We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Satisfied Customer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Point Pleasant Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surfside Motel
Save
You added Surfside Motel to your Saves list
101 Broadway, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742   |  
Hotel amenities
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Satisfied Customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My family and I had a great experience staying at Surfside and we would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Point Pleasant Beach. We stayed at the motel for 7 days with nothing to complain about. We had a 2-bedroom since our party included myself, my husband, my 2-year-old daughter and my mother. We were told by the front desk staff that the 2-bedroom units are the last to be remodeled (they'll be started after the summer season ends). However, even though it was somewhat outdated, the room was still very clean and comfortable. We were very grateful for the rules that the owners have in place regarding noise levels after 11pm considering its always difficult traveling with a toddler. Also, despite there being a bar behind the motel, we couldn't hear anything from our room. The pool was a great respite after walking back from the beach (3 blocks away) on those hot summer days. Just like the rest of the grounds, it was very clean too! We will stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    26
    5
    4
    9
See reviews for
70
37
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

After checking out a few places in Point Pleasant online I took a gamble on the Surfside and it paid off. The staff was very nice on the phone and were just as nice when we arrived on our whimsical trip. Place was very clean, location was pretty good and they had some rules in place to prevent it from being party haven. Walk to the beach and boardwalk was only 3 blocks (took like 5-7 min.) there are a couple places to eat right behind the place which was great to have a decent meal and a drink on the inlet.
We only stayed one night but had a nice time and we would reccomend this place to our friends. Price was a little high but it was ok being it was well kept and very clean! Pool was a little small and kind of right on the street but looked sparkling clean. Would def go back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was our first visit to the hotel and we look forward to returning next summer. The hotel is well maintained, new AC units, a few blocks from the boardwalk, beach and restaurants, family operated and very clean rooms, pool, etc. The only suggestions that I have would be to upgrade the tv's to a flat panel and possibly add a coffee maker and microwave to the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I would like to say even though the Surfside has the most well kept property, nicest looking motel, I will never stay there and never recommend that place to anyone. My friend and I planned a little girl’s weekend away and booked at the Surfside. She was quoted a price over the phone and booked the room; unfortunately I was the one who received the receipt. We didn’t talk about it until we were down there my bad I understand that!! We tried to explain to them what had happened and the man behind the counter even agreed he did price her wrong over the phone. Instead of trying to work something out he became extremely RUDE, pointing, yelling at us like we were being scolded by our farther. I received my deposit back and they DID NOT get our business. It was very unprofessional the way he acted!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at the Surfside Motel while in the area for a wedding at the Lobster Shanty. The Lobster Shanty was literally across a parking lot behind the hotel, so it was super convenient and easy to walk to!
The hotel itself was very clean. Staff was nice. They only allow one car per room and are strict about this when they are fully booked.
Beach was a short walk away. Beach passes could be picked up at the hotel lobby each morning, so that was nice. The 7-11 that is in the opposite direction of the beach is probably a good 10+ minute walk away. Not really anywhere else nearby to buy snacks/drinks, so you may want to stop at a grocery store on your way into town for bottled water and things like that.
Ate breakfast at the Cottage one morning. It was a cute diner just a short walk away. Note: The Cottage, plus about every other place nearby, was closed on Mondays.

Room Tip: try to get on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stay at this motel every summer, and brought my boyfriend here in March. This is definately one of the best kept, cleanest motels I have ever been to. It is family owned, and they take great pride in keeping the rooms and grounds updated and immaculate. I cannot wait to go back in august!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Highly recommend this clean, quiet and family-run motel in Pt. Pleasant! The entire property was CLEAN. Pool was perfect with umbrellas for shade. Family-owned with friendly staff. Beach passes included. Strolled to beach, boardwalk and restaurants! :))))

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Motel

Address: 101 Broadway, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Location: United States > New Jersey > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Surfside Motel Point Pleasant Beach
Surfside Hotel Point Pleasant Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.