We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amethyst Beach Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Point Pleasant Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amethyst Beach Motel
Save
You added Amethyst Beach Motel to your Saves list
202 Arnold Avenue, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$20 off Deluxe Room
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
1 review
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just left the Amethyst Beach Motel and was pleased with the accommodations. Pricing

Was right and I have to say the new bedding was really very comfortable. Still prepping for

Summer so pool isn’t open yet but they tell me they are shooting for early May weather

permitting. Will try and get back then to take advantage of the less expensive rates and

get to enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    67
    21
    28
    35
See reviews for
164
34
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, mi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you are going to book this motel call and do not use the on-line reservation service. This motel is working with FEMA to help Sandy Hurricane victims which is very commendable; however, you can get cancelled at the last minute. This particular area of NJ has very few motel/hotels so finding housing at the last minute can pose a challenge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandtraveller, Owner at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Please understand that we as well as our current guests were severely impacted by Sandy, we have been restoring systems while doing our part to help our displaced neighbors and at the same time restoring our facility to a Summer place for customers such as yourself. We have effective immediately altered the online reservations to preclude reservations until April. We never anticipated so many displaced neighbors being with us this long.

Hoping you understand and forgive our oversight and the inconvenience it caused you.

Amethyst Beach Motel,
In the Heart of Point Pleasant Beach NJ
John, Theresa and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Township, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

thanks amethys for coming thru in a time of need. my family and i were miss placed by hurricane sandy and had no where to go. i called numerous motels and to no avail all were booked. last but not least i called the amethys and they had 1 room available. when my family and i arrived the staff was very nice and they were having some kind of family party they invited us to join, there was lots of food and music with alot of friendly faces. it was a good way to start a day that was devistating at first i must say. the room was clean and bright with a kitchenette and 2 mini fridges. i really enjoyed my stay under the circumstances. thank you amethys beach and staff. i would recommend this motel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have stayed at the Amethyst Motel before, and when planning a fall weekend at the beach, we didn't hesitate to book again. Staff was extremely helpful and attentive. While the Motel is definitely showing its age, it seems that everything is done to make your stay pleasureable. My only complaint is that the complimentary breakfast wasn't available-only coffee was served. Location is great. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Booked my post season reservation the day before. The room that Laura suggested was perfect for my husband and myself. Bathroom was clean, lighting was great for a motel and I really appreciated the large full length mirror in the deluxe two queen bedroom. The pool was still open and my husband loved the 9 foot deep end with diving board. The location was just perfect being only a short walk to the boardwalk. There are also nice places to eat along Arnold Avenue. My only complaint is that I would have liked some complimentary shampoo in the bathroom. The shower was good with plenty of hot water. Television was dated but perfect reception. After driving through the area and seeing the rest of what Point Pleasant Beach has to offer, I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay in PPB, then try the Amethyst Beach Motel.

First of all, it is perfectly located for all activities and it is on the main road leading into PPB (Arnold Avenue). The motel is at the end of the main parking lot so we walked to the beach every day and then back to the boardwalk every night. Our favorite restaurants were a mile away from the motel, accessible without having to endure the traffic by the boardwalk.

Secondly, it is a great family hotel. My kids loved the heated pool and we loved sitting at the tables at the outdoor patio. It was never noisy, except for the giggles of kids having a great time!

Lastly, and one of the main reasons we liked this motel, is that they treated us like family. The owner Theresa was always talking with us, and asking if we needed anything. By the end of the vacation, she knew all of our names... where do you get such a personalized experience with any business? The office was available for any of our needs at a moments notice. From providing us with a hairdryer because my wife forgot ours at home to toilet paper in the middle of the night! They were there to make our vacation extra special.

Thank you Amethyst for a great vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandtraveller, Owner at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thanks for the review!

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us in beautiful family friendly Point Pleasant Beach. I know our staff appreciates your positive comments as does the entire family.

It is great to see our guests enjoying our pool patio and barbeque area, however as summer is drawing to a close we are bit saddened that we will have a long winter before we will see many of you again.

Thanks so much for making this summer a wonderful experience for entire staff.

We look forward to your return and the opportunity to host another visit to Amethyst and beautiful Point Pleasant Beach NJ.

Sincerely, Amethyst Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Loved this place.  First time I stayed here.  Staff is awesome.  Pool is warm and beautiful.  Location is amazing.  Lunch and dinner walking distance in town.  Tiki bar and Jenkinsons Club perfect for cocktails in the evening with a short walk back to hotel.  Booked my vacation for next year because after talking with staff and owners I understand they will continue to add to upgrades and changes which will surely make it difficult to get reservations. 
DONNA

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandtraveller, Owner at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thanks so much for the review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us in beautiful family friendly Point Pleasant Beach.

The Amethyst is located in the heart of Point Pleasant Beach and its wonderfully intimate boardwalk, downtown culinary corner eateries and antique center.

We are proud of the safe and family oriented community which is Point Pleasant Beach. You will find Point and the Amethyst will welcome you with that traditional Jersey Shore hospitality, (Not to be confused in any way the TV show).

We look forward to your return and the opportunity to host another visit to Amethyst and beautiful Point Pleasant Beach NJ.

Sincerely, Amethyst Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amethyst Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Beach Motel

Address: 202 Arnold Avenue, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2012 RENOVATIONS TO ALL ROOMS COMPLETE, PICTURES COMING SOON. Amethyst's Beach Motel welcomes an opportunity to serve you this summer. The location is the best of any motel in Point Pleasant Beach, overlooking Jenkinson Boardwalk, Beach, Amusement Area, and directly across from Silver Lake Park and Point Beach Band Shell, Plenty of parking, walking distance to town and shopping area. We are only 20 miles from Six Flags New Jersey, Hurricane Harbor & Great Adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amethyst Beach Hotel Point Pleasant Beach
Amethyst Beach Point Pleasant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amethyst Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.