We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Point Pleasant Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Motel
Save
You added Driftwood Motel to your Saves list
1414 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742   |  
Hotel amenities
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great family getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our family [grandparents, children and their families] 11 of us, always go somewhere as a family. This year we picked Pt Pleasant to enjoy the beach, boardwalk, enjoying good food . The driftwood motel is very family friendly. We[ the grandparents] had a room overlooking the beach and the inground heated pool. It was beautiful. They have a snack bar where we can all sit at and enjoy the beautiful view and the sound of the ocean. The management and staff are all very friendly and accomadating. We are ready to book fo next year.

Room Tip: the rooms with a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    35
    15
    7
    12
See reviews for
79
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwood, NJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just spent 2 nights at the shore, at the Driftwood, and it was a great stay. It is family friendly, clean, with a private beach and a great pool area. This is the second summer for a couple of nights there, and we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haverstraw, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We just returned from our 4 day/3 night stay at the Driftwood and we had a great time. My hubby went here every year as a kid with his family and loved it so i figured we'd give it a try. It was perfect for me, my hubby and our 2 year old little girl, she had a blast (as did we)! The rooms aren't the Hilton but they are clean. comfy and the hotel staff are great. The private beach is fantastic, the pool is perfect and the snack shack has great coffee so i was ok with there not being a coffee maker in the room, I went down every morning and drank my coffee looking over the ocean!! We walked to the Boardwalk and back everynight (about a 10 minute walk). Sam and Lou at the front desk where great, they suggested Frankies to eat, it was delicious. Also we ate at Shrimp box another night and that was also delicious. Great time and we will be returning next year :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam Valley, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I am heading down to the Driftwood in 2 days for the 9th or 10th time with my extended family. We keep coming back for the private beach and pool, the great family atmosphere and the close proximity to the Boardwalk. Many of the negative comments in these reviews have some validity (outdated rooms, musty odor at times, insufficient electrical outlets, non-functioning wifi), but careful packing/planning can help with some: A surge suppressor or power strip, 4-cup coffee maker (if you wont wait till 8a when Anthony opens the snack bar), Cloth bath mat, extra hangers, folding drying rack. Good walking shoes. Three years ago my Dad and I were ready to pack the car for the trip home when I thought I discovered 4 flat tires! Not so said Dad...the tires looked that way because I had not moved the car from the same spot for the full 7 days. (Thus solving the poor parking problem). We walked to the Boardwalk and/or restaurants everyday, we walked South to the 7-11 (less than 1/2 mi) for Milk, Bread or snacks. This is one of the best values on the Jersey shore.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were there last summer as a family and just spent our 30th wedding aniversary there. We had the ocean view king room. It was clean and comfortable. We are going back next month for our family vacation. The snack bar is great for breakfast and lunch. Pool and grounds are kept clean. Great quiet beach right out your door. Staff is very polite and helpful. Parking is cramped and can be tough to park a big truck.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have been going to this place for years but this is the final and last time we will go there. The place is run down and nothing has changed through the years. The sister runs the hotel and walks around smoking cigarettes all day, sitting at the pool with you wtih one black, one blue sock and no shoes on - sweat pants on a hot summer day! She always looks like something the cat dragged in! She shocks the pool daily at 3 pm so if you are in it, you will have to get out at a prime time and wait a long time to go back in! The elderly people don't really the fact that you might drink a few beers at the pool nor do the care for your music very much! They prefer to sit quietly and read their books and they will definitely run to the managers office to complain very easily! The bathrooms also close at 3 pm so if you are sitting at the pool and need to go the bathroom, you have to trek all the way back to your room. The sister ruins everything about this place and we have no intentions of ever going there again. They also don't clean the rooms or sheets for hours. I find the entire place revolting. There are many other nicer hotels closer to town and the boardwalk where you don't even need a car. The place is a dive and the owners are too afraid to talk to you - they make the sister do their dirty work!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

What a BLAST ! The Driftwood is the ONLY hotel we stay at when we visit the shore. We have been going here for almost ten years ! The staff is very friendly and like family to each other. The rooms are always clean and if we need towels or anything they are very prompt to bring them. We love the pool and its right on the ocean, so the views are incredible. Especially at sunset. Only a few blocks from the boardwalk. The kids LOVE IT HERE ! Definetly a FAMILY ATMOSPHERE !

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are beautiful ! The pool is great for the kids. And the snack bar serves up yummy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Motel

Address: 1414 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Location: United States > New Jersey > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DRIFTWOOD MOTEL is located dirctly on a Private Beach with a snack bar and heat pool call for daily specials ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Point Pleasant Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.