We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Regency House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Regency House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Regency House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Route 23 North, Pompton Plains, NJ 07444 (Formerly Regency House Hotel & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pompton Plains
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

The bad:
The biggest downside to the hotel is the location. If you are looking to for nightlife etc they have a few restaurants close. Other than that you must drive or take the bus to NY which is about an hr away.

The good:

The rooms were clean and comfortable and the service was great. The complimentary breakfast was appreciated. It was a hot breakfast with coffee, eggs, waffles etc. The staff was very polite and friendly and overall it was a great stay for the price. I would go ba

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    67
    40
    16
    40
See reviews for
66
50
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I spent two nights at this hotel. The first night in one room which had so many problems with it including a leaky toilet, that they move me to another room without compensating me for my first night stay. The second room didn't even have all the same furnishings as the original room. The manager had to move the clock radio from the first room into the second so I would have a clock. On top of that the continental breakfast was inedible . The food was not appetizing, overcooked and just plain bad.

I will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is a good place to stay with out much decor. I wouldn't go for a romantic touristy weekend or anything like that, but it is perfectly acceptable for a sales trip or an on-the-road one or two nighter. The rooms are a bit dated, but large. The major deficiency that needs to get fixed is that they still have old bedspreads instead of the newer (and cleaner) bed skirts, blankets and sheets that get washed every stay. The TV's have excellent pictures and HBO. Our room had a refrigerator and microwave oven. The showers have pressure but not much adjustment between cold and hot. The entire first floor (of two) is non-smoking, but our room still smelled just a bit of smoke. They have a nightclub or something above the lobby that was quite loud when we checked in, but you couldn't hear anything in the rooms. The staff is very nice and accommodating.

This a large property with a presentable lobby and one of the best free breakfasts around. They offer scrambled eggs, very good cottage potatoes, a different meat every day, fresh mixed fruit, yogurt, juices, breads, rolls and bagels, and, of course waffles. The differences between this and other free breakfasts are that the food is pretty good, the breakfast room is large, they serve on china, silverware and cloth napkins, and they have a great secret weapon: a delightful and very hospitable lady in a nice uniform to seat you, prepare your coffee and waffles, and keep everything fresh.

Room Tip: Regular rooms appear to be smoking rooms. Be sure to specify the slightly more expensive non smokin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, NH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a quick stay here, the front desk was friendly, upgraded our twins to queen.
We skipped the free breakfast for the Pancake House down the street.
We had a pleasant enough stay in our room with the jacuzzi. Reasonable value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the Regency House for the night of my daughters birthday party (which they did a great job with). We were able to check in as soon as we arrived, the front desk attendant was so so she could have just been having a bad day. The room was clean, the bathroom was okay, the one down side was the tub, although it was a spa tub it was awkwardly feeling it slanted slightly and poor water pressure. It was great having a place to get ready in before the party and a place to stay after the party. I also have to say that the walls were well insulated. My daughter and her friends had the room next to ours they were up all night and I didn't hear a peep on my side of the wall. Check out was quick and easy the front desk attendant was pleasant. One more thing breakfast buffet was adequate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

got a great deal on a room last minute and am glad i found this hotel. arrived and left in the dark so maybe i missed something. desk staff were friendly, and competent. what i did see: a nice property (albeit a little dark in the rear parking lot). nice room, clean, comfortable bed with clean linens. nice bathroom. i don't know what all the remote comments are - i flipped the tv on, found the olympics, done - the channels changed just fine. if im in the area - i would stay here again given a good price. what i saw written on the card that hangs on the door of the room - i wouldn't pay - but for half that - i would again without much thought.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I normally consider Best Western Hotels a good option, they are always clean and accommodating. This time was not the case, however. We arrived after our check in time. We were assigned a room by a young man who gave us no directions on where to go, so we wondered around aimlessly looking for the elevator or signage. We finally had to ask the cleaning staff where to go.

The upstairs smelled like stale cigarettes. We got to our room which was dirty-linens all over the floor, garbage overflowing, gross. We went downstairs and informed the clerk of our discovery and he told us we would have to wait 10 mins for the cleaning staff to clean it, he could not just give us another room as we asked because we got our room on expedia, and they couldn't move us. We waited well over 15 mins, my boyfriend finally went to ask what was going on. There was a nice female clerk who asked the young guy we originally spoke with why he did not just give us another room? He said he was on the phone at the moment and couldn't respond.

We asked for towels that night that never came, we ended up having to go get them ourselves because they only keep ONE staff member on (not even CLEANING staff!) during evening/night. And they gave us the small floor towels and not the normal ones! They have nowhere to enjoy the grounds, other than the pool which closes at eight and they won't let you sit near after it closes. Unfortunately they gated the entire pool area in including all of the seating around it.

Our room smelled, was not clean, the guest service was awful, and I will never stay there again. By the way, expedia made the room out to be much nicer than it was and said it included accommodations it did not.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, request a first floor room because the entire floor in non smoking. Otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Regency House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Regency House Hotel

Address: 140 Route 23 North, Pompton Plains, NJ 07444 (Formerly Regency House Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Pompton Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pompton Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Regency House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, Unique, Inviting - Experience the New Best Western Plus Regency House. Surrounded by acres of tranquility, this full service hotel offers over 14,000 sq. Ft of meeting and banquet space providing the most modern facility and latest amenities. The hotel guestrooms with 32" flat panel TV, Micro-fridge, Alarm clock with CD player/ipod compatible, and Sealy Posturepedic pillow-top bedding in every guestroom; Swimming pool, Fitness center, Business center and Complimentary Hot and Cold breakfast are just our "Standards." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Regency House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Regency House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.