We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Point Pleasant Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Motel
1414 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742   |  
Hotel amenities
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have been going to this place for years but this is the final and last time we will go there. The place is run down and nothing has changed through the years. The sister runs the hotel and walks around smoking cigarettes all day, sitting at the pool with you wtih one black, one blue sock and no shoes on - sweat pants on a hot summer day! She always looks like something the cat dragged in! She shocks the pool daily at 3 pm so if you are in it, you will have to get out at a prime time and wait a long time to go back in! The elderly people don't really the fact that you might drink a few beers at the pool nor do the care for your music very much! They prefer to sit quietly and read their books and they will definitely run to the managers office to complain very easily! The bathrooms also close at 3 pm so if you are sitting at the pool and need to go the bathroom, you have to trek all the way back to your room. The sister ruins everything about this place and we have no intentions of ever going there again. They also don't clean the rooms or sheets for hours. I find the entire place revolting. There are many other nicer hotels closer to town and the boardwalk where you don't even need a car. The place is a dive and the owners are too afraid to talk to you - they make the sister do their dirty work!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    23
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
58
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kearny, New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

What a BLAST ! The Driftwood is the ONLY hotel we stay at when we visit the shore. We have been going here for almost ten years ! The staff is very friendly and like family to each other. The rooms are always clean and if we need towels or anything they are very prompt to bring them. We love the pool and its right on the ocean, so the views are incredible. Especially at sunset. Only a few blocks from the boardwalk. The kids LOVE IT HERE ! Definetly a FAMILY ATMOSPHERE !

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are beautiful ! The pool is great for the kids. And the snack bar serves up yummy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

the experience was great from the atmosphere to the people. whether youre going for a weekend getaway or an extended visit to the shore, the driftwood is most definitely where to stay. the pool, private beach, cozy rooms & being within walking distance to a lot of places made it even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I vacation at the Jersey Shore every year and wouldn't stay anywhere other than the Driftwood. There is always someone on staff for your every need or guidance on where to eat, drink or shop. Right outside your door is a pool, snack bar, and a private beach. There is nothing left to need. If you have a problem, let them know and they will resolve it!
I will continue to return every year!

Room Tip: balcony overlooking the ocean, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I booked a room w 1 king bed ocean view 4 weeks in advance for a romantic weekend away w my husband.
We were given a room w 2 full sized beds w a parking lot view.
Linens were stained and ripped. Carpet filthy w gum stuck to it. Room smelled filthy and beds were uncomfortable. Towels had hair on them!
When we complained about the condition and room mix up staff was complacent.
Rip off!!! Horrible service!! Filthy!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We have gone to the Driftwood for many years and always enjoy ourselves. We like that you can walk out your door onto a private beach and pool. You can also enjoy your morning coffee or lunch overlooking the ocean. The staff are great and ensure you have a good stay. It is a nice family owned business and it is great for families as well as just the two of us. The cleaning people are always going to make sure everything is perfect inside as well as the grounds outside. They also give you very deals.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My stay at the Driftwood Motel was a great experience with my family . The great view of the beach and comfort of a clean room was excellent . My children played on the private and clean beach with a life guard . Even a great view of the ocean from the patio next to the swimming pool made it nice for me so I could see the children while I enjoyed the sun and view. Staff were so friendly and attentive to all our needs made our visit very comfortable . Mornings in the sun and night walkes on the beach were both pleasant and romantic for my family and I . We were so close to the boardwalk and all major attractions but yet it was nice and quiet at the motel . I would definitally recommend this motel for you and your family or even as a couple getaway. I most definitely will be back again !

Room Tip: Suites had a great view of the ocean from the balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Driftwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Motel

Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel Point Pleasant Beach
Driftwood Motel Point Pleasant
Address: 1414 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Location: United States > New Jersey > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Point Pleasant Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Driftwood Motel to your Saves list