We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soggy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Taco

Surf Taco
1300 Richmond Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742-3053
732-701-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Soggy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The food was soggy and wasn't fresh at all. Tacos didn't have much meat in them. It was not a good experience at all.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millstone
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just ok....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

It was truly just ok, atmosphere feels like a surf shop, no frills, no high prices and slightly better than Taco Bell

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stopped in for lunch on our way to Cape May so I could relive my youth. My family spent four summers in Point Pleasant in the 1960's. We thought Surf Taco was a great lunch. My wife had fluke and I had cod. Both were good. The atmosphere is very casual but what else would you expect from an eatery near the beach called "Surf Taco"? Good food and good service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick NJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Miss Tex Mex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is not San Antonio Tex-Mex but it holds me until I can get there. Fresh and tasty. Good variety and lots of salsas.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“C'mon who doesnt love surf taco????”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great Concept, great food. Always an unlimited salsa bar ~ chips come with each meal! Splurge and get the rice and beans yum!! Even have shakes, young and old love this place!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Taco also viewed

Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
 
Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Surf Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.