We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Potential, but Lacking on Delivery” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Point Motel

Shore Point Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shore Point Motel to your Saves list
Shore Point Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Broadway, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742   |  
Hotel amenities
Plainview, New York
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Great Potential, but Lacking on Delivery”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

First the good, the rates were the lowest of what was quoted by all the motels we called. The owner was very accomodating on the phone and the staff was helpful when we arrived. The bed was very comfortable as well and we were allowed a late checkout which was very nice.

But what would prevent us from coming back would be the following:

The parking lot adjouns the area leading up to the rooms and there is no place to even add a chair or two. You must walk through a narrow opening to the rear of the motel to an area that is encapsulated by a six foot high chain link fence. New pavement and a fresh coat of paint would go a very long way in changing the appearance.

What really upset us was that at 3:00 AM, a very rude patron parks his hot rod on an angle and revs his engine waking up our entire family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My gf & I, who traveled down from Westchester, NY, booked a room for a Sunday night trip to go to SurfClub, Seaside & Jenks.
Joe, at the desk was very nice, and even upgraded our room to a suite for free. It was clean and inviting. I'm creeped out by bugs so had to make sure there were NONE, including bed bugs. They've got this place under wraps, literally...mattress and all. Thank goodness! We could even walk to the pool from the back porch. Beach passes are provided for the shore at Pt. Pleasant as well! A nice plus.
We will definitely return for another stay. A very pleasant stay at Pt. Pleasant.

Room Tip: Call to book your room....you might get a better than advertised price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

After staying there for over a month, we were treated like trash. Very disappointing,how Joe doesn't value repeat business. He could only bring himself to say hello to me twice-not pleasant AT ALL. Claims it's a "family friendly" place, but there were loud drunks partying constantly! Once it got to the busier season for him, Joe told us we couldn't stay there anymore because he could rip off unsuspecting tourists for A LOT more $! That's NOT how a business owner should treat loyal patrons! Joe definitely didn't deserve all the business we gave him! Told us he reads the reviews, so if he cared about the people he serves, he'd change the way he runs his business. Truth is JOE DOESN'T CARE ABOUT HIS CUSTOMERS, JOE CARES ABOUT $$ AND OVERCHARGING THOSE NICE ENOUGH TO KEEP HIS SLUM OPEN!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Point Pleasant Beach hotels

New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

I would be crazy to return this summer to this motel. They ruined our family vacation last year. They have no organization, no customer service skills and it's quite expensive for what it really is: a hell hole. I'm surprised this place is still running because everything about it is a big fat lie.

Don't bring your family there unless you are into punishing your family for no reason ! ! !

Jim Costanzo

Room Tip: Online pictures are not what the rooms look like
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

If you are white trash, head on down. If you have any sense of class, STAY AWAY!!!! No one around to assist with problems, especially noise. UGH!! Trust me, only those with very low standards will find this place appealing. As they say, you get what you pay for.... Needless to say, not a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

This place might sound cheap and a good option but I would not recommend it. There is only one person attending this motel, one guy (the owner). He is never around and you need to call his cell phone if you need anything. He is very rude and has no customer skills. The location is perfect, just a short walking distance to the beach but the rooms are dirty, there are no supplies available and at night there is too much noise because the owner overbooks the place with all kind of people. The pictures you see in their website are not what the place really looks like and the prices are outrageous compared to other places in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Shore Point for two nights over Labor Day weekend 2008. It's clean, walkable to the beach, the management is easy to deal with, the rooms have cable and individual refrigerators, and there is a nice pool. Point Pleasant Beach has a nice boardwalk and beach, and is accessible to other beach attractions in Monmouth and Ocean Counties such as Ocean Grove, Spring Lake, Belmar, Manasquan and Seaside Heights.

  • Liked — Location, value
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Point Motel

Address: 205 Broadway, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Location: United States > New Jersey > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shore Point Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shore Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Point Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.