We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Time at the White Sands- The Good and Not-So-Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Point Pleasant Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
Save Saved
You added White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
1205 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Fall is the Best season!
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“3rd Time at the White Sands- The Good and Not-So-Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed at the White Sands with my husband and 7 year-old son for the third time. The reason we come back here is for the great location. It is right on a great stretch of beach. Also, there are two pools right off the beach that are heated. My son really enjoyed swimming in them. As for the rooms, they are nothing fancy. It is basically motel-style rooms. You are paying for the location, not for the rooms themselves.

What we were most disappointed in was the beachside cafe. It had changed hands since last summer. Both the food and service have gone way down. The girls who work at the take-out window are absolutely rude and incompetent. Hopefully, this issue will be resolved, because we really do enjoy staying at this location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    129
    64
    32
    78
See reviews for
214
64
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I am visiting my brother and his family from out of town and wanted to spend one night at the shore. We decided on Point Pleasant, NJ because we had never been there. I was very impressed when I saw the White Sands Resort and Spa website and was equally impressed when I checked in. Due to an early arrival, my room wasn't ready until 3:00 p.m., but for $313.00 a night, I wasn't worried because the hotel lobby is beautiful. HOWEVER, when coming back after 3:00 p.m. to check in, I was told that my room was across the street at the "OTHER" hotel. Apparently there are 3 hotels in all for this resort. The two dumpy hotels are across the street and boast a "oceanfront" room for $273.00 a night + taxes = $313.00 total. Let me tell you what I got for this amount of money. A room with a view of a wall, torn drapes (looks like someone burned a hole in them) and a very strong smell of disinfectant. When the disinfectant wore off, the smell of vomit permeated the room. When I told the desk clerk about my experience, she shrugged her shoulders and said, "I can give you a comment card to fill out." I would not waste your money staying at this hotel EVER. Please tell your family and friends that this place tries to reel you in with beautiful pictures and boasts of a "SPA" when indeed, the two hotels that most likely everyone occupies are complete disasters. I would have rather taken the $300 and put it down the drain. That's what I feel like I did with booking a room at the "White Sands Resort and Spa".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here with my wife and son on July 30, 2012. Place is a complete dump and rip off. Rooms are disgusting. I have attached photos of the bathroom just to give you an idea. You can imagine what everything else looks like. We were charged more for the room than what was advertised online. They would not reimburse us the difference. SCAM!!! Pool area is old and gross. Food SUCKS!!!!! Not to mention I was charged for a glass of tap water after I purchased 6 bottles of water! Front desk is rude. Huge disappointment. I will never stay here again and will make it a point to inform as many people as i can about our horrible experience at this dump.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just made reservations for the seafood fest at the Windswept. Last year I booked the white sands online at a resonable rate. When I checked out they charged me more than double. When I questioned it they said that the online print out was only for one night. Not so because their policy is paid in full. This was a mistake on their part with their website. I paid for it. AND WILL NEVER STAY THERE OR SAY ANYTHING GOOD ABOUT THAT PLACE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Dont Stay at the White Sands!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I called to try and make a reservation and was told there were no room left. I went online and saw that I could make reservations so I called back and told the girl that there were rooms online that I could book...she told me that if I booked it online that room wouldn't really be mine because they were fully booked. I took my chances and reserved a room and paid it in full. We went to check in and the manager was the one helping me. I told her what had happened and she gave us a free upgrade...from 1 king on the resort (ocean side) to 2 kings in the hotel side with an ocean view. I thought this was very nice of her and she must have apologized 5 times. The room was nice, AC worked great, hot water and there was some mold on the tiles.

The breakfast place really went down hill....the girls working there were slow, had major attitudes and the food was crappy...

The location is perfect, it is right on the ocean and the pools right next to the ocean are just perfect. I guess they charge so much because of the location, maybe they will make some upgrades over the winter!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the hotel side are much nicer than the ones on the resort (ocean side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here a few times and each time was wonderful. The rooms were nice but the sheets needed to be changed. Room keys failed to work after the third day. No problem staff brought another let right out. I like that the pools and the beach are real. Lost to our rooms. Nice family vacation spot.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

When I arrived I thought it was another motel type, but surprise surprise surprise. This ocean front resort has everything you could possibly want. Our grand daughter was married here, and the place was great, food and service wonderful. I would reccomend this for anyone any body who wants a fabulous time or vacation spot.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Address: 1205 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently along the New Jersey Shore. Our Resort is set on a beautiful, private stretch on Point Pleasant Beach. Our Hotel Spa is steps away located across the street; both are just minutes away from many shore attractions. Enjoy all the comforts of home with the added amenities of a full service spa, a state-of-the-art gym, a heated indoor pool and more! Run your meeting efficiently in the comfort of our fully-equipped conference room. After a full day of meetings, any business traveler will feel at home with access to our gym, spa and swimming facilities. Our banquet facilities provide the perfect backdrop for your wedding or special occasion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Sands Oceanfront Hotel Point Pleasant Beach
White Sands Oceanfront Resort And Spa
White Sands Hotel Point Pleasant Nj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.