We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culture on a Budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princeton University Art Museum

Princeton University Art Museum
McCormick Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544
609-258-3788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 attractions in Princeton
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Owner description: The Princeton University Art Museum is one of the nation's finest art museums, housing collections of over 72 ,000 works of art spanning 5,000 years of world history and all the world's major cultures. The Museum also presents special exhibitions and educational programs throughout the year. Admission is free.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Culture on a Budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Princeton University Art Museum is a perfect way to spend a day. And it's free too (small donation is requested but not demanded).
My husband and I live within a comfortable distance of Princeton and decided to spend the day visiting. We toured the museum which has one of the most impressive collections anywhere around, including NYC. We were accompanied by a knowledgeable docent who had very insightful things to say about pieces in the collection. The museum also features artists from all genres and if you have the occasion of visiting a couple of times of year, you will see new works.
After the museum, there are plenty of eateries to choose from, and the campus offers a beautiful stroll. Overall, it was a fun, culture-filled day that didn't cost too much.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    34
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Two Harbors, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A great place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have been going to the Princeton University Art Museum for three years now. I can honestly say it is the best art gallery to visit on a budget because it is free and it is set in beautiful Princeton. I will add that they do have a donation box when you enter and I highly encourage you to donate.

The museum is home to many fine works of art both modern and archaic. When I was there in November they had an interesting exhibit on Egypt. I always make it a priority to visit the Museum when I am visiting the area. It is a great place to go with family, solo trip, and even couples.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Every room you walk into, you can't believe they have that art work and that one and that one! The collection is breathtaking. Wonderful place to visit again and again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Small Gem on Campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This has a bit of everything since it is designed to expose students to a wide range of expression and cultures. In addition to guiding yourself there are docents on hand as well as special lectures to shed new light on the varied collection on view.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A wonderful smaller museum with exceptional special exhibits and an impressive collection. Excellent gallery talks when avaiaolble on Fridayd st 12:30

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princeton University Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Princeton University Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princeton University Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Princeton University Art Museum to your Saves list