We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful with cancellation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta ES Suites Princeton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta ES Suites Princeton to your Saves list
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4375 US Route 1 South, Princeton, NJ 08540   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Very helpful with cancellation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Unfortunately, we did not get to stay at the Sonesta ES Princeton. Our daughters had a lacrosse tournament that was cancelled at the last minute when the n'oreaster dumped snow on the fields after recovery from Sandy. The hotel cancellation policy is by 4:00 the prior day to your reservation. I called at 6 and Pat, who answered the phone, went out of her way to help me cancel without penalty. She was friendly and helpful. Thanks for being flexible!

Room Tip: Didn't have the pleasure of staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    92
    27
    17
    19
See reviews for
170
53
17
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

New ownership (it used to be Staybridge) have kept things pretty much the same. Some room furnishings a bit dated (tube TVs) but overall a very nice, clean, spacious place. Great for families because of the suites. Tiny health facility and pool, but still an excellent value. Decent if unexciting breakfast

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My family and I visited my brother who's at Princeton and we stayed at Sonesta. It was a great experience. As this was our first time spending a couple days in Princeton and coming from out of state, we could only base our decision on internet research. We felt the value was great and hoped for the best. When we got there our expectations were greatly exceeded. For the value, four of us stayed comfortably in a 2-bedroom unit (it was great to have a kitchen), there was a surprisingly diverse and delicious breakfast, as well as great service. In fact, the service may have been the best part. We got to know a woman at the front desk named Irene and she was wonderful! She was extremely helpful this being our first time at Sonesta and in Princeton for an extended period of time.

In short, I highly recommend Sonesta. I think this will be our place of choice until my brother graduates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We are 5 ladies that met in college and get together annually. We always try to find someplace comfortable, where we can just hang out and catch up. The Sonesta fit our bill perfectly. The two bedroom suite was perfect. . . 2 queen beds in separate rooms, 2 baths and a sleep sofa. The rooms were just big enough and the bathrooms were clean. You could tell this was an older hotel, but a hotel that was recently taken over by Sonesta, and improvements are being made.

The kitchenette was small, but we were there for just 1 night. It came equipped with all we needed! (At the time of departure, we did try to run the dishwasher, but couldn't get the door to lock)

The room included breakfast which was your typical fare, scrambled eggs, hash, pastries, fruit, cereal and yogurt. Everything was well stocked and cleaned as needed. There was plenty of seating in the eating area.

The staff were very nice and helpful. Several of us arrived before the person that reserved the room and they were able to make some changes so that we could get into the room for us. The location of the hotel is very convenient to restaurants, shopping and downtown Princeton. I would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The floors are paper thin. I was on the ground floor and heard every foot step and conversation from the room above me.The best place to be would be the 3rd floor, but with no elevators that makes a lengthy stay very hard. There are only outside wooden stairs, a long climb up and down with luggage, kids, groceries etc. Breakfast is ok. Hot selection is limited to eggs and either sausage patti or bacon. Saturdays they serve corned beef hash in leiu of a meat, not a fan. " Dinner,Social hour" is a joke. One item for example cheese ravioli in a jar of Ragu, Hot Dogs and potato chips.. and sometimes a green salad. Very cheap bland,bulk frozen, canned food. Not worth the walk to the dining room. Furniture is stained,and dated. Couch has permanent indent in cushions from years of use. Bed is ok, linen is good. Not a fan of the 2 HUGE pillows though.Appliances are dated. The upside is there is a full stove and oven.Good news is there are 2 TV's, one in bedroom and 1 in the living area. Bad news is they are older than my mother with no TV guide channel and grainy picture.If you plan to stay here bring higher than 60 watt light bulbs to replace the ones there. I'm all for energy conservation but when you have to turn on ALL the lights to see something tells me you're not conserving anything! They do offer daily "touch up" service by the cleaning staff. There is no room service and if you need toilet paper you need to track down housekeeping or walk to the front desk. I'm giving this a poor value rating due to the noise level I had to endure for a ground floor room. Staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the room first and make sure everything works. Ask also if you are on ground floor if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The perfect setup for our family with one room for our daughter and another for mom&dad with the living room in between so we could easily sit and plan the day. Having 2 bathrooms was a big hit as well.

We were not expecting any breakfast, but happily found the buffet to bee pretty good and one notch above a continental. Scrambled eggs, toast, bagels, sausage, cereal, muffins etc. But the big hit was the Belgian waffle maker. I liked that the food stations were scattered around so the people didn't cluster so be sure to walk around the area first to plan your food. The disposable plates reinforced that it was just a motel breakfast but we actually found it nice to carry back to our room.

All of the hotel workers we met were very nice, but I'll admit we didn't exactly test them on their service. We had everything we needed and didn't ask for more. I spoke briefly to a grounds keeper who was happily and justifiably proud of his efforts.

The bed mattress was comfortable and the sheets and blankets new and fresh. Ironically I didn't like their big overstuffed pillow, but my complaint is purely my personal preference. My daughter judged the toiletries an A+ and tucked her leftovers into her suitcase. Everything was super clean and crisp at our arrival.

The location worked for us. We were in town for parent's day at the University so of course drove back and forth. It is very close and easy (about 2 miles). On other trips we have stayed at the Nassau Inn or the Hyatt. My theory is you either stay at the Nassau Inn which is walking distance and expensive, or my new happy spot of the Sonesta ES Suites which is a short drive and affordable. No need to horse around with the high end chains on route 1 which require the drive and are very expensive.

All in all, we found this hotel to be a great value.

Room Tip: It is motel style with every suite having an outside door. The only real choice is upstairs or down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was here for a long stay on a business trip. One of my best experiences so far. The service was fantastic which made my stay really memorable. All the staff took the best care of what ever was really needed for a long stay like best of food, room service, shuttle and all other facilities were at par with the best of class hotels in Town. Special thanks to Adeel, who ensured I got the best experience and provided the maximum support for having such a pleasant stay. Thanks Adeel! :) The service is truly world class and the staff is very friendly and helpful which is the most exciting thing about Sonesta ES,Princeton NJ. Best place for business trips and people planning for long stays...

Room Tip: Just ask Adeel at the front desk for the best room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Princeton
Homewood Suites Princeton
#4 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Princeton

Address: 4375 US Route 1 South, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
#2 Business Hotel in Princeton
#3 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Princeton 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton blends sophisticated, extended stay hotel surroundings with friendly service. The newly renovated hotel is easily accessible from the NJ Turnpike, Garden State Pkwy, I-95, I-295 and Princeton Junction train station. Sonesta ES Suites Princeton is just minutes away from Historic Princeton University and corporate offices. You will experience comfort and convenience with our spacious one and two bedroom suites-complete with living room and full kitchen. Dedicated work areas with free high-speed Internet access add to your productivity, and private bedrooms with phones and televisions add to your relaxation. The complimentary daily breakfast buffet features hot items, and our evening reception (featuring a light meal with beer, wine, & soft drinks) is available Tuesday - Thursday evenings. If you prefer to dine out, choose from any number of local restaurants that feature a range of cuisine and ambiance. When it's time to unwind, relax in the courtyard near our outdoor pool, workout in our fitness room, or shoot hoops on our Sport Court. Sightseeing opportunities are plentiful- we are just minutes from Princeton University and shopping, within a 1 hour drive to Philadelphia and New York, Six Flags and the Jersey Shore, and 2 hours to Atlantic City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Princeton Hotel Princeton
Princeton Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta ES Suites Princeton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.