We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Point Pleasant Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Motel
1414 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Any thursday 170.00
Highland Falls, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We rented 2 rooms over Labor Day weekend. We were hesitant to book a room in Point Pleasant because we knew the prices would be high for a holiday weekend. We were also worried about what the weather might be. It turned out to be perfect weather for the duration of our stay and just a little overcast/windy upon checking out on Monday.
We arrived to Point Pleasant around noon. The hotel immediately gave us parking passes for their lot and welcomed us to use the pool and beach while waiting for our rooms to be ready. This was so convenient, especially after a long drive with kids (and grandpa!) in the car. We all needed to stretch our legs and were eager to get our toes in the water.
Our rooms were ready by 1pm!
The first thing i noticed about the room was the seemingly fresh coat of paint on the walls. It was obvious the buildings were kind of old, but very well kept. There wasn't any kind of odor. Typically at these beach front motels the rooms can be damp and musty. This room wasn't musty at all. I also checked out our second room, with the same results.
The only thing a little confusing about the room I stayed in was the way the mini fridge was plugged in (extension cord.. and only worked when a light switch was in the ON position). We kept accidentally shutting the fridge off. This wasn't a disaster but we did have some milk and other perishables in there.
The room I stayed in had two double beds and a twin bed... perfect for the two mommies and 2 small kids sharing the room. The other room had two double beds (grandpa and the oldest boy stayed there). Both rooms had a nice sized changing area/closet. The only thing I would have changed about it would be to add some more electrical outlets.
The linens were fresh and clean. We asked for extra towels and received them immediately. Also the 2nd room had an issue with the TV that was quickly resolved.
The private beach had lifeguards (unlike the two bordering beaches). The outdoor pool was sparkling clean. The patio was well kept with ample room for several families to dine.
The snack bar was convenient and the guys cooking the food were absolutely wonderful. The prices at the snack bar are a lot lower than on the boardwalk (almost half the price).
The boardwalk was a few blocks away. It's not a bad walk but for really little kids or older folks (grandparents), it isn't an easy trek. Parking at the boardwalk is very high (up to $40/day).
The staff at the Driftwood were exceptional. They went above and beyond to accommodate our every need (extra towels, taxi, pizza recommendation, burnt light bulbs etc were all promptly handled with a smile).
This place was outstanding!I would recommend The Driftwood Motel to anyone in a heart beat!

Room Tip: At this place, just ask and you shall receive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    31
    14
    7
    10
See reviews for
69
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scranton PA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed 3 nights 8/26 - 8/28. Loved the patio for breakfast, lunch, and even a moonlight cocktail. Its like a "little resort". You only have to leave to eat dinner. Walked to the boardwalk and restaurants. Rooms very clean, easy access to beach. Everyone, guests and employees, were very friendly. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our family [grandparents, children and their families] 11 of us, always go somewhere as a family. This year we picked Pt Pleasant to enjoy the beach, boardwalk, enjoying good food . The driftwood motel is very family friendly. We[ the grandparents] had a room overlooking the beach and the inground heated pool. It was beautiful. They have a snack bar where we can all sit at and enjoy the beautiful view and the sound of the ocean. The management and staff are all very friendly and accomadating. We are ready to book fo next year.

Room Tip: the rooms with a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, NJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just spent 2 nights at the shore, at the Driftwood, and it was a great stay. It is family friendly, clean, with a private beach and a great pool area. This is the second summer for a couple of nights there, and we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haverstraw, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We just returned from our 4 day/3 night stay at the Driftwood and we had a great time. My hubby went here every year as a kid with his family and loved it so i figured we'd give it a try. It was perfect for me, my hubby and our 2 year old little girl, she had a blast (as did we)! The rooms aren't the Hilton but they are clean. comfy and the hotel staff are great. The private beach is fantastic, the pool is perfect and the snack shack has great coffee so i was ok with there not being a coffee maker in the room, I went down every morning and drank my coffee looking over the ocean!! We walked to the Boardwalk and back everynight (about a 10 minute walk). Sam and Lou at the front desk where great, they suggested Frankies to eat, it was delicious. Also we ate at Shrimp box another night and that was also delicious. Great time and we will be returning next year :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam Valley, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I am heading down to the Driftwood in 2 days for the 9th or 10th time with my extended family. We keep coming back for the private beach and pool, the great family atmosphere and the close proximity to the Boardwalk. Many of the negative comments in these reviews have some validity (outdated rooms, musty odor at times, insufficient electrical outlets, non-functioning wifi), but careful packing/planning can help with some: A surge suppressor or power strip, 4-cup coffee maker (if you wont wait till 8a when Anthony opens the snack bar), Cloth bath mat, extra hangers, folding drying rack. Good walking shoes. Three years ago my Dad and I were ready to pack the car for the trip home when I thought I discovered 4 flat tires! Not so said Dad...the tires looked that way because I had not moved the car from the same spot for the full 7 days. (Thus solving the poor parking problem). We walked to the Boardwalk and/or restaurants everyday, we walked South to the 7-11 (less than 1/2 mi) for Milk, Bread or snacks. This is one of the best values on the Jersey shore.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were there last summer as a family and just spent our 30th wedding aniversary there. We had the ocean view king room. It was clean and comfortable. We are going back next month for our family vacation. The snack bar is great for breakfast and lunch. Pool and grounds are kept clean. Great quiet beach right out your door. Staff is very polite and helpful. Parking is cramped and can be tough to park a big truck.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Driftwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Motel

Address: 1414 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DRIFTWOOD MOTEL is located dirctly on a Private Beach with a snack bar and heat pool call for daily specials ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Point Pleasant Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Driftwood Motel to your Saves list