We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVERpriced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Point Pleasant Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
Save
You added White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
1205 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OVERpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

The Whites Sands is ok but very overpriced. It was obvious the rooms were not tended. On our arrival, we walked into our room to find about a 1/2 inch of water in the bathroom running into the bedroom. Apparently the cheap plastic plumbing had come disconnected. Now, freak accidents do happen but what upset me was when I calmly went across the street to the lobby to tell them and ask for another room, the staff acted bothered. You would think that given the circumstance they'd at least be polite if not apologetic. Real low class staff. Avoid this place.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    145
    81
    39
    82
See reviews for
245
81
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah, NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2007

We decided to take a spur of the moment 3 day family getaway. The White Sands is charming and clean. My kids loved the indoor pool. The staff always greeted us and talked to the kids. There was a lot to do at this time of the year. I thought everything would be closed. I can't wait to go back in the summer to stay at their oceanside location. They even helped us find a place that delivered food at 12:45am. Also my husband was feeling queazy and they opened the store at 3:00am.

  • Liked — We had adjoining rooms and the kids felt like grown ups, but I could keep my eye on them.
  • Disliked — No overnight food service.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0667115
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

I stayed at the White Sands for the first time this past summer and I cant understand why people have such a bad review of this place. I was treated nicely from the time I made the reseration to the time i checked out.
I took my children age 12 and 8 to the resort and we had a good time enjoying the pools and the beach. The staff was very nice and always went out of thier way to make sure we were happy.
We definately took advantage of the kids eat free stay free package and we could not of been more happier in our decisions. The hotel even had daily activities for the children to participate in.
The only thing that needs a little help is the complementary breakfast but other then that the staff was amazing and the entertainment was great.
We already made reservations for this summer and we are all excited to go.

  • Liked — The service and the attention and activities that were provided for the kids
  • Disliked — the breakfast but it is not that bad
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

This was a vey unpleasent stay.. From the initial reservation done over phone>> ( which never gave us discount for baptism.. )and since we brought only cash room was paid for we had a very embarrasing incident with us depositing 50.00 for ammenities>> I'm not sure what they were... There is no mini bar.. With the exception of Meghan at front desk.. all other staff were rude and insolent .. Jennifer might need further training for customer service skills...I suggest perhaps back office duties NO ONE smile except Meghan,,,. Christina who was never around ( out front) said Jennifer's behaviour was fine.. I don't think rolling your eyes at customers ok. She might need further management training...The old adage "the customer is always right "... Does not seem to apply here.. Our room was blocked ( very SMALL hall) by 3 cleaning carts and it was 3:00 pm WE had to move all carts to end of hall to get to our room which was nicely located next to utility closet..then let some know to move them as they blocked a fire exit.. Keys kept getting de magnitized.. hummm even whe they were in room on desk.. Of course continental breakfast was ended at 9;00 per front desk staff.. Thought brochure said 10..Just a word of advice..A clients perceptions ARE their reality.. and you only get 1 chance to make a good impression... with this much negative response a smart owner would do some spot checking.. I will say that the Baptisim luncheon was very well done..

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2007

This place is the pits. They should be ashamed to call themselves a luxury resort. The person who does their advertising for their brochure should be put in jail for false advertisement. I stayed here with my family and some of my friends and their families. Two hours into the trip we searched all of pt pleasant for another place to stay, unfortunately the everything was booked. This hotel should be closed down. The rooms are disgusting, moldy and have bugs crawling in them. their was garbage under the furniture, left by previous occupants.the service was the worst and the staff was so rude and should all be fired. PLEASE, if you and your family are thinking about staying here, DON'T do it. This place is over $300 a night and by far is the must UTTERLY DISGUSTING hotel that my family has ever stayed at. DON'T throw your money away, you are better off donating it to charity.

  • Liked — ABSOLUTELY NOTHING
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArchitectMan, Owner, Manager at White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2007
There is nothing about this review that is accurate! There is not now, nor has there ever been bugs in our rooms. We have a very beautiful facility. Our staff is friendly and accomodating. I wonder why this "guest" is writing a review about a stay they might have had in '05! Rest Assured, You will NOT be disappointed with your stay at the White Sands Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

It's a little old, but very well done, room was large & clean, staff was nice - haven't been to the Shore for a long time and it was not in season - but we had no complaints

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

Visiting Point Pleasant/Bay Head is great getaway but our stay at The White Sands is one of the worst travel experiences ever. Unfortunately, I failed to read the previous reviews before booking. And, it appears from the past reviews, service has only gotten worse. Our experience was very similar to “travelerc” posted in September. The staff and management is horrible and obnoxious. During our stay, there was a loud wedding reception that ended at 10:00pm and, unfortunately, the drunk and noisy party moved to the third floor guest rooms and continued until 2:30 AM. Despite repeated calls to the front desk, our pleas to quiet the party down were rebuffed. One person at the front desk even went so far as to declare that we should not have brought our 4 year old and 6 year old to the hotel “if they were so sensitive to the noise” and promptly hung up. Mind you, this was their weekend promotion to bring children along. In the morning, the front desk was no more helpful nor apologetic. Separately, they promote a continental breakfast but in reality it was a sham that was shoved in a lobby stand-up bar. Both the coffee machine and juice dispenser were broke and the “pastries” were stale day-old donut holes. The staff neither cared nor were willing to fix the problem.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Address: 1205 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently along the New Jersey Shore. Our Resort is set on a beautiful, private stretch on Point Pleasant Beach. Our Hotel Spa is steps away located across the street; both are just minutes away from many shore attractions. Enjoy all the comforts of home with the added amenities of a full service spa, a state-of-the-art gym, a heated indoor pool and more! Run your meeting efficiently in the comfort of our fully-equipped conference room. After a full day of meetings, any business traveler will feel at home with access to our gym, spa and swimming facilities. Our banquet facilities provide the perfect backdrop for your wedding or special occasion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Sands Oceanfront Resort And Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Hotel Point Pleasant Beach
White Sands Hotel Point Pleasant Nj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.