dishwasher, kitchen sink, and a full stock of silverwear/bowls/plates.

The room was very clean and the toiletries were fully stocked. I was beginning to think there was a shortage on hotel size conditioner bottles as the last TWO hotels I stayed at were completely out. But there it was...a miniature conditioner bottle waiting for me in the bathroom.

The wireless internet worked perfectly both in my room and in the lobby.

There are several restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel.

The service was very good, they even called my room to make sure everything was alright and that I did not need anything.

My only complaint was the "free breakfast." Like I said, I have stayed in several Residence Inn's and this was the worst breakfast I have seen. The one in New York has the norm plus freshly made pancakes and waffles. The Princeton Residence Inn barely had anything. A few bagels (although no plain bagels), stale english muffins, special K & froot loops, corn muffins, and some fruit. They had a waffle iron...but no waffle batter. I was down fairly early, 7:30...so I doubt that it's that all the good food was eaten. But other than the less the adequate breakfast, everything else about my stay was superb.

  • Liked — The full kitchen, free wireless
  • Disliked — The less the adequate breakfast
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

Stayed here 3 nights in the middle of August. Got an upgarde from a 1 bedroom suite to a 2 bedroom suite! Loads of room, complimentary hot break fast, evening food with soft drinks and a nice pool. Hotel staff were very friendly. The only downside was the hot tub was was way too hot! But that aside we would recommend it to anyone stayong in the area - we used it as a base for traveling to Sesame Place and given it s just off route 1 we found it to be highly convenient.

  • Liked — Huge rooms
  • Disliked — Hot tub a little toooooo hot!
  • Tips/Secrets — Buy food at the Whole Foods supermarket located in the next shopping mall
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Princeton at Carnegie Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Princeton at Carnegie Center

Address: 3563 US Route 1, Princeton, NJ 08540
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Princeton at Carnegie Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Princeton At Carnegie Hotel Princeton Junction
Residence Inn West Windsor
West Windsor Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Princeton at Carnegie Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.