We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, in midst of re-model” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn Point Pleasant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Red Carpet Inn Point Pleasant to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn Point Pleasant
1609 Bay Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742 (Formerly Cove Point Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Poipu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OK, in midst of re-model”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is an easy to find hotel with a pool and helpful staff. The room was comfortable but in need of repairs and updating, which I suspect will be done as part of the re-model. Reasonable price for what you get. The pool was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    1
    3
    17
See reviews for
10
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrison, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start?! Please do not stay here. Place needs to be condemned. Not fit for humans or animals! I booked through a hotel hotline and this was only available at last minute so I took it. I SHOULD HAVE CHECKED WITH TA FIRST! Drove in and had only 3 cars in lot. Place was empty, now I know why. Office was tiny, smelled of curry and had an Indian gentleman, still don't know his name because when he said it I couldn't understand it. I tried to be optimistic. Got the key to room 1. Suffering heat, smelly, scary I ran out and asked for different room. Room 2. Stifling hot. The AC was turned on and blew warm air with debris coming out. Again, bad odors, moldy, mildew, bugs, filthy. After 4 minutes I had to leave and get fresh air. Honestly, the room wasn't habitable for my 4 year old who suffers highly from these allergies/asthma which he has been hospitalized. I was so emotional upset that I got sick. I checked out immediately! Enough about me. The people who own/run this place do not seem to care or put any effort into this property. Chips, cracks, stains, filth, disrepair. Pool was cloudy with dirt and bugs, unattractive. Sorry I have do not anything positive to say. I am still trying to get my money back. Then I will take it up with their mother company, Best Western and the BBB.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Point Pleasant Beach hotels

Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I booked in advance and the price was lowest compared to nearby hotels. room were neat and clean. Staff, Ray, was very helpful and courteous. Hotel was close to beach and me and my family enjoyed boardwalk, beach and 2 nights in Red Carpet Inn.

Room Tip: Book in advance and ask for Efficency or Delux rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival the inn looked like it could be nice. Then you walk into the rooms. I was instantly hit with the smell of mildew and mold. The room was disgustingly dirty. The "kitchen" was a sink, moldy refridgerator, and dirty microwave. The beds were even dingier with burn holes in everything. When we went to take showers the water came out brown, and no matter how long we tried to run it, it stayed brown. The most disturbing part of the stay, was while we checked the rooms for our belongings as we checked out, we noticed all the rat feces under the beds. Spend some extra cash and go elsewhere. This place should be shut down.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ok, So I stayed here for 1 night. The place was gross, mold in the bathroom all over the shower doors and the tub. The kitchen was gross, it looked like it had never been cleaned. There was mold in the fridge...EW! I hear that the owner of this place is the same owner of Mariners Cove too on Point Pleasant Beach, I stayed there too once w/ friends and that place was the same way. Whats funny is Hurricane Sandy just hit the Jersey Shore and I drove by the motel and they had all the blankets and sheets out there drying on the pool fence, i guess they are saving all the flood damaged stuff too, all the other motels had carpets, dressers, TV's out to the curb this place had nothing out to the curb...these owners are horrible...they need to be shut down. Oh and both places smelled like curry and both pools were dingy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Under most circumstances, this place would be considered pretty dumpy.
However, having stayed at several hotels near the Jersey Shore - this one ranks pretty high for the price.

Pros
- Not on the main roads and a walk to the beach
- Staff is pretty cool
- Some rooms have kitchenettes
- Most have fridges
- Some rooms are being remodeled
- Small pool
- New bath tub refitting in some rooms
- Good for the price
- Most rooms are pretty decent sized

Cons
- Rooms need some serious cleaning
- Musty smell throughout
- Towels are thin, small & rough
- Pillows are about 2" thick
- Furniture needs to be tossed out and start all over - new chairs, tables and definitely couches
- Some internal doors are in pretty rough shape
- Regular price per room during the summer hereis $22;9 which is standard for a Hilton in Chicago, or a Marriott Courtyard in Miami -- not a dive motel in Jersey.
- Shower came out like a fire hose (cone of spray was about 5" diameter
- Still on the "physical key" system - and only ONE issued per room (this was one of the MOST frustrating issues)

Suggestions
- Find some discount furniture store to refresh the place
- Invest in thicker towels - Overstock.com
- I have a feeling that if they invested a few $K in this place, that people would treat it better.
- Need to do regular maintenance (pool, parking lots, etc....)
- Don't be afraid to call the cops or kick-out the riff-raff when they start acting badly
- Staff was nice enough, but didn't seem to care about the property at all

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

. in a boring nothing town is a depressing disgusting demoralizing dirty dump where insult follows injury and misery is normal, where the worst of degenerate subhuman slime inhabit every room of this snake pit on Bay avenue, complete with disease, drugs, bedbugs, horrific noise and filth of every kind. this property should be condemned and burned down.

Room Tip: stay far away from this horror
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn Point Pleasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn Point Pleasant

Address: 1609 Bay Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742 (Formerly Cove Point Motel)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Carpet Inn Point Pleasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Point Hotel Point Pleasant Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn Point Pleasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.