We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Point Pleasant Beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Point Beach Motel

Point Beach Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Point Pleasant Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point Beach Motel
Save
You added Point Beach Motel to your Saves list
Ocean & Trenton Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742   |  
Hotel amenities
Teaneck, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best value in Point Pleasant Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

This can be a very short review. If your purpose is to visit the beach and the Jenkinson Amusements and not have to drive from your hotel to the boardwalk, this is the closet possible location. It is directly across the street from the Point Pleasant Beach boardwalk. We did not have to move our car once after we checked in.

Of course in being so close to the ocean, one does have to get used to a higher rate per night. We had decided on impulse to get a room for a recent Thursday night stay. I didn't call until after 9am on that Thursday and they had a two double bed room for 2 adults and 2 children. Could be the slower economy left rooms open in late August, or perhaps it was the approaching tropical storm that may bring heavy rains. It wasn't due to hit until later Friday so we took a chance. I read reviews on TA that were overwhelmingly positive. I understand that the independent motel are modest in their design, but there is no compromise for cleanliness, and Point Beach is as neat and clean as it has been reviewed. With only 30 rooms, it would be wise to plan ahead and reserve next time, because again, with two small children, it was a pleasure to be able to walk right over to the main attractions without additional parking hassles.

We were in a ground floor room in the back facing the pool, and that was the first stop for our 4 year old twin water babies. taking the place of the trek to the surf with umbrellas and cooler in tow. The wife did the pool thing with them while I napped to get ready for the boardwalk journey later. Nice family friendly atmosphere everywhere we went. No groups of punk teens and loud drunkards. This was before the weekend days, and the rate was about 150 before tax, as opposed to about 210 on Friday and Saturdays before Labor Day. The beds had surprisingly thick mattresses for the overall budget minded surroundings. I also like that there is a sink INSIDE the bathroom as well as one outside so others can wash up and brush teeth while you handle more intimate business in privacy. There is no iron or hair dryer, or coffee maker. Just a small cube fridge by the door. With the relatively short time one will spent in a room at a beach location, this was just fine - the perks were not missed.

The staff was courteous and helpful about where a good breakfast could be had. If the weather wasn't threatening we may have taken the hit on the second night's bump up rate and explored more of the area, like Seaside Heights' boardwalk area a few miles to the south.

Okay if you can't stand such a rosy review, there were a few slight flaws. One, the ventilation blower in the bathroom was a bit loud, that hum of being an old unit. The beds were positioned so that the under the window air conditioning unit was mere inches from one of the two beds, so one bed will get too much cool air in order for the other to feel a moderate coolness. But I stress that these are very minor and this is an exceptional value for a half block walk to the sand and surf. Motels are compromises. I usually prefer a lobby and corridors buffering my room from the outside. But Point Pleasant Beach is a very small and safe family town. We had a ball on the rides and in the arcade. We definitely have to give it more time when we come back down from Northern NJ in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fair Lawn, NJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

My girlfriend and I have spent the past three summers trying to find the perfect place to stay in Point Pleasant and finally feel we have found the best one for us. The Point Beach Motel is one block from the boardwalk and beach, and the motel does provide daily beach passes. Our room was very clean and looked to have been recently painted. We had cable TV, a cube refrigerator, an area to hang clothes, and two sinks (one inside and one outside the bathroom). You could also get ice cubes for free outside the main office. However, the room did not include a microwave and could have used hooks on the bathroom door to hang our wet towels. Overall, we were pleased to have stayed at the Pont Beach Motel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne, nj
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

my fiance and i decided to visit point pleasant for the first time. last minutes notice we found this motel directly across from the ocean. i have to say, we were very pleased. the room was clean and a nice size...and very close to the boardwalk so we didn't even have to use our car. the staff were very pleasant and accomodating. we will definately go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

First visit to Point Pleasant, and chose this hotel based on other people's reviews on this site. We just got back from vacation today, and I wanted to make sure to write a good review for this hotel. If you are going to stay in a hotel/motel, this is by far the closest one to the boardwalk and beach (just across the street). There are a few hotels a couple of blocks further away, but right by the Jenkinson's Boardwalk/Beach, there is only this hotel and condos. The rooms were simple, but contained the necessities, including a refrigerator, and seemed very clean. Also seemed freshly painted, and the carpet was in good condition. We didn't use the pool, but it also looked clean. We arrived before noon (check-in is at 4pm), and they let us check in right away. It was very quiet all day and night (not at all rowdy). You get passes to Jenkinson's beach, which is right across the street. It was clean, and very nice. After walking up and down the boardwalk many times, and driving around all of Point Pleasant, there is no place we would have rather stayed, and we plan on coming back next year!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

This is a great motel for people who arent traveling with young children. The front desk clerk was very nice the room was very clean. I stayed in this motel with my wife and 3 daughters and the only problem we had was we heard running till about 4 am other than that I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

As some of the other people said it is close to the beach and boardwalk. The staff was very accommadating. They let us stay at the pool after we checked out. The guests that we spoke to loved the place. As for the cleanliness of the rooms, I watched the maid staff clean the rooms. They pulled the drawers out and cleaned the sides of the drawers also. One of the maids was cleaning the windows and I mean the whole window frames, sills and all. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice clean place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, PA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

read the reviews & was swayed by two here, so we booked. Still no website & no efficiency rooms, BUT - spoke to gentleman there, was very polite. Found out we could get a crib from them for the little one, and pick up a microwave @ the office to use in our room. All rooms have small refrigerator. Happy about location because of trekking a 6 year old & 18 month old & all necessary paraphernalia back & forth to the beach. I will return after our stay to actually rate the facility. I'm excited to go there. The extra we are paying to be closer to the beach & boardwalk will save us money & hassle with regard to parking, etc. Talk to you after 7/31. Gave middle of the road ratings for most things until after our stay, when I can actually give an informed review. But the location should be prime.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Beach Motel

Address: Ocean & Trenton Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Point Beach Hotel Point Pleasant Beach
Point Beach Hotel Pleasant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.