We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at the Amethyst ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amethyst Beach Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Point Pleasant Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amethyst Beach Motel
Save
You added Amethyst Beach Motel to your Saves list
202 Arnold Avenue, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Spotswood, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience at the Amethyst ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2006

Management was extremely helpful and kind. Room reasonably priced. Clean environment GREAT BREAKFAST. Would definitely spend New Year's there again.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    66
    21
    28
    35
See reviews for
163
34
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2005

My entire family, friends, and even co-workers all stayed at the Beach Motel the weekend of October 2, 2005 to celebrate my wedding. We must have had rented about 30 rooms total. Not one person had a complaint. We started booking rooms during their high season, the summer of 2005.Even though they were swamped, they always made time to help us, and were friendly. When the time came, and we arrived, there were no mistakes (amazingly) and everything went smoothly. And we were high maintenance. The staff even helped unload the car. They happily helped with extra's such as giving out gift bags. We brought some extra food to add to their continental breakfast (which was perfectly satisfactory all on its own). They stored everything for us, and layed out their regular breakfast, as well as all out extras each morning, always with a smile. And we were messy, too. Some of us even ended up in their very clean heated pool, which was still open.

As the bride, Theresa up-graded my room to a 2nd floor suite. It was lovely. It was clean, bright, cheerful, and had plenty of room for all the people that were in and out, as that room became everybodys home base. The other rooms were great, as well. I know because I was in almost all of them at one point or another. Every guest said they would and will stay there again. I know that my husband and I certainly will.

I have been going to the Jersey shore for 32 years, and this motel is far superior to any of the motels I have stayed in. Keep in mind, these are Motels, not Hotels. If you're looking for amneties that you'll find at the Ritz, mabye you should go to the islands. The Amythest Beach Motel has everything a Jersey girl (or couple, family, etc.) needs and more!
I can't thank them enough for making my wedding weekend perfect! They covered every detail.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston mass.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2005

I am very disappointed due to the fact their web site seems so nice but upon pulling up to the motel it looked kind of run down unkept but my wife convinced me to check in boy what a mistake the bathroom door would not close at all the dresser draws were broken a maze of eletrical wires hung from the ceiling area back to the bathroom there was fresh caulk covering old filthy grout mold on the shower curtain but wife said we would not be in room much anyway. The one nice thing was the so called late check out 6 pm well Istarted to get raedy a little early but knowing my wife had confimed 6 pm off to the boardwalk only to return around 3 pm to find our room pulled apart revealing terribly stained bed linens plus here is the kicker they had tossed our remaining packages and my wifes medication in the GARBAGE!. I was steaming suffice to say I will never stay or talk about the Amethyst again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Senior Managment at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this review, October 6, 2005
ISOLATED INCIDENT! WE ARE ALL OVER THESE ISSUES!

RENOVATIONS UNDERWAY!

We are a family run Jersey Shore Motel who experiences a tremendous amount of use over the summer months.
We take great pride in maintaining the building, grounds and rooms. The pictures speak for themselves; however we have begun a complete inspection of the entire hotel.
We would never allow the occupancy of any room with issues as mentioned in this review. We apologize for the mistakes housekeeping may have made and have taken immediate action to see to it this does not happen again. The 6pm checkout afforded many of our guests may have caused confusion with the staff leading to the room being treated as a checkout, we are so very sorry for this.

We hope this reviewer will contact us so that we may in some way address these issues as this is the first we have become aware.

As always we encourage anyone interested in visiting beautiful Point Pleasant beach, to call us, check out our websites, and certainly stop by and see first hand why we have so many more satisfied customer reviews.


Sincerely,

John & Theresa
Amethyst Management
rooms amethystresort please visit us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2005

the hotel IS NOT across from the beach as stated, the patio and pool area were very overcrowded, the staff were rude, except for housekeeping, they got us into our room, after being told by the front desk while making the reservation that we would be able to get in earlier, once there, they looked at us like we were crazy! There are other hotels in the area that are lower priced, cleaner and give you free passes to the beach! Stay here if you want to pay higher, enjoy having stale bagels and have a far walk to the beach (take the car)

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Senior Managment at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this review, September 2, 2005
ACCOMMODATING! POLITE! CONCERNED!

Dissatisfaction should be addressed during a stay so that a quick resolution to our customers’ satisfaction can be accomplished if and when possible.

The old adage you can’t keep everyone happy is certainly reflected in some of our reviews even though some things are out of our control, such as beach closures due to rough surfs which may have been the result of more families than usual enjoying the pool/patio as opposed to the beach.

Bagels and donuts are delivered daily at 6AM – no charge to our guests.

Our season is short and intense I believe we all try our best. Rudeness would never be acceptable and possibly could have been mistaken for overwhelming stress which our staff deals with daily, especially our front desk staff between checkout and check in times.

We try to check people in early if possible; maybe this was the mistake we made which justified in this reviewers mind making false and malicious statements. As always we encourage anyone interested in visiting beautiful Point Pleasant beach, to call us, check out our websites, and certainly stop by and see first hand why we have many more satisfied customer reviews.

Sincerely,

John & Theresa
Amethyst Management
rooms amethystresort please visit us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, NY
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2005

The rooms were clean enough. We had to ask for more TP twice, and when we arrived, the previous guests had left a whole drawer of clothes that the maid did not find. (don't they check all the drawers?) Also, I don't ever remember paying for parking at a hotel I was staying in, but we did here. $10 a day. Not a bad stay if you can't get anything closer to the beach. (2 loong blocks)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Senior Managment at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this review, September 1, 2005
JUST OK! IS NOT OK!, with us!

We would like every guest to have a great stay, however some times something may be overlooked, we pride ourselves in responding however there are times when we may not have met our guests expectations, for that we apologize.
Our location close to the central Boardwalk and Beach area requires us to maintain a supervised parking lot. We feel we have the best location of any motel in Point Pleasant Beach, Jenkinson Boardwalk, Beach, and Amusement Area, is down the street, across Silver Lake Park and Beach Band Shell. We are also just three blocks from Down Town Point Pleasant Beach shopping area and New Jersey Transit trains and busses.
For this reason we felt that making parking optional was equitable and fair to both our customer who vacation with cars or without cars.
Many of our guests who take multiple rooms arrive with only one car. In a desirable highly sought after location such as ours, motels and hotels find it necessary to charge for parking. We would have liked to provide parking free of charge however the high cost of maintaining the security of the lot in this busy location requires us to implement this charge.
Parking our main lot is not a requirement as there is free parking on all the streets surrounding the hotel, our guest have the option of parking on the streets adjacent to the hotel for free.

We welcome constructive feedback and would like to earn back your business. For those of you reading these reviews please do not be misled by others, check us out yourselves and make your own decsions.

Sincerely,

John & Theresa
Amethyst Management
Visit us at [--]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2005

I just cannot believe anyone thinks this place is any good. Indifferent staff, circa 1960 room, a door that barely closed and barely opened.

The room was clean but beyond that yikes.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Senior Managment at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 30, 2005
We have the best location of any motel in Point Pleasant Beach, overlooking Jenkinson Boardwalk, Beach, Amusement Area, across Silver Lake Park and Beach Band Shell. We are also just three blocks from Down Town Point Pleasant Beach shopping area and New Jersey Transit trains and busses.

We try our best to see that each and every guest has a great stay, however some times something may be overlooked, we pride ourselves in responding however there are times when we may not have met our guests expectations, for that we apologize.
Our location close to the central Boardwalk and Beach area requires us to maintain a supervised parking lot 24 hours a day, with valet parking on busy weekends, parking on the street is also available.

We welcome constructive feedback and assure each of our guests that their comfort is our main concern, we invite this individual and all of our guests to return and assure them that we will make every effort to provide them with a memorable stay in beautiful Point Pleasant Beach NJ.

Sincerely,

John & Theresa
Amethyst Management
[--] please visit us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2005

I just returned from the Amethyst after a three night stay with my husband and three small children. The room cost $149 a night for five of us and this included a continental breakfast which included donuts, bagels and beverages, perfect for the kids. The room was clean. I found the staff friendly. My kids loved the pool which was open in the evening and perfect for a swim after walking on the boardwalk. The hotel is close to the beach, about three blocks which is a short distance. I truly have nothing negative to say. It wasn't the Ritz, however, it was fine for the price. I would consider returning in the future. It is a good place to stay if you have small children.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amethyst Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Beach Motel

Address: 202 Arnold Avenue, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2012 RENOVATIONS TO ALL ROOMS COMPLETE, PICTURES COMING SOON. Amethyst's Beach Motel welcomes an opportunity to serve you this summer. The location is the best of any motel in Point Pleasant Beach, overlooking Jenkinson Boardwalk, Beach, Amusement Area, and directly across from Silver Lake Park and Point Beach Band Shell, Plenty of parking, walking distance to town and shopping area. We are only 20 miles from Six Flags New Jersey, Hurricane Harbor & Great Adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amethyst Beach Hotel Point Pleasant Beach
Amethyst Beach Point Pleasant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amethyst Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.