We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Point Pleasant Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Motel
Save Saved
You added Driftwood Motel to your Saves list
1414 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742   |  
Hotel amenities
Putnam Valley, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I am heading down to the Driftwood in 2 days for the 9th or 10th time with my extended family. We keep coming back for the private beach and pool, the great family atmosphere and the close proximity to the Boardwalk. Many of the negative comments in these reviews have some validity (outdated rooms, musty odor at times, insufficient electrical outlets, non-functioning wifi), but careful packing/planning can help with some: A surge suppressor or power strip, 4-cup coffee maker (if you wont wait till 8a when Anthony opens the snack bar), Cloth bath mat, extra hangers, folding drying rack. Good walking shoes. Three years ago my Dad and I were ready to pack the car for the trip home when I thought I discovered 4 flat tires! Not so said Dad...the tires looked that way because I had not moved the car from the same spot for the full 7 days. (Thus solving the poor parking problem). We walked to the Boardwalk and/or restaurants everyday, we walked South to the 7-11 (less than 1/2 mi) for Milk, Bread or snacks. This is one of the best values on the Jersey shore.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    35
    15
    7
    12
See reviews for
79
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were there last summer as a family and just spent our 30th wedding aniversary there. We had the ocean view king room. It was clean and comfortable. We are going back next month for our family vacation. The snack bar is great for breakfast and lunch. Pool and grounds are kept clean. Great quiet beach right out your door. Staff is very polite and helpful. Parking is cramped and can be tough to park a big truck.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have been going to this place for years but this is the final and last time we will go there. The place is run down and nothing has changed through the years. The sister runs the hotel and walks around smoking cigarettes all day, sitting at the pool with you wtih one black, one blue sock and no shoes on - sweat pants on a hot summer day! She always looks like something the cat dragged in! She shocks the pool daily at 3 pm so if you are in it, you will have to get out at a prime time and wait a long time to go back in! The elderly people don't really the fact that you might drink a few beers at the pool nor do the care for your music very much! They prefer to sit quietly and read their books and they will definitely run to the managers office to complain very easily! The bathrooms also close at 3 pm so if you are sitting at the pool and need to go the bathroom, you have to trek all the way back to your room. The sister ruins everything about this place and we have no intentions of ever going there again. They also don't clean the rooms or sheets for hours. I find the entire place revolting. There are many other nicer hotels closer to town and the boardwalk where you don't even need a car. The place is a dive and the owners are too afraid to talk to you - they make the sister do their dirty work!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

What a BLAST ! The Driftwood is the ONLY hotel we stay at when we visit the shore. We have been going here for almost ten years ! The staff is very friendly and like family to each other. The rooms are always clean and if we need towels or anything they are very prompt to bring them. We love the pool and its right on the ocean, so the views are incredible. Especially at sunset. Only a few blocks from the boardwalk. The kids LOVE IT HERE ! Definetly a FAMILY ATMOSPHERE !

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are beautiful ! The pool is great for the kids. And the snack bar serves up yummy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

the experience was great from the atmosphere to the people. whether youre going for a weekend getaway or an extended visit to the shore, the driftwood is most definitely where to stay. the pool, private beach, cozy rooms & being within walking distance to a lot of places made it even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I vacation at the Jersey Shore every year and wouldn't stay anywhere other than the Driftwood. There is always someone on staff for your every need or guidance on where to eat, drink or shop. Right outside your door is a pool, snack bar, and a private beach. There is nothing left to need. If you have a problem, let them know and they will resolve it!
I will continue to return every year!

Room Tip: balcony overlooking the ocean, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I booked a room w 1 king bed ocean view 4 weeks in advance for a romantic weekend away w my husband.
We were given a room w 2 full sized beds w a parking lot view.
Linens were stained and ripped. Carpet filthy w gum stuck to it. Room smelled filthy and beds were uncomfortable. Towels had hair on them!
When we complained about the condition and room mix up staff was complacent.
Rip off!!! Horrible service!! Filthy!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Motel

Address: 1414 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Location: United States > New Jersey > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DRIFTWOOD MOTEL is located dirctly on a Private Beach with a snack bar and heat pool call for daily specials ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Point Pleasant Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.