We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and atmosphere- average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Peacock Inn Restaurant

The Peacock Inn Restaurant
20 Bayard Lane, The Peacock Inn, Princeton, NJ 08540
+1 609-924-1707
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Peacock Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 175 Restaurants in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: We are located a short 5 minute walk from the NJ Transit Princeton Station stop.
Description: The Peacock Inn - a Top 25 restaurant in the state of New Jersey by NJ Monthly, highest rated restaurant in Princeton by Zagat and Open Table, named "Restaurant Of The Year" by the Star-Ledger newspaper - offers guests an elegant and exceptional dining experience. Attentive service, chic decor, and the contemporary approach to Chef Manuel Perez's "New American" cuisine, make The Peacock Inn the perfect choice for a romantic evening, business dinner, or special occasion. The intimate dining rooms blend elegance, comfort, and sophistication. The walls showcase prized artwork, murals, and menus from the 1930's, some of which were discovered behind cement walls in the basement of the historic mansion. Spend some time in the contemporary bar at The Peacock Inn while food prepared by Chef Perez and his team while sipping your favorite cocktail or a choice wine.The restaurant is open for dinner seven days a week and Sunday Brunch. The Peacock Inn also offers 16 luxury guest rooms if you are looking for a exceptional evening in the heart of downtown Princeton.
Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great service and atmosphere- average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have eaten at the Peacock several times as I stay at the Inn when visitng the area. In the winter when I stayed, they only offered a set menu with 4 or 5 courses at dinner, which was too much food and too time consuming for my sons and I. However, one could "cherry pick" courses from the comfortable (if noisy) booths in the bar. On this trip, there was an ala carte option in the dining room. The food is well presented and service is great. Most of our dishes, however, were not at all remarkable. Our soft shell crab appetisers were meaty and crisp with excellent greens and flavors. But our main courses -- I had the primavera pasta and everyone else had fish, was really mediocre. My pasta was swimming in oil and surrounded by large and starchy raw peas. One of us ordered the mocha ice cream for dessert and it was delicious. Bottom line: nice atmosphere, good service but the food is hit or miss. It was expensive too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review The Peacock Inn restaurant. We introduced A La Carte dining at The Peacock Inn with our new spring menu on May 1st. We are excited about giving our guests the ability to choose how many courses they want to enjoy. The food at The Peacock Inn is rated the best in all of central New Jersey. We pride ourselves on great food, and great service to create an experience that is unparalleled. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peacock Inn for your stay and for dinner, and hope to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    30
    13
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Very creative combinations, beautiful presentation. Would not sit inthe bar area which was our choice. Very noisy and service was below expectation. Bar tender was terrific but can't table and bar. Much to busy.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your 5-star review of The Peacock Inn Restaurant! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time eating in the restaurant and having a drink at the bar. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, NJ
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Amazing tasting menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I love when you walk into a place with absolutely no expectations and it turns out to be one of the best meals you've ever had! My BFF and I were in Princeton for the day and decided to check this place out quite at random. We were greeted warmly and promptly seated despite being a bit under-dressed (will try harder next time as dining here is definitely an occassion). We both looked at the Four Course Tasting with wine pairing on the menu and I said 'You take one side and I'll take the other'.

Everything was superb! but most notable were as follows: Yellowfin Tuna Tartare “Maki” (gorgeous flavors), Foie Gras Terrine (this is what silks shantung must taste like), Seared Sea Scallop (briney and perfectly cooked), Pork Belly “A La Plancha” (amazing! and honestly tastier than the Pork Belly @ David Chang's 'Ma Peche' @ Momofuku tasting menu I had a couple of days prior. Seriously ... Insanely good! especially when paired with 2011 Marlborough,Sauvignon Blanc,Tohu), Strawberry & Rhubarb Tart (the Ricotta Ice Cream was sublime!)

The ambiance is cozy without being cluttered. We were incredibly lucky to be served by the head waitress who was phoenomela, personable, attentive and very knowledgeable. The owner wandered over for a chat during dessert which we really appreciated. In short ... perfect meal! and I'm already planning my next trip to beautiful Princeton and the Peacock Inn

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for the incredible review of The Peacock Inn and your amazing experience here with your BFF. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the 4-course Prix Fixe menu along with the wine pairing. Exceptional food and service is what drives The Peacock Inn to be the best that it can be. Our renowned chef, Manuel Perez and his team want to thank you for your detail on each dish that you enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peacock Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the 2nd time I've enjoyed their delightful brunch at this charming B&B on a residential street in downtown Princeton. The selection and quality of the food is wonderful and the staff attentive and personable. It's leisurely and so much food. Love it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for the review on your Sunday Brunch experience at The Peacock Inn. We are so glad that you decided to come back for a second time, and happy to hear that you were taken care of and that the food was excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. The Peacock Inn recently introduced A La Carte dining with our new spring dinner menu. We serve dinner 7 nights / week and hope that you decide to choose us for dinner one of these nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“The Bar is Preferred”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

When Lahiere's closed (now Agricola is in its space) the Peacock acquired on the Princeton's most valuable bar assets - Chris the bartender. It seems his following has made its way to Peacock too. The bar is small but comfortable enough. Food is available and there are small tables/booths available for dining in the bar as well. The restaurant atmosphere is fine, but it is a bit stuffy and reminiscent of eating dinner at Grandma's dining room - the decoration and furnishings are new due to a recent renovation but they seem a bit dated. So, the bar is our preferred venue to eat and drink at Peacock. The food is fine cuisine and the wine list is more than sufficient. Valet parking is available and essential given the location which is not near any parking lot. One of the best and most welcoming places in Princeton.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for the review on The Peacock Inn Restaurant and Bar. We are glad that you enjoy your time here, and look forward to seeing you soon. The 3 large pictures, one in each of our dining rooms, were found behind the walls in Peacock Alley (our lower level). They were done by a well-known cartoonist in the 1920s, when Peacock Alley was a Speakeasy during prohibition. Please let the host/ess know if you would like to see Peacock Alley next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peacock Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Peacock Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peacock Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.