We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Creek Grille - Princeton

Salt Creek Grille - Princeton
1 Rockingham Row, Princeton, NJ 08540-5782
609-419-4200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 173 Restaurants in Princeton
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 1
Middlesex, New Jersey
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not so great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is unfortunate because many locals were excited about having a good quality steakhouse in this area. Now it is overwhelmed by Ruth Chris right next door! Servers and hostess seemed less than knowledgable. Great decor and outdoor seating w/fire pit. Food was average at best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    89
    44
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Garlicky, but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you like garlic, visit Salt Creek Grille! The food and service were very good. The menu had a nice selection, it was hard to make a decision. The daily special (half off of any bottle of wine) was an added bonus.

Definitely would go back if I travel to Princeton again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great bar and lounge. But LOUD when music playing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am very impressed by their bar and lounge. It's a great place for hanging out with coworkers. However, the restaurant can get extremely loud when there is live music playing, and it becomes very difficult to have a conversation. The drinks are very good. The food is nice.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

place to be for happy hour. Specials are great on food. And Monday and Wed have amazing wine deals - and their wine selection is awesome. Good food, reasonable prices, and even when crowded always a place to sit. Outdoor seating during summer is AWESOME.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, noisey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Funny, I live so close to this restaurant, and I rarely come here. The food was pricey, and the place is a hopping. It gets a good evening crowd, for cocktails and entertainment. I would say the age range is 40 - 50. I like this place, but every time I've been here I could barely hear the person next to me. Probably a good place for singles. The restaurant has several fireplaces. Love that about the restaurant!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Creek Grille - Princeton also viewed

 

Been to Salt Creek Grille - Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Creek Grille - Princeton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.